tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear UltraGrip 8


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance tyres
The Goodyear UltraGrip 8 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 44 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 205,200 miles driven.
 


Goodyear UltraGrip 8
Dry Grip
88%

Wet Grip
93%

Road Feedback
87%

Progressiveness
82%

Wear
88%

Comfort
88%

Buy again
94%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £51.78 - £66.70 (8 prices)
205/55 R16 £71.32 - £84.40 (5 prices)
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Reviews

Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 TSI (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I am very satisfied with GY UG8. Confort is excelent, you feel like you've changed suspension. Ride quality is excelent, very good feedback and handling, no noise when running on highway. Traction in snow might not be the best as V shaped profile is good for confort and wet as opposed to big blocks that are good for griping in snow. Though I drove in snow and they felt ok. Braking on snow and ice is unconclusive as all tyres would slip a little. I think best winter tyres for driving on dry and wet roads at lower temperatures. Very good tyres for drinving on highways. Also seems they last very well. Maybe not the best tyre for heavy snow and ice. Would buy them again and recommend them.
tyre reviewed on March 18, 2014   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S40 (195-60-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Tyres were mostly driven in town and I can say only positive things.
Excellent wet, dry grip and wear.
tyre reviewed on February 22, 2014   
Looking to buy the Goodyear UltraGrip 8? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 or any other tyre.
 
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Suzuki Swift 1.3l 2007 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
What can I say, put these on all 4 corners last week and instant improvement, wet grip at 2c etc is fantastic, dry grip great, shorter braking distance than my summers, defo worth the investment for winter, not sure about snow yet not had any
tyre reviewed on November 22, 2013   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S40 1.6d (205-55-16-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,500 spirited miles
Very very good grip. Wasn't expecting anything different from an expensive premium tire.
tyre reviewed on October 18, 2013   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Dacia Logan (185-55-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on October 10, 2013   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I bought these when the price was right so I'd be ready for winter.
I've driven in snow with new summer tyres and later with some good quality all seasons on the front so have a little to compare to.
First thing, my cars manual advises upping the pressure by 0.2 bar when using winter tyres, I have tried it and agree.. The result, better mpg than my summer tyres and even tyre wear upto now (I've been too lazy and busy to swap back).
To summarise my thoughts on winter driving with these tyres..
Going down country roads, the motorway and uncleared city streets to help some friends get home one night.. And doing it fine :)
Or following a modern 4wd while it slides everywhere before overtaking up a hill..
They've been pretty good for setting off, but.. for cornering and particuly stopping quick enough to feel the g force.

In the summer, they're alright but aside from rain they're nothing more than decent - compared to summer tyres.. a little soft.

They aren't noisy. The wear rate is pretty decent considering my habit of aggressive starts and the temperature
tyre reviewed on June 25, 2013   
Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Laguna Phase II (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Fitted full set onto my Renault Laguna, an 09 2Ltr diesel turbo In October 2012. No doubt a good winter tyre but oh the noise - thought something wrong with the vehicle and had it checked out. ie bearins transmission etc but vehicle fine and no problem until these tyres fitted. Now passengers commenting on road noise. These tyres will have to GO. as it's making for uncomfortable driving. Sorry Goodyear but I,ll have to try another brand unless you can come up with a suggestion.
tyre reviewed on April 28, 2013   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord (205-55-16-T)
Driving on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
Great tyre! Driven about 4000 km this winter. Very goog grip on dry road, also on wet. On snow this tyre is great, good breaking and acceleration.
tyre reviewed on March 21, 2013   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors Ceed 1.6LS (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Reviewed these on Jan 2012 but could not leave a comment on the snow as we never really got any. Same this Winter until a couple of weeks ago. I am convinced about the necessity of Winter tyres but my wife was a sceptic until she was leaving work a couple of weeks ago & she has now become a believer. She travels back roads to & from work & has to climb a very steep road to get onto these & on this particular night, the steep road was covered in snow.

Added to this, there had been an accident at the top of this road & all of the traffic was stuck on the incline. Cars & vans in front of her were slipping on the snow every time they tried to move forward but our car only went straight & never slipped all the way up the hill. Some cars were giving up & turning back down the hill but not her, she didn't have to. Once she got onto the back roads, she said she felt very safe in the knowledge that she had these tyres on the car & although not putting her foot down, she was able to trave at a reasonable speed without any skidding. This is our second Winter on these tyres & hopefully we can get a third out of them. That is if we don't buy a new car with different size wheels.
tyre reviewed on February 11, 2013   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Lexus IS 220D (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 31, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: