tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Kumho Ecsta KU31

Show all: Kumho tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Kumho Ecsta KU31 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 144 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 2,373,516 miles driven.

Kumho Ecsta KU31
Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £34.16 - £34.16 (1 prices)
205/55 R16 £38.81 - £70.34 (10 prices)
225/45 R17 £58.90 - £74.00 (2 prices)
225/40 R18 £78.68 - £78.68 (2 prices)
Available in 124 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Kumho Ecsta KU31 Reviews

Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 523i tourer (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8,000 easy going miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on September 29, 2015   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on September 11, 2015   
Looking to buy the Kumho Ecsta KU31? Click here to search for the best price for the Kumho Ecsta KU31 or any other tyre.
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (205-40-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
This is my 2nd set on the car (ford fiesta 05) wish I could say they were "budget" tyres in R.S.A we pay up to R1200 each (same price more or less as pirrely P zero)but still worth buying I get about 18000km on a set. R.S.A roads are not of the best. It can take a hit from a pothole (no bubbles) just mag gets bent wish they had a bigger mag protector on the tyre. Hard driving /braking in the wet they good as well just don't over work them !but they can handle it. Will I buy them again most definitely again and again
tyre reviewed on June 15, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting (205-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 145,000 spirited miles
I just cannot fault this tyre. It is quiet on the motorway. Progressive handling. Excellent in dry and wet conditions in Wales and England. Useless in snow and ice though, but then again this is a summer tyre. It has a treadwear of 320, which means 25-28k miles after tyre rotation at 14k miles (Fiat Grande Punto 1.9JTD Sporting, remapped at 172bhp and 329 lb/ft). Superbly priced too. As good as a Pirelli P Zero Nero, at half the price and twice the durability. Other than Pirelli, I have tried Falkens, Bridgestone Potenza, Kumho KU39. Nothing comes close to the KU31, very highly recommended indeed.
tyre reviewed on June 11, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a MG ZS (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
1. Dry grip - grat for low cost tyre (bought 4 for 260euros)- they grip well after beeing warmed a bit, true out whole live span
2. wet grip- they don´t grip well
3. wear- great - visited alps 3 times + 1 track day + city higway driving
fronts are near dead - 25000miles, left just 1mm above control mark, rears maybe 2-3mm.
tyre reviewed on October 28, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Camry (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on September 28, 2014   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 14 average miles
Bought 4 new Kumho KU31SPT W for my Peugeot 407 HDi SV wagon 16 months ago. They were good while they lasted. After 14 months & 23000 Kms 2 tyres failed on a highway trip, with another going a couple of weeks later. All still well legal (good 30% tread left) . Yep, loved driving on 'em, but I expected a bit more life from 'em.
tyre reviewed on August 9, 2014   
Given 57% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 Kompressor Sedan Auto (W203) (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
In my opinion, not a good experience with these tyres for daily driving. Tyres wore out very fast, not durable at all. Great grip but thats about it.

Mercedes owners with lowered suspension beware, your cars will have a slight Canvar on the rear tyres. So the inside walls wore down to 50% just after 9000kms. After swapping left to right, tyres needed to be replaced just after 16000kms. Thats just 10000miles???

Not recommended for people looking for affordable tyres with decent performance.

Currently trying KU22 to see how they compare. So far 10000kms looking good.
tyre reviewed on July 24, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen (195-45-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have these fitted to my 15x8J with a little stretch on my mk2 16v. lowered with coilovers. Being quite a low profile and with the strech these can be a tad uncomfotable but that was my choise. I wanted grip over comfort as I like fast road driving.

Got 4 from camskill at £35ea. In the dry they are superb and confidence inspiring. As with any tyre the performance in the wet is not so good but not dangerous by any stretch of the imagination.

After around 4k miles I am still very happy with them. Wear is fairly good, uneven on my car due to the tracking being out by again that was the setup I wanted.

Would I buy them again? abso-bloody-lutely!
tyre reviewed on June 9, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 xt (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 74,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on June 1, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Speed Rating: