tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Kumho Ecsta KU31


Show all: Kumho tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Kumho Ecsta KU31 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 132 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 2,072,977 miles driven.
 


Kumho Ecsta KU31
Dry Grip
83%

Wet Grip
76%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
76%

Wear
73%

Comfort
75%

Buy again
79%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £53.01 - £60.90 (4 prices)
225/45 R17 £88.80 - £88.80 (1 prices)
225/40 R18 £94.90 - £99.30 (2 prices)
235/35 R19 £93.90 - £96.09 (2 prices)
Available in 76 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Kumho Ecsta KU31 Reviews

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
These SPT KU31 tyres (non run flat) are utterly outstanding value for money. There is no excuse for anybody to opt for unknown and budget tyres with products like this on the market. I have had 3 sets of these tyres so far. The initial appeal was the wet weather grip as it is constantly raining here in the UK but an added benefit was the aesthetics of the tread design. So many more outstanding properties prevailed from the Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyres they replaced. Great feedback, dynamic stability, directionality, high speed predictability, fuel efficiency and road noise insulation.

In summary, these tyres are perfectly suited for small to mid sized performance hatches. The polymer compound is not suited to heavier saloons etc as the wear rate will drastically increase.

I will buy again and again.
tyre reviewed on March 25, 2014   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Please read this before you choose this tyre.
I did my homework and looked at all the reviews but ignored the comments about these tyres as they wear down..
The reviews were 100% correct great tyre when new but after 5,000 miles it's like somebody has changed your tyres over night. Poor grip - noise but worst of all it sounds like your wheel bearings have gone...
Even looked at changing the car but decided to buy some new tyres (Cheaper than buying a new car) gone for Hankook Optimo 4S ....just want to say I'm keeping my car go to the Hankook review to find out why...
tyre reviewed on February 19, 2014   
Looking to buy the Kumho Ecsta KU31? Click here to search for the best price for the Kumho Ecsta KU31 or any other tyre.
 
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Don't expect award winning levels of grip, this is a run flat tyre after all. In Australia this tyre is about $100 cheaper per tyre than equivalent run flat Continental, Dunlop, Bridgestone and Pirelli products. I have tried all the before mentioned brands and noise exempt Kuhmo leaves the rest of the competition behind. Rotation of tyres every 5000km's is essential to achieve life out of these tyres. Inadequate rotation will also result in a dramatic increase in tyre noise. These tyres are cheap in price not in build quality and excellent all round performer where run flats are required.
tyre reviewed on January 11, 2014   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Bought these to replace the Continentals that previously came with the wheels I purchased. Bought it mainly for the price and also based on the recommendation of friends. I must say that these tires didn't dissapoint me one bit. I feel it grips the road better than my old Contis. Outstanding value for the money. Will definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on January 2, 2014   
Given 36% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Odyssey (215-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Buy new, 4 tire, very noisy. After about 5000Km the tire was broken. Never buy this brand again. Waste my money....
tyre reviewed on November 4, 2013   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Great grip and quiet tyres. But after just 4,000 miles they are about half worn. I also had continentals put on the rear of my Mazda 6 at the same time, and they are down by about 1mm in the same time/miles.

Good tyres but wear far to quickly. Next time would pay a few quid more for something longer lasting.
tyre reviewed on October 19, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTS (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on October 18, 2013   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz 190E 2.6 tuned (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I was running Pirelli P6 in 205/60r15 and got the Kumhos second hand with a set of AMG rims I bought. They're undersize for the rims and my speedo and are about half worn, so I've been deciding on replacement brands in a 215/45r17 sports tyre, so was being particularly attuned to what these Kumhos were like as opposed to others at similar prices, and whether it was worth quite a bit extra to go top shelf instead.

As far as purchasing goes, in these smaller sizes the KU31 is about the same price as budget mid-performance tyres. Straight up that's a big plus in its favour, although at a larger 235/40r17 size they're a similar price to the top shelf brands and would have to compare to those on merits alone.

Compared to the Pirelli P6 the KU31 is definitely a softer compound, it responds better to warming but has slightly less initial resistance to dry wheelspin during hard upshifts when cold, but with better progression as they quickly heat. They don't seem to fully let go and so offer more confidence than the shopping trolley Pirellis, although I've no doubt they'll wear at several times the rate.
In the wet the grip is miles ahead of the P6 and the Kumhos feel much safer operating at speed.
In highway driving steering is very direct and the car is noticably more stable than with the P6, even being subject less to crosswinds. These are tyres which will definitely be complemented by stiffer aftermarket suspension tuning to give a good race kind of feel.

They're extremely noisy tyres at low speeds, when rolling they almost sound like worn brake pads from the cabin. Their highway and wet performance is easily worth the hit, given the budget price range in my desired sizes.

If you were going to go for large tyres in 18" diameters and 235+ tread sizes I'd say it might be worth considering other high performance brands in the price range these jump to. But in 215x17 and other smaller sizes they're dirt cheap and perform like something that costs hundreds more to fit your car with.
tyre reviewed on July 21, 2013   
Given 57% (breakdown) while driving a Opel astra gsi (215-40-17-)
Driving on track for 10,000 easy going miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on July 9, 2013   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Dacia Logan (190-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Used them on a 1.6, 105 bhp Dacia fitted with Eibach suspension.
Very good when new and kept getting better up until about 2-3 mm to the wear mark.
First they start grinding at the road :). Then they start to give away under heavy breaking and when pulling away.
And in the end, after about 30.000 km of abuse and only 1 mm of thread left until the wear sign, the front ones start to give up and float on water. The rear ones still have about 4 mm down to the wear mark.
Time to be replaced.
Going for the Kumho Solus KH17 as the ECSTA SPT KU31 are very hard to find at the tire dealers as they only sell either Conti's, Bridgestone, Michelins or china made crap.
tyre reviewed on July 1, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with Asda Tyres to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!