tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Kumho Ecsta KU31


Show all: Kumho tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Kumho Ecsta KU31 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 140 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 2,192,491 miles driven.
 


Kumho Ecsta KU31
Dry Grip
83%

Wet Grip
76%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
76%

Wear
73%

Comfort
75%

Buy again
78%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £46.99 - £77.56 (7 prices)
225/45 R17 £95.30 - £95.30 (1 prices)
225/40 R18 £84.76 - £96.00 (2 prices)
235/35 R19 £87.62 - £100.30 (2 prices)
Available in 86 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Kumho Ecsta KU31 Reviews

Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a MG ZS (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
1. Dry grip - grat for low cost tyre (bought 4 for 260euros)- they grip well after beeing warmed a bit, true out whole live span
2. wet grip- they don´t grip well
3. wear- great - visited alps 3 times + 1 track day + city higway driving
fronts are near dead - 25000miles, left just 1mm above control mark, rears maybe 2-3mm.
tyre reviewed on October 28, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Camry (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on September 28, 2014   
Looking to buy the Kumho Ecsta KU31? Click here to search for the best price for the Kumho Ecsta KU31 or any other tyre.
 
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 14 average miles
Bought 4 new Kumho KU31SPT W for my Peugeot 407 HDi SV wagon 16 months ago. They were good while they lasted. After 14 months & 23000 Kms 2 tyres failed on a highway trip, with another going a couple of weeks later. All still well legal (good 30% tread left) . Yep, loved driving on 'em, but I expected a bit more life from 'em.
tyre reviewed on August 9, 2014   
Given 57% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 Kompressor Sedan Auto (W203) (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
In my opinion, not a good experience with these tyres for daily driving. Tyres wore out very fast, not durable at all. Great grip but thats about it.

Mercedes owners with lowered suspension beware, your cars will have a slight Canvar on the rear tyres. So the inside walls wore down to 50% just after 9000kms. After swapping left to right, tyres needed to be replaced just after 16000kms. Thats just 10000miles???

Not recommended for people looking for affordable tyres with decent performance.

Currently trying KU22 to see how they compare. So far 10000kms looking good.
tyre reviewed on July 24, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen (195-45-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have these fitted to my 15x8J with a little stretch on my mk2 16v. lowered with coilovers. Being quite a low profile and with the strech these can be a tad uncomfotable but that was my choise. I wanted grip over comfort as I like fast road driving.

Got 4 from camskill at £35ea. In the dry they are superb and confidence inspiring. As with any tyre the performance in the wet is not so good but not dangerous by any stretch of the imagination.

After around 4k miles I am still very happy with them. Wear is fairly good, uneven on my car due to the tracking being out by again that was the setup I wanted.

Would I buy them again? abso-bloody-lutely!
tyre reviewed on June 9, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 xt (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 74,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on June 1, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 16v (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 3,000 average miles
Awesome tires, really nice look and excellent behaviour on dry and wet surfaces!!
tyre reviewed on May 13, 2014   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Skoda Superb MK1 (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
Best tyres I ever used in terms of quality vs cost ratio. Had Dunlop before and Kumho is no worse than them, maybe even better.
tyre reviewed on May 8, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
These SPT KU31 tyres (non run flat) are utterly outstanding value for money. There is no excuse for anybody to opt for unknown and budget tyres with products like this on the market. I have had 3 sets of these tyres so far. The initial appeal was the wet weather grip as it is constantly raining here in the UK but an added benefit was the aesthetics of the tread design. So many more outstanding properties prevailed from the Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyres they replaced. Great feedback, dynamic stability, directionality, high speed predictability, fuel efficiency and road noise insulation.

In summary, these tyres are perfectly suited for small to mid sized performance hatches. The polymer compound is not suited to heavier saloons etc as the wear rate will drastically increase.

I will buy again and again.
tyre reviewed on March 25, 2014   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Citron (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Please read this before you choose this tyre.
I did my homework and looked at all the reviews but ignored the comments about these tyres as they wear down..
The reviews were 100% correct great tyre when new but after 5,000 miles it's like somebody has changed your tyres over night. Poor grip - noise but worst of all it sounds like your wheel bearings have gone...
Even looked at changing the car but decided to buy some new tyres (Cheaper than buying a new car) gone for Hankook Optimo 4S ....just want to say I'm keeping my car go to the Hankook review to find out why...
tyre reviewed on February 19, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: