tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack Tyres

Drive a Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (6) 98% 82% 88% 88% 84% 72% 93% 87% 53,075
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (59) 90% 97% 86% 86% 65% 89% 86% 85% 256,567
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (176) 91% 90% 86% 85% 75% 85% 81% 85% 2,266,709
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (52) 90% 85% 82% 80% 77% 80% 84% 82% 253,515
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (13) 88% 77% 82% 80% 75% 79% 85% 81% 212,400
Michelin Pilot Exalto (50) 86% 80% 75% 79% 83% 76% 82% 80% 1,647,942
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (101) 91% 58% 80% 79% 68% 70% 76% 75% 1,372,672
Toyo T1R (224) 85% 73% 77% 76% 63% 70% 73% 74% 3,075,001
Nankang NS2 (162) 79% 60% 67% 62% 76% 66% 65% 68% 1,294,314
Marangoni Zetalinea (14) 70% 43% 63% 63% 68% 56% 48% 59% 118,000

Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
fantastic tyre for a hot hatch. pushed every day (on the limit of grip)and last about 8,000 miles.
wet grip is unreal and dry grip is good. only downfall is slightly too flexy sidewalls.
going from some budgets to thse transformed the car, my next tyres are going to be yokohama ad08's.
Posted at 2013-04-27 18:37:11
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 89% (205-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
clio 182 luvs these tires,dry grip is amazin,car jus hangs on, not much understeer an v responsive steerin,good brakin an traction. i remember goin 2 work 1 day in winter an tellin 1 of the boys the car felt bit loose on 1 particular bend an e told me e spun his car on the ice...enuf said....always used 2 put avon zv on cars,did put em on clio but ordered toyos after doin 1k on the avons,felt like drivin on flat tires.....t1r gets my vote 4 small hot hatch any day.......wil try r1r or 888 but overall b hard 2 try anythin but toyo on my clio........my boy is also puttin em on his saxo vtr,bet he will luv em ..........i get 10k out of em but its pushin 200bhp an the traction control is not always on lol..............
Posted at 2010-06-01 13:28:41
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE11 given 85% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly town for 400 spirited miles
Outstanding grip in the dry (well above my old 205/45R16 Michelin Exalto PE2 which were only just over 1/2 worn.) Limited experience driving on wet roads with them so far, but when I have they have not put a foot wrong and I have pushed them a bit.
Very quiet inside the cabin and smooth riding. I have found they grip best at lower pressures (around 30psi front, 28 rear), higher and the car feels like it's squirming around more under load around corners?
I'm guessing they won't last long, but I don't drive this vehicle daily so don't care too much.
Posted at 2010-01-01 06:37:05
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Exalto given 83% (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
Awesome tyre came as oem fitment on my clio 182. Feels like you can walk on water when it comes to wet weather grip.

Excellent longevity, not the quietest tyre but the performance speaks volumes.

Dry grip is awesome and the feel through the tyres is second to none. Makes the road talk to you!
Posted at 2009-09-22 20:31:08
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Used on a highly modified Renault Clio with aggressive suspension geometry 2.5degree negative camber etc. Dry grip is very good and equal to my previous Goodyear eagle f1 gsd2's and gsd3's. Better in dry than uniroyal rainsport 2's. Wet grip is fine until you push them hard, the grip levels drop of quickly, but are very predictable.
People complaing about them firstly can't drive and/or feel the way their car drives and reacts.
Tyre wear is very very good. Supringsinly hard compound that still trips in the dry. Wearing at Under half the rate of the eagle f1's.
Personally for the price they are brilliant. I'm actually buying a further 4 for when my rears wear out and two spares.
Posted at 2011-09-14 22:53:40
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z4S Victra given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
very good tyres especially for the price! given these tyres a good testing in all conditions and they perform excellently! only reason I bought these was because the Hankook V12 evo's went up massively in price in my size so was looking for a tyre that performs well without breaking my wallet at the same time! very good feed back even in the wet, very progressive and they give you plenty of warning that you are driving like a spanner well before they let go traction wise. very impressed with these indeed.

only found one downside that is now that they are getting low around 3mm they are a little noiser and the grip is slightly less now in the wet,greasy weather but I can live with that after the abuse they have taken!
Posted at 2012-04-20 11:01:40
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 80% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I had RS2's and was super impressed by their grip in the wet, so naturally wanted to try out the new range, especially at the price offered by Camskill (£54 per corner)

Initial impressions were that the asymmetric pattern looks weird on the passenger side as the pattern appears as though it would cause aquaplaning, however in practice it does not. They skidded around a little at first but after running them in they have started to grip much better.

I find these tyres to be upgrades in every way but overall grip on the RS2's. They are very good in the wet, where standing water is concerned but not so good when there is grease around (still not bad, don't get me wrong).

My feeling is for the money they are great. Compared with other tyres they are very good overall, but they seem to perform as well in the dry as they do in the wet, which seems odd to me. Surely they should have better dry grip.

They sidewalls are harder, the feedback is loads better, they are somewhat progressive and they are quiet too. I think that Uniroyal have answered all of the complaints about the RS2's with some expense of grip.

Good but not great, and my reason for saying this is that I value the feedback above all else on a tyre. You would only ever notice this when taking your car to the limit, and you can find that limit on a clio by cornering hard and getting one rear wheel off the ground, which with these tyres you would never be able to do unless you are braking hard into a turn.

If I buy budget tyres again, I'll probably choose Federal SS595's but I would rate these tyres ahead of the Falken FK452's. They aren't really up to the standards of high end premium tyres in my opinion however.
Posted at 2014-01-17 11:52:09
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 64% (195-50-15-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I have these tyres fitted to 195/50/15 wheels for track use, but I also use them on the road. The dry grip is good, but not as good as a slick tyre per say, but this is to be expected on a road tyre. The wet grip is pretty poor, it is almost dangerous on a greasy road if you're not careful, but in the pouring rain, as long as you're steady, you won't meet a sticky end. They are much better at straight line braking in the wet than they are at lateral grip, so that's a saving grace where I'm concerned. You do get quite good feedback from the tyres, but the sidewalls are very soft and spongy and this does shine through in fast bends. They are a very progressive tyre, giving huge amounts of grip up to the limit but when you pass the limit they slow you down in a slide rather than spinning you out of control, they are very easy to recover. I have had these tyres fitted for about 6 months, completing one full trackday at Cadwell and a few months of steady road driving and they are wearing very well for a soft tyre, but my car is very, very light, so they won't be under much strain anyway under normal driving conditions. They are reasonably comfortable (more so that the standard 205/45/16 wheels) as my tyres in particular have a larger aspect ratio (side wall height) than the standard wheels, giving a softer ride. As said earlier the sidewalls are very soft, which is good for comfort. I don't think I would buy these tyres again due to the softness of the side wall, as they're not very good at all on track. But I have also had these tyres on a Focus ST in 215/40/18, and they were amazing on the track, although I did still manage to peel the inside tyre from the wheel and scrape my new alloys on the track... But I was driving, admitidly, like a tool. A good summer, road tyre.
Posted at 2014-05-27 11:48:54
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 60% (205-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Fitted to a Clio 182 cup
The original tyres wear Michelin pe2
The sidewall of the tyres fold under around corners and give little feedback trough the wheel
They are also quite noisy getting a last place in auto express tyre test.
They are overall about an inch and a half narrower than the original tyres.
They are not max performance road tyres because of the jelly like side wall.
They look average almost like a budget they look stretched on the rims.
The tyres are ideal if you want a combatable ride at the expense of cornering feedback
Posted at 2012-07-22 17:48:30
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 spirited miles
I run the tyres in 205/45/16 w on my Clio Sport 182. They replaced the OEM Michelin Pilot Exlato Tyres in the same size.
I use the car on the german Autobahn and B-Roads for sporty and everyday driving ans I have covered 2.500 Miles on the tyres.
The sidewalls are too soft for the car`s setup (suspension still OEM). The car feels indifferent. You are not able to find a clearly defined braking point on B-Roads and on turn in the tyres are far away from being precise. Where the tyre stands out is in the noise and comfort level. It is the quietest tyre I´ve ever driven.
In the Wet the tyre is quite good and works well. If you drive it to its limits on B-Roads it gets tricky. I left the road and luckily just entered
the grass on one of my best known roads. This incident was definitely not caused by my driving style (6 witnesses, 40 mph, tyres 300miles old) but by the low grip when the tyre was new. This was a shocking experience I never had with another tyre.
On the limit at B-Roads these tyres offer a huge amount of grip when you have entered a corner but and the tyre is "warm". Turn in is as the braking completely undefined and indifferent. No comparison to the Michelins. In the corners grip is good and there is definitely only a little bit of understeer. On the exit of corners there is a lot of grip, too.
So my overall verdict:
My mind is divided. On the one hand a very quiet, comfortable tyre which offers a good amount of grip in the corners and in the dry.
On the other hand I wouldn`t recommend them for sporty driving style on B-Roads and sporty Cars. Imprecise on braking and turn in, when new a shocking low level of grip. It ruines driving fun on my car completely.
I left them in the garage and put my old (2007) and worn Michelin Exaltos on when I went on track and left them on the car afterwards. I think this says everything. Leaving new rubber in the garage and using the worn ones is not the sense of buying new tyres.

My hint: Spent more money, buy Bridgestone Re050a (mainly for Track RE070) or Michelin Pilot Exalto 2 or Pilot Sport 3. More money to spent but an improvement over these "wannabe sporty" shopping cart tyres!
Posted at 2014-03-15 18:28:05
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: