Uniroyal Rainsport 3

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 80%
Progressiveness 81%
Wear 62%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 77%
Uniroyal Rainsport 3

The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2

Show all

Tyre review data from 118 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 666,307 miles driven.

Reports

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £39.80 - £56.20 (32 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £50.70 - £69.00 (22 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £55.40 - £66.76 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £89.90 - £99.10 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 69 tyre sizes - View all.

Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat CC (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 13,000 spirited miles
Front two tyres have just reached the limit after a year (approx 13,000 miles), rears still have about 5mm left.
Pros:
Grip in the dry is excellent with the grip in the wet not far behind.
Feedback is also good and lets you really feel when you are approaching the limit (although sport springs were put into the car at the same time as the tyres went on which will have improved road feedback).
Cons:
Fronts did wear out rather quick although I did expect this considering the levels of grip on offer.
Comfort was somewhat lacking, this being a low profile tyre I really did feel every bump, cats eye etc.. However the worst part was the road noise which was horrendous on rough surfaces or rumble strips although it was bearable on the motorway or at low speeds through the town.
Won't be replacing the front tyres with these this time, going to try something different but could be an option for the rears again.
tyre reviewed on February 5, 2016   
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I had high hopes for these as I liked the rain sport 2. After 8 months (8000 miles) they have completely worn out on the front. They also had horrible feedback in the corners. They would understeer to start with and then all of a sudden turn in, very disconcerting.

Trying Michelin Primacy 3 this time
tyre reviewed on February 1, 2016   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
I've just had the Rainsport 3 tyres replaced on the front of my Volvo V60 D5. They were good tyres, providing excellent amounts of grip and a very confident drive in all weather conditions. Fairly comfortable ride, but not as comfortable as Rainsport 2 that I had previously.

The only downside was the wear rate. Just over 9,000 miles and they were down to the legal limit.

I've had Hankooks fitted this time around, only time will tell if they're any better.
tyre reviewed on January 23, 2016   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
Had rainsport 2s on my focus and now my Mazda 3. Generally satisfied so fitted the RS3 to the rears. Have become very noisy (drone) over the last 2-4 months; having today put my winter tyres on I can see why!

Both inside rears have worn down whilst the next solid tread band appears to have worn less that the remaining outer tread! Recent 4 wheel laser checking confirms tracking spot on, Driving gentle & mainly motorway.

Grip etc fine but won't buy again due to wear and therefore noise. Pleasure to be on my winter michelins.
tyre reviewed on January 10, 2016   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
These tyres are on front axle of my Alfa Romeo 156 1.9Jtd(remapped to 186 hp/430Nm). After 13.000 miles they are worn down to 2mm.
I am dynamic driver, like fast cornering, so wear rate isn't too bad for a soft grippy tyres. They are superb in wet, no spinnig wheel at all, braking is good too. Dry cornering is good, but they don't reach same leveles of premium sport tyres-but they are still very good. Nosie level is acceptable.
They are not super sporty tyres, but they are very safe in cold wet conditions.

Given fact that they are down to 2 mm they lost very little of their gripp.
Shall I buy them again? I just did. At 41£ pre tyre they are unbeatable.
tyre reviewed on January 2, 2016   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 1, 2016   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Smart roadster (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I had a pair of these on the rear of my smart Roadster as the Proxes they replaced would step out in wet weather. They are not lying when they say these are THE wet weather tyre. They just would not lose grip in the wet. And were pretty phenomenal in the dry too. The only real down side was the wear time. 15k in a not particularly heavy or powerful car and they were done. Going to try the Hankook Ventus V12 Evo 2 next as I've heard good things about them.
tyre reviewed on December 19, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda NB MK2.5 Phoenix 150bhp (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
The Rainsport 3's are without a shadow of a doubt, one of the best tyres for the wet. They're incredibly grippy and having a set on my Mk2.5 MX5 Phoenix - I've thrown that car around some pretty tight corners at speeds which should have seen me in a ditch... but honestly, these tyres are just ridiculous. Granted, they don't last long... I've had a set on since May, done about 4000 miles on them, they're half worn at least already... but, if you drive like me - especially in the wet, and you have an RWD tail-happy car, these bad boys will keep you firmly on the road.
tyre reviewed on December 9, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Bravo (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tyres in dry and wet, but they are worn out pretty soon. Don't expect to do more than 15,000 miles with a set on the wheels with traction.
tyre reviewed on December 4, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 207 SW Outdoor (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
First time with the Uniroyal Brand Well impressive wet & dry grip seem the same. Bit niosy on rough country roads.
Pulled 600kg load of logs out of a field with mud up to the calipers.
Should be good for 25k miles which is a surprise for a 'sticky tyre.
tyre reviewed on November 26, 2015