Uniroyal Rainsport 3

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 79%
Wear 64%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 77%

The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal Rainsport 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 250 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 1,784,205 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 21st of 45 tyres

2017 Mid Range Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet grip, well balanced tyre
  • Negative - Higher noise level compared to the best on test

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - The highest resistance to aquaplaning, good handling and short braking distances on wet roads
  • Negative - Inaccurate response to steering and a tendency to understeer on dry surfaces, average travel comfort, increased rolling resistance
  • Overall - Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   E A 70 6.22kgs
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.96kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.72kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.73kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 8.21kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E A 70 6.48kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 70 6.48kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 6.73kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 6.73kgs
205/55 R15 88V   E A 71 7.27kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.54kgs
205/45 R16 87Y XL   C A 72 7.71kgs
205/45 R16 83Y   E A 71 7.71kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E A 71 7.71kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 7.28kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   C A 71 8.21kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 8.27kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 8.69kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.72kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C A 71 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 7.55kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.70kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 8.86kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 9.31kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 72 9.31kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.65kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.65kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.65kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 72 7.49kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 7.44kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.75kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.25kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 87V   E A 71 8.66kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 72 8.96kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.88kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.39kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.39kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.72kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 9.96kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.89kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.74kgs
205/50 R17 89V   E A 71 8.74kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 72 9.34kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.34kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.34kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   E A 71 9.66kgs
225/50 R17 94V   E A 71 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.43kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.62kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.53kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.53kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.46kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.46kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 11.04kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 11.17kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.29kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 7.87kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.50kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.59kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 16.15kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 71 9.71kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72  
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 71 10.28kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.28kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 8.65kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.87kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71 10.64kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.03kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 11.30kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 11.00kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.84kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.38kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.38kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 14.14kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 16.15kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.16kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 75 15.47kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 10.11kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 9.96kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 17.32kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.67kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.08kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.38kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 10.18kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.67kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 73 11.08kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.61kgs
235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.73kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.01kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 12.59kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 14.50kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 16.14kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 13.95kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal Rainsport 3

2016-06-08 - is there a left & right on the uniroyal rainsport 3

No there isn't. Unlike the Rainsport 2, the Rainsport 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional tyre. This means the tyre has an "inside" and "outside" to be mounted on the wheel, but once mounted the wheel and tyre can go on either side of the car.


2016-06-15 - I have just had uniroyal rain sport 3 fitted on my car in replace of mitchellin tires, are uniroyal comparable to Mitchelin ???? I feel like I have been ripped off as asked and was quoted for Mitchelin tires

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 is an excellent midrange tyre. It should have a similar level of wet grip to a premium Michelin tyre, however we would expect the Uniroyal to wear more quickly. This should have been offset by a cheaper purchase price.


2018-07-19 - I need a set of tyres for my 2010 FIAT Bravo 1.4 90HP, right now I'm using the Barum Bravuris 3HM I'm living in Greece in a mountainous area with lots of rain between the seasons, but I'm also covering long distances around Greece in motorways, After reading lots of reviews on your site, I decided that the perfect match for my car are the Uniroyal Rainsport 3. But the DONLOP Sport MAXX RT and the YOKOHAMA ADVAN FLEVA v701 have olsa grabbed my attention, I'm not sure which one to go with I would appreciate any advice form you between the three sets of tires I've mentioned above.

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 will likely give you the best wet weather performance of the three, but will likely wear slightly quicker than the other two. If rain is the primary issue, I would suggest going with the Uniroyals.


2018-12-17 - Are these suitable for a VW Tiguan 4x4

As long as you can find the correct size and load rating, it is fine to fit the RainSport 3 to your Tiguan.


2019-09-27 - How can assymetric tyres be non-directional. They are correctly fitted inside/outside, but must disperse water differently. Uniroyal's website, insists they are non-directional, but their diagram for water dispersal shows water being driven into the centre of the tyre. Check 3/4 down this page; https://www.uniroyal.co.uk/car/knowledge/tyre-knowledge/how-to-fit-your-rainsport-3-tyres An explanation would be welcome.

I asked them this on the launch, and they told me the difference the direction makes to aquaplaning was almost nothing, so it didn't matter. I agree it looks odd, but then so does the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta.


2019-10-03 - Should I fit them or wait for the Rainsport 5?

The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 is starting to appear in limited sizes, I've not had any official communication about it yet though.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £44.90 - £89.08 (47 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £64.00 - £88.22 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £57.18 - £88.92 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 82 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Review

Given 83% while driving a MINI Clubman (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted these to my wifes Mini clubman S as I had previously had them fitted to my Audi RS4. They are an excellent tyre for the money and few tyres can match them in the wet. Road noise is also very good on them.

Like all tyres what works on one car doesn't necessarily mean it will work for all, but at the cost of these they are well worth going for. The rate of wear is a little high, but then its a soft compound that enables high grip levels and its this that leads to the wear rate.

You could spend twice as much on a Michelin PSS or just buy 2 sets of these IF you find they wear out quickly. I still find it staggering that people put wear above grip. Frankly I'd rather know that when I take a corner in the wet or dry, or when I hit the brakes hard (in an emergency for instance) that my tyres will not brake traction. These tyres will out perform alot of higher priced tyres, and will out perform alot of similarly priced tyres that have lower wear rates.

I will definitely buy these again.
171 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2016   

Latest Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Rainsport 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 100% while driving a Fiat Punto Evo mjet 95hp (195/50 R16 V) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Fitted a set to the wifes diesel punto old car 2004 model with some after market alloy wheels on 195/50/15.
I wanted her to be safe in the wet as most branded tyres are good in the dry, she had a slide with Michelin energy tyres fitted when it was wet and it scared her so we opted for a tyre known for wet grip to put her mind at rest. Suspension and tyre pressures were all correct as was alignment.
Four fitted and I have to say they are awesome I took it out the first time it rained and did it rain bouncing heavy rain and I give it some as it is like driving a go-cart, It gripped like a track tyre in the dry. I took her out with me and she said wow she couldn't believe what a difference different tyres can make to the handling.
They look good they grip very well in the dry and phenomenal in the wet they are very comfy and she has now done about 12k on them and the rears are like new still and the fronts have about 5mm left so all in all that is very good.
She hasn't noticed any difference in fuel economy which is unusual going from Michelin Energy to Uniroyal Rainsport 3 but it does do over 60mpg it is only a 1.3 td.
All in all best wet grip I have found but it is a small car. I have Dunlop sport maxx on my Focus and they are good but I dare say the Rainsport3 would be even better.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2019   
Are you trying to decide what type of tyre is best for your own winter motoring? Watch this video!
Given 57% while driving a Lotus (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Rainsports always seem to get great reviews so I thought I would give them a go as more of an experiment really than anything else,a full set not being that expensive. The main reason I decided to try them being I was I was after a softer compound tyre.
The car they were being fitted to does minimal mileage and as a result the recommend tyres go 'off' really quite alarmingly,maybe 18 months before the compound starts to harden with no amount of heat cycles bringing them back. Pretty much within the first 5 miles of driving you can figure these rainsport tyres out. First thing is yes,they are soft,it's a wet bias tyre so to be expected,but I then remembered having an early version of rainsports fitted it a car years previously and I had forgotten how much the mass of the car floats on the tread blocks when steering is applied. It reminds me of really bad winter tyres. The result is you tend to make two inputs to any corners when you're travelling at any reasonable speed,not a good feeling because you get the initial load from turning in then a split second later you get a 2nd load as the mass of the car catches up when the tread block settles down,the best way I can describe it is as if someone is nudging the side of the car part way through a corner,very unnerving and you're almost waiting for the inevitable following oversteer. The result is turn-in on the car has all but vanished with this tread block/side wall movement (to be fair to fit this tyre to the front of this vehicle a higher aspect ratio has to be used so that doesn't help the side wall movement) It was a warmish day they were fitted and the road surfaces around the area where quite polished,the result was quite a lot of chirruping from the fronts when braking with even moderate force. This did disappear on rougher surfaces but braking distances have markedly increased in the dry with some instances where I was thinking this car isn't going to stop on some heavy braking. What these tyres are good at is wet conditions not surprising really I guess,it's probably why they are used as 'wets' by a lot of club racers. That tread block then comes into its own clearing standing water extremely well and wet braking is very good.
I've covered about 1000 miles with half of that at decent speeds and heavy braking and they do seem to be changing their character slightly,the secondary movement on turn-in has reduced quite a lot but it's still present and feed back is as vague as ever. As an experiment they weren't a success so they will be coming off shortly.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2019   
BMW (255/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I have them in a staggered setup so 225/40r18 on the front and 255/35r18 on the rear of my bmw. They are a phenomenal tyre in the wet, but yet with a progressiveness when they start to slide. This characteristic is also apparent in the dry, very progressive as they lose grip.

My only criticisms of them is how they deal with heat and abrasion. The following is understandable due to their focus on wet weather performance, but they do suffer from overheating when pushed hard on the road, and the tread blocks on mine have become distorted and in some cases have partially torn away. Even when the rears are overheating they retain their progressiveness.

As for wear, they have worn quickly, but again they are optimised for wet conditions, and have been driven hard in both wet and dry conditions so I was expecting the wear rate I have experienced with them.

Overall they're a good tyre for the road, and inspire confidence no matter if it's wet or dry.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Tiuan R Line (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Just purchased another set for VW Tiguan. I've had these tyres on a VW Eos and a Mercedes SLK 55 AMG and cannot fault them.
They are hard wearing, I managed 20,000 miles on the rear of the SLK before I sold it and there was plenty tread left.
The tyres are quiet and although I don't drive everywhere fast, they offer excellent grip in both the wet and dry. The previous tyres on the Tiguan were also impressive in the snow for traction.
8 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019   

See all 232 customer reviews of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (newest first) >>

Advertisement