tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Uniroyal Rainsport 3


Show all: Uniroyal tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 42 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 164,221 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2
 


Uniroyal Rainsport 3
Dry Grip
90%

Wet Grip
97%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
84%

Wear
70%

Comfort
90%

Buy again
89%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £49.91 - £49.91 (8 prices)
225/45 R17 £67.10 - £67.10 (3 prices)
235/35 R19 £102.18 - £102.18 (1 prices)
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Honda FRV (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 4,000 easy going miles
It is by far the best tyre I used in terms of road performance either in dry or wet. It is quiet too. The wear however is unacceptable as after only 6k kilometres they are down to 5 mm of thread. Thus is for a small MPV with an automatic gearbox, so no wheel spinning or spiritual driving. If it wasn't for wear it would have been a perfect tyre. Disappointed.
tyre reviewed on September 28, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (255-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3,500 spirited miles
This really is a pretty great tyre. After buying some alloys which came fitted with some horrific chinese ditchfinders that gave up as soon as there was one drop of rain I wanted something that was good in the wet but still gave good feedback and had some tyrewall stiffness. On those fronts it doesnt disappoint.
Dry grip is akmost as good as the contisports I had last year but the wet grip is just amazing. I drove through the worst thunderstorms in europe this summer with no hint of aquaplaning or loss of grip. They are just mega.
Whats the catch? I can only assume they are of a crazily soft compound because they are down to 4mm after jut 3.5k. They'll need changing by 5k. Admittedly my caravelle has been fully loaded (3 tonnes) for most of those miles but it's also been continental motorway driving so i'm surprised they've worn so rapidly.
They may last longer on a lighter car or possibly on colder weather over the winter but at £140 a corner I think i'll try something else.
tyre reviewed on September 26, 2014   
Looking to buy the Uniroyal Rainsport 3? Click here to search for the best price for the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These tyres are so good for the money. They are a real step up from budget brand tyres and in the wet they are at least an equal to any high end tyre out there. I'll probably never buy another tyre again.
Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on September 22, 2014   
Given 44% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Cheap, but dont last 5 minutes!! Previously had Pirellis and Dunlops on my Alfa 159 which both lasted for more than double the mileage of the Uni. Next time I shall try BF Goodrich or Fulda Sport Control for price - wear ratio according to reviews. :( Uniroyal
tyre reviewed on September 12, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
after having a few sets of the rainsport 2's i moved to these when they stopped doing the 2's at first i didnt see much between the both the only difference is they last abit longer in terms of wear however the sidewalls although better still go too soft and even running a higher pressure they deform quite quickly, if they could make the sidewall stiffer they would have a winner all round wet grip to me is like dry grip cornering is good but the feedback and feel is a bit soggy and when you get near the limit it gives you and indication but not as much as the 2's did, overall i will be buying them again. (the only side not is when they get used for a while they tened to tramline abit i had my car tracked twice within a month and that was fine so like i said if it had a stiffer sidewall it would be 100%)
tyre reviewed on August 28, 2014   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Best tyres I've had on a car, having had Pirelli P Zero Nero Rossos and Potenza RE050s before, these are the best tyres in terms of grip wet or dry. Really good feedback and turn in was much improved over the old tyres. Also can cope with spirited driving and hard launches. Definitely would buy again.
tyre reviewed on August 27, 2014   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Have now replaced the Rainsport 2's with 3's on the rear of my vRS so now have 3's all round. Great reduction in road noise.Directional stability greatly improved. Recent rainstorms have proved to me that this tyre is an excellent rain tyre with superb grip giving confidence in corners and fast straights.
tyre reviewed on August 26, 2014   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Colt (195-50-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
best solution for my car.
tyre reviewed on August 21, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall vectra vxr 280bhp (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Awesome tyre 235/35/19s FWD car is running at 320bhp, more importantly with a tyre a balding 550nm of torque. They replaced the excellent Goodyear eagle Assy 2s with a disappointing 2.4mm at approx 7000miles, no real noticeable difference for me.

Also one of the best looking tyres I've ever had. Cost £254 fitted for the pair, £60 cheaper than the Goodyear F1s at the time.

Cant say say much about comfort due to the low 35mill profile.
tyre reviewed on August 18, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi carisma (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Not long replaced the Uniroyal RainSport 2's for the 3's and they have definitely improved on an already great tyre. For the money you can't get a better tyre. Excellent in all conditions!
tyre reviewed on August 10, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: