Uniroyal Rainsport 3

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 94%
Road Feedback 80%
Progressiveness 80%
Wear 61%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 76%

The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2

Show all

Tyre review data from 127 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 750,527 miles driven.

Reports

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   E A 70 6.22kgs
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.96kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.72kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.73kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 8.21kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E A 70 6.48kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 70 6.48kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 6.73kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 6.73kgs
205/55 R15 88V   E A 71 7.27kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.54kgs
205/45 R16 87Y XL   C A 72 7.71kgs
205/45 R16 83Y   E A 71 7.71kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E A 71 7.71kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 7.28kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   C A 71 8.21kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 8.27kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 8.69kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.72kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C A 71 8.11kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 7.55kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.70kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 8.86kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 9.31kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 72 9.31kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.65kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.65kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.65kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 72 7.49kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 7.44kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.75kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.25kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 87V   E A 71 8.66kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 72 8.96kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.88kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.39kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.39kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.72kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 9.96kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.89kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.74kgs
205/50 R17 89V   E A 71 8.74kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 72 9.34kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.34kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.34kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   E A 71 9.66kgs
225/50 R17 94V   E A 71 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.43kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.62kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.53kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.53kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.46kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.46kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 11.04kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 11.17kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.29kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 7.87kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.50kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.59kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 16.15kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 71 9.71kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72  
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 71 10.28kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.28kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 8.65kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.87kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71 10.64kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.03kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 11.30kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 11.00kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.84kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.38kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.38kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 14.14kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 16.15kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.16kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 75 15.47kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 10.11kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 9.96kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 17.32kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.67kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.08kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.38kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 10.18kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.67kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 73 11.08kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.61kgs
235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.73kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.01kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 12.59kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 14.50kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 16.14kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 13.95kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Uniroyal Rainsport 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £35.03 - £47.50 (16 prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £42.46 - £63.78 (37 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £60.00 - £77.50 (7 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £55.00 - £82.67 (26 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 69 tyre sizes - View all.

Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.9 Tdi (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2016   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Grande Punto TJet (205/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
Bought these tyres in august 2014, replacing a couple of Fortuna F2900's, after those I decided I was gonna get some quality tyres in the front particularly for in the wet as the previous ones were quite poor. These Uniroyal's didn't disappoint, excellent grip in the wet and good all round tyres, don't cost the earth either, which is good as they are now quite worn out and ready for replacing, after 14,000 miles. I am however considering buying the Nexen SU4's next though given their good reviews on here.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2016   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very impressed with these tyres, I have done 2 track days with these in the dry and they perform very well, very progressive thanks to a fairly soft sidewall which could lead to more wear in the long run, but for my needs they have been great. You will only manage to get the back end loose buy driving like an idiot or clutch kicking and even then these tyres seem to find grip wherever they can. I would say they perform better on the front than on the rear but that's just my opinion and would always buy these as a set of 4. Great at tyre
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2016   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
A soft side wall led to premature wear to the outer edges of the tyre which has resulted in a reduced life span. Other than that I was relatively happy with them for day to day use.
They will be replaced with something more performance orientated with a stiffer side wall.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2016   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (205/55 R15 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Best avoided due to being very fast wearing. Our previous Khumo KH31s lasted 22k miles while these were to the wear markers within 6k.

They may be cheap and provide great grip in wet and dry conditions but they wear more quickly than any tyres I've ever had fitted.


Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2016   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 50,000 average miles
Tyre grips well in the dry and certainly in the wet. However when taking corners the sidewalls feel too soft. On the other side this tire is very comfortable. They wear fast because of the soft compound.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2016   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Purchased a pair of the rain sport 3 tyres for the front of my civic type r after reading reviews and having a couple of recommendations. I wont be buying these tyres or recommending them to anyone in the future, they have completely worn out in less than 3000 miles and are on the limit, the grip in the wet is terrible and how they can be an A rated tyre in the rain is beyond me. The sidewall feels really weak and feels like your over-steering. I have never been more disappointed with a set of tyres and as said I won't be buying them again.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2016   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra Tdi (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
So far i have had these on for about 2 days all corners. They are fitted to a small car with over 200bhp. I havent took the car through its paces yet, as just letting the tyres bind in. I shall update this in the near future, but cornering has seriously improved and there are less wheel spins from 2nd gear, which i was previously getting with my previous tyres. I shall not mention their make and model, as they were used tyres that were on the car. What i did notice is the onboard computer showing more fuel consumption. Meaning the tyres before were showing 55mpg to 65+mpg. Currently they are showing 45-55+mpg. This maybe because there is more Rolling resistance compared to the previous tyres which had noticably less grip. And also the new tyres need to wear in.

Went through a few puddles.on the motorway, at speed and did not notice any aqauaplanning, so pretty safe in the wet and thats how they are meant to be. The steering wheel doesnt vibrate at all, which i was previously experiencing.

If i can i will add to this and inform if they have improved or if there was a regression in their performance.

Currently i am at a happy place with these tyres, and would fit them again and recommend them with full credibility, and they dont cost much at all.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2016   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have run pilot Goodyear eagle F1 and Michelin pilot sport 3 on my modified Focus ST225
So far i have to say for the price they are the best.

Amazing in the wet on level par with premium tyres on the dry.
The side wall is a bit softer but only under extreme cornering a problem i solved by Nitro filling them.
Will definitely by again.
Not so sure on the wear as i have only has the tyres for 3 months
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2016   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
My final review of these tyres.
At first they were unbelievably good, dry and wet. They did 10k miles and I swopped the fronts for the rears, another 10k and it's just about all over for them. So they've lasted for almost 20k miles and for 18k of those miles they've been excellent. Frankly the best tyre I've ever bought. The last 2k or so they have been going off, not losing grip as such, but the confidence is now lacking in them, they are starting to feel a bit "woolly" and driving over white lines in the wet is a little alarming.
20k miles in a remapped Mondy that's been tuned for torque is very impressive.
I would definitely recommend these tyres as they've been so good. But just be aware that they drop over "the edge" pretty quickly.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2016   
Advertisement