tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Uniroyal Rainsport 3


Show all: Uniroyal tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 49 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 219,317 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport 2
 


Uniroyal Rainsport 3
Dry Grip
90%

Wet Grip
97%

Road Feedback
85%

Progressiveness
84%

Wear
69%

Comfort
90%

Buy again
88%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £49.91 - £49.91 (8 prices)
225/45 R17 £67.10 - £74.65 (4 prices)
235/35 R19 £102.18 - £102.18 (1 prices)
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.5tdi Quattro Avant Sport (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Apart from the slightly soft sidewall, these are excellent tyres in all conditions that I've driven them in (no snow!) and I'm pleased with te wear rate this far. They are not the most sporting of tyre I've tried and do require more attention than most to ensure pressures are correct for seasonal temperature variations otherwise performance deteriorates quite dramatically, overall though performance is great, especialy in the wet of course. Having tried many different tyres from the the top manufacturer i.e Conti/Goodyear/Michelin/Dunlop in over 9 years & 167,000 miles I've had the car and only having been impressed by the old F1 GSD3 & Spotmaxx TT's I went for what I considered a 2nd tier tyre manufacturer. On present performance I will replace like for like when the time comes if the top manufacturers do not raise the game to justify the extra cost.
tyre reviewed on October 19, 2014   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Stilo (215-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Better than all Continental tyres.
Only with this tire i feel safe.
I have perfect brakes and i have many months to see the ASR lamp on my dashboard.
I think is the BEST tire ( speed index V ) for cars 1.2 1.4 1.6
Heated quickly

Recomended !
tyre reviewed on October 18, 2014   
Looking to buy the Uniroyal Rainsport 3? Click here to search for the best price for the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Exceptional grip in the wet. Dry grip is good but when the tyres are new you can actually feel the treads moving about.
Comfort and progressiveness are fine.
Wear is terrible, they are very soft compound and they need replacing after only 6000 moderately driven miles on the front of my car.
tyre reviewed on October 11, 2014   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Opel vectra c (215-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,066 spirited miles
I bought these tyres in Jan 2014 and the thread is officially below the legal limit in Oct 14. I cannot stress enough how AMAZING wet grip is. You should not worry at all driving in wet conditions with these tyres. Some math: Drove these for a total of 16200 kilometers (10066 miles) at speeds between 120 kmh (75mph) and 180 kmh (112mph). Daily (mon-fri) they did 90km (56 miles), 99% on highway/motorway. I think if you give these tyres a lot of daily punishment at high speeds, they will wear fairly quickly
tyre reviewed on October 11, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003-2007) (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
had the 2s now got the 3s very good tyre, very good in the rain i have over 300 BHP and the tyres have no problem putting the power down, only thing is that im down to 3mm in 4000 miles but have got some more on now :)
tyre reviewed on October 10, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Sierra RS Cosworth [Group A] (225-40-18-)
Driving on track for 30 spirited miles
I use these as wets on my race car, in standing water they will aquaplane like any tyre but in mixed conditions are very good. Have to run sub 18psi to get them hot enough. They are not ideal on a drying track as they will overheat quickly and you will lose feel as they start to roll.

For a road car tyre they would be excellent
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Ford MONDEO (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
These tyres are an excellent all rounder. I replaced all four tyres and the car is quieter, more responsive, sharper when braking and best of all so planted when I drive in the wet.
I would recommend these to anyone and everyone who wants a decent tyre at a fair price. They are really very very good.
tyre reviewed on October 4, 2014   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Honda FRV (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 4,000 easy going miles
It is by far the best tyre I used in terms of road performance either in dry or wet. It is quiet too. The wear however is unacceptable as after only 6k kilometres they are down to 5 mm of thread. Thus is for a small MPV with an automatic gearbox, so no wheel spinning or spiritual driving. If it wasn't for wear it would have been a perfect tyre. Disappointed.
tyre reviewed on September 28, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (255-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3,500 spirited miles
This really is a pretty great tyre. After buying some alloys which came fitted with some horrific chinese ditchfinders that gave up as soon as there was one drop of rain I wanted something that was good in the wet but still gave good feedback and had some tyrewall stiffness. On those fronts it doesnt disappoint.
Dry grip is akmost as good as the contisports I had last year but the wet grip is just amazing. I drove through the worst thunderstorms in europe this summer with no hint of aquaplaning or loss of grip. They are just mega.
Whats the catch? I can only assume they are of a crazily soft compound because they are down to 4mm after jut 3.5k. They'll need changing by 5k. Admittedly my caravelle has been fully loaded (3 tonnes) for most of those miles but it's also been continental motorway driving so i'm surprised they've worn so rapidly.
They may last longer on a lighter car or possibly on colder weather over the winter but at £140 a corner I think i'll try something else.
tyre reviewed on September 26, 2014   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These tyres are so good for the money. They are a real step up from budget brand tyres and in the wet they are at least an equal to any high end tyre out there. I'll probably never buy another tyre again.
Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on September 22, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: