Honda Prelude 2.2vtec Tyres

Drive a Honda Prelude 2.2vtec? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda Prelude 2.2vtec
Toyo SNOWPROX S 952 (4) 93% 98% 93% 85% 95% 90% 95% 93% 28,300
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (8) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84% 93% 85% 35,530
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (23) 86% 77% 78% 81% 79% 77% 83% 80% 182,000
Nexen Winguard Sport (19) 81% 80% 79% 64% 84% 81% 84% 79% 119,705
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Jinyu YU61 (43) 82% 68% 71% 64% 76% 78% 75% 73% 291,400
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69% 65% 68% 312,033
Nordexx NS9000 (10) 73% 57% 59% 57% 73% 60% 60% 63% 40,139

Honda Prelude 2.2vtec Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo SNOWPROX S 952 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
fantastic... truely worth every penny. made the car more stable throughout the cold icey winter months, and gave me more confidence to drive that little bit harder. wear was good still had 6mm of tread after 6months of very harsh conditions. defenatly buy again 5*
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-03 00:13:57
Writing about the Nexen Winguard Sport given 94% (205-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Winter 2017/2018 was my first experience with Nexen and in any case with Korean tires, so despite relatively good reviews there was certain skepticism about performance, especially in view of mixed test results (target was to find tires which are good on snow and ice like Scandinavian type tires, but also good on dry and wet like tires of continental Europe type, and not expensive). Returning home after tires were mounted I was chocked how they were silent - the best ever I have tried. Noise drop was as I would installed a noise insulation. Confort was also on the top, but partly it could be ensured by a little oversizing: 205/60 instead of 205/55.

Winter performance was fully satisfactory. In snow and on ice they were subjectively similar to Bridgestone Blizzak Revo GZ and Michelin X-Ice (I): good grip and braking in snow, but on pure ice they were all relatively weak, especially at temperatures slightly below 0C. All provide better handling than braking, so it's necessary to be careful though as with any tires. On dry and wet pavements Nexen looked far better than both with braking - at emergency braking they didn't slide first meters that was always slightly frightening me. Course-keeping ability on dry pavement may be a little bit worse than that with Michelin (quite similar to Bridgestone), but I could feel it just at speed over 120-130 km/h. Wear after 10K km looks typical. Thus, in overall they are really decent winter tires. Nexen, bravo !

And how to trust all these tire tests ?! Today, in view of my own experience, I may say that there was only one test with Nexen Winguard Sport that looks objective and it was performed in Korea.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-11 09:59:39
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 86% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 22 spirited miles
Up to 22,500 kms, approx, now with about another 6,000 - 8,000 k's of rubber left on these and have worn extremely evenly - rotated every 7K. Definitely shoeing my iron horse with KU31's again. They give great feedback enabling excellent driving predictability; stable and constant contact in wet or dry; cut through standing water without hesitation; have never aquaplaned. Brake in a true straight line. Are getting a bit noisy now though, but only noticed this after 15,000 kms. I drive long country distances interstate, (1,000's of kms per journey), regularly, on uneven Australian secondary back routes. With little to no traffic I can happily keep up a steady 130 - 150 kms/hour on these road surfaces without bouncing all over the shop. Honda gives a slightly hard sporty ride, but these tyres are forgiving while instilling driver confidence with their firm footprint on the bitumen. Can cruise corners very comfortably 30 to 40 kms/hr above the sign-posted recommended speed, without any kick on the apex. Have never let me down. Admittedly, I have never driven them on ice or snow. My tyre wear seems better than what some others have posted here, but I think is probably more due to car's ATTS suspension ( ), which saves tyres. Obviously, wear will vary depending upon vehicle, maintenance and driving style. I agree with previous poster that these tyres are under classified as they punch well above their weight in terms of price and classification - are up there with grand touring/medium performance tyres. Well done Kumho.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-23 12:01:59
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 given 86% (205-50-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50 spirited miles
Had these on a honda prelude 2.2 VTI 1997 185hk and was very satisfied. They really had a sporty feeling in dry and was good in a blizzard with 30cm snow on the road.
they took me thru 10 winters in sweden. (along with it´s predecessor bridgestone LM22)
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-28 13:34:54
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Thanks to all the other posters on this site for their reviews, which allowed me to purchase these tyres for an amazing deal from my local dealer. Cheers!

I installed these as 215/40-17's and am comparing them to:
- Goodyear Eagle F1GS-D3
- Falken GRB-FK451 & 452 and,
- Bridgestone Potenza RE92

These are by FAR the quietest and softest tyres of the lot tested above - generally speaking I try to find tyres that have relatively stiff sidewalls, in order to protect my rims but now that I no longer track the car, I wanted something easy on the wallet and comfortable.

I would NOT call these a "very high-performance" tyre, because they feel relatively soft, and the sidewall flex is definitely noticeable, especially on highway ramps - they tend to feel pretty vague and squishy once you begin to drive "spiritedly". In the wet they perform as I'd expect: average - they grip well in the wet, just slightly worse than in the dry, and do not have hydroplaning issues when new. Performance wise, I'd still choose these over an "all-season" tyre, but don't expect the world of them - drive like you're supposed to on the street, and these will be very rewarding.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-21 14:59:25
Writing about the Jinyu YU61 given 75% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
To the guy above who loses grip when changing gear in VTEC in the wet ... wise up. If you have proper old-fashioned VTEC, that means you're presumably shifting up at over 5000 revs - on a wet road. Which means you're caning your car in the stupidest of ways.

You deserve everything you get if that's the way you drive. Don't expect budget tyres (or premium tyres for that matter) to save your life for you.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-17 15:12:22
Writing about the Nordexx NS9000 given 73% (195-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Overall not a bad tyre for the price. I drove these hard on a combination of city and country roads. Their dry grip was impressive, they held down my power fairly well. Cornering speeds were good. Negative camber contributed to short life span. Wet weather grip was average, expected for the price.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-15 10:48:46
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 69% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Bought them used for my vehicle, but despite that they have showed great wet and especially dry grip. For normal everyday driving wear was OK. If you would push them everytime they would go out very quick.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-22 16:46:44
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo ZSR given 63% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Well these were used on a semi light coupe for 2 seasons so far. I've done 15k or some on them already and they have started to wear down by now. When they were new, dry grip was very good,noise levels were very low, but wet grip level was as expected when buying cheap tires like these. I mean when you are pushing it in the wet, be mindful it's not big brand tires alright. After couple of seasons on these, noise level increased,but not too much. And overall grip decreased a little bit. In the end of the day it's 4 tires for the price of one big brand tire, definitely would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-22 09:36:49
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 600 average miles
If you're looking to buy some good tyres, skip past these and get some Falken FK452's. These yokos may grip like a bitch in the dry (I mean seriously, your front wheel drive grocery-getter will be cornering like an evo), but they are dangerous in the ice. If you're happy with that then ok, but be forewarned they will plane with the slightest suggestion of snow or ice. Rain is ok I suppose but it's not confidence inspiring stuff. The road noise - ridiculous, not to mention the noise generated by the crap they pick up smacking off the bottom of the car! But this is the stuff you expect from soft compound track tyres. For the road though? It all becomes tyresome (ahem) very quickly. Then we get to the worst bit - the wear. Even after a slightly spirited drive (no wheelspinning, traction loss etc, just high speed cornering) they will be smoking. I drive approx 10 miles a day, I may give the car some welly once a week if that. Within 2 months from NEW they were shot (about 600 miles if I'm being generous), wires right through and no rubber worth speaking of - that sort of wear is fine for a track car, but at the cost of the tyres it seems stupid to me to even market this as a tyre for the street. Nobody expects tyres to go done in that space of time, so are unlikely to bother checking. Plainly dangerous. Then there's the responsiveness - they bang over potholes and pull you into any dips in the road - it's great if you're on the track, but you have to keep your mind on the job when on the roads.
Get some 452's, they are expensive, but the compound is nice and lasts for a long time, comfort is pretty decent, grip is fantastic, and they have far superior grip at 170+mph compared to alot of the cheaper brands marketed to be bracketed safe at these speeds.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-28 01:12:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre