Kawasaki z1000 Tyres

Drive a Kawasaki z1000? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Kawasaki z1000
Dunlop RoadSmart III (10) 94% 91% 92% 94% 90% 89% 92% 92% 27,006
Nankang WF2 Sportiac (4) 100% 97% 100% 65% 83% 85% 100% 90% 5,508
Dunlop Sportsmart (10) 93% 78% 89% 90% 82% 84% 96% 87% 39,700
Metzeler SPORTEC M7 RR (9) 92% 82% 83% 88% 79% 91% 89% 86% 27,300
Metzeler ROADTEC 01 (11) 92% 91% 93% 86% 74% 92% 75% 86% 52,000
Michelin Pilot Road 4 (12) 89% 83% 84% 76% 84% 85% 87% 84% 60,600
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 (12) 79% 67% 72% 74% 32% 62% 44% 61% 22,190
Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 (22) 72% 48% 65% 69% 51% 65% 50% 60% 73,400

Kawasaki z1000 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Metzeler ROADTEC 01 given 96% (190-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Tyres stayed round unlike anything I've used before with very little squaring off, love this tyre not sure on how long they will last but still looking good after 5000 mls on Kawasaki Z1000 sx
Mix between committing and touring mainly commuting

tyre reviewed on 2018-04-20 22:32:33
Writing about the Metzeler ROADTEC 01 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Update on earlier Z1000 review
After another 2000 miles around northern Spain and the picos the tyres have just started to go off, not yet worn to wear bars but not as confidence inspiring as they were but 8000 miles is pretty good for a tyre as grippy as these.
Front and rear have worn at same rate
Off for another set next week
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-27 23:41:02
Writing about the Dunlop Sportsmart given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-17 03:05:57
Writing about the Metzeler SPORTEC M7 RR given 93% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-08 20:03:28
Writing about the Nankang WF2 Sportiac given 90% (190-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 3500 average miles
Nankang WF-2
Is a magic tire, it is a performance tire, the price is very cheap
I ride KWASAKI Z1000 tire pressure front 32PSI behind 30PSI grip very very good, even better than Alpha 13 & S21

Heavier weight is his only shortcoming
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-26 09:15:50
Writing about the Dunlop RoadSmart III given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have to say I've always run Dunlop Sport Smarts so was interested to see what these were like compared to the old tyres. Have to say that they have not disappointed.

Plenty of grip (well enough for my riding abilities) and haven't let go once. There was a little slide in sketchy conditions a few weeks ago, going from dry road to wet and then back to dry travelling at dry road speeds. They recovered well and gave good drive.

Tyres warm up well and have a good amount of edge grip.

I've got these on my ZZR1400 as well but that will be used on my upcoming trip to the Isle of Man. Must say, I am really looking forward to running them over the Mountain section of the course!
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-12 17:25:16
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 4 given 76% (195-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
I've been riding road bikes since I was 18yo Im now 54 so I have a lot of experience on this.
These are brilliant tyres for a tourer or a commuter that does a lot of miles but also gets out into the twisties to have some fun.
Once warm they do grip brilliantly for a tyre with an expected life on a 1000cc bike of over 18000klm
I have these on the rear of my Kawasaki Ninja 1000abs ( z1000sx) and have screwed them nicely for the past 12000klm since the bike was new. they only have about 2000klm left now but still grip well but are feathered up quite bad due to the severe cramp I seem to get in my right wrist from time to time
Recommend these? Yes in a heart beat... but my next set will be Metzler M7RR's I think for more grip.

Have a nice day.
From the land of OZ.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-05 14:43:56
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
Z1000sx 12000 miles a year.
These were the stock tyres on the bike from new. On a hot dry day these tyres had a lot of grip. The sides were very sticky and would shred right to the edge, I had the bike very low on the and never felt worried.

In the wet and cold they were pretty awful though I think.
They lasted 3500 miles, and I've now got bt 023 my favourite tyre for commuting.

These tyres are good for summer/weekend riders but not for commuting all year round.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-18 09:20:30
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 given 57% (190-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2850 spirited miles
These were the factory fit tyres on my Kawasaki Z1000sx...

They were grippy on a warm summer day with decent tarmac, not so much in less than ideal conditions. They lasted less than 3000 miles and squared off really quickly with just a couple of motorway runs. When squaring in these tyres they felt really unstable, almost wobbly!

Avoid unless you do a lot of spirited riding on good winding tarmac :)
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-03 07:13:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre