Renault Clio III 1.2 55kW Tyres

Drive a Renault Clio III 1.2 55kW? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Clio III 1.2 55kW
Lassa Impetus Revo (11) 88% 82% 83% 78% 76% 77% 85% 81% 178,018
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Three A P606 (34) 77% 72% 70% 66% 70% 76% 73% 72% 197,801
Fulda EcoControl (19) 81% 67% 68% 69% 68% 71% 61% 69% 235,610
Michelin Primacy MXM4 (4) 80% 70% 80% 80% 80% 70% 58% 69% 23,025
Formula Formula Energy (4) 83% 65% 58% 55% 73% 68% 55% 65% 27,500
Bridgestone B250 (43) 65% 53% 60% 60% 70% 64% 49% 60% 968,972
Federal Formoza FD1 (12) 74% 57% 48% 51% 57% 60% 35% 55% 102,978

Renault Clio III 1.2 55kW Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Three A P606 given 87% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
I’m impressed so far..

Having scrubbed a new set of 4 in over 500 miles, the grip in wet & dry is getting better all the time - provides predictable behaviour on most surfaces, positive braking feel.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-04 10:48:58
Writing about the Formula Formula Energy given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Our five year old Renault Clio Sport Estate 1.2 75bhp petrol had covered only 36,000 kms since new, but the original fitment Goodyear tyres on the front were about 70 worn. The main problem was they were cracking/perishing a bit and the r/h/s front had worn on the shoulder a bit due to the number of roundabouts in fhe Treviso area. The car is driven mainly on short to medium length journeys only. The Clio does seem to be quite kind to tyres and the tracking well set up at the factory, unlike other new cars I have bought

165/65 15 is an odd size, so you are automatically restricted on your choice. A large tyre centre offered us Pirellis or Formula brand which we were told is a subsidisry of Pirelli and made in Europe. Tyres are a rip off in Italy as unlike France or the UK, there seems to be a resistence to an Internet sourced tyre supplier being started. So comparable tyres for the Clio were about 30% more each than what I would have paid via AlloPneus in France.

The Formula Energy tyres were €145 for two balanced and fitted.

The precious Goodyears were not very grippy in the wet, and the day the Formula tyres were fitted the weather was terrible with a lot of water streaming across the roads and pooling too. Driving around the same roundabouts and other stretches of road the Formula tyres demonstrated good grip in the slippery conditions where the Goodyears would have let go. Aquaplaning resistance was excellent too as the tyres cut through standing water.

The Formula tyres have an asymetric tread and look really good. They are much quieter running than the Goodyears obviously because they are new and have more rubber, but also because the tread pattern consists of two deep sipes to disperse water and a continuous type pattern rather than a block type. I also noticed that directional stability was improved with these tyres, and the car responded more enthusiastically to steering inputs.

Long term I am not too concerned about wear as we cover so few kilometres, but for the money if you do not have a high performance car, these tyres are to be recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-21 12:31:45
Writing about the Michelin Primacy MXM4 given 83% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
no much of wear.Very good tyre for my car.I usually drive sporty and it is really comfortable.Here in Hellas we have a bit of problem with the condition of our roads, so i think that it can stand as one of the best tyres for medium use.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-16 02:24:41
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Primacy given 76% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-11 20:08:24
Writing about the Fulda EcoControl given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
I am reading all the bad things about these tires. To all who had accidents with these. I say, that you don't know to drive. I have driven these tires thru 2 inch of water with out problems, they felt like on dry. But if you get in a corner faster than usual, these tires will show their weakness. This isn't a sporty tire. For a small car, it's a reasonable choice. I have them for 5 years. They are still ok. Plenty of life in them. Dry grip and braking are ok, I had a few emergency braking and with ABS they did the good job. Wet grip and braking are also ok, felt safe all the time. Can't say too much about road feedback. Cause my steering wheel is artificial and I don't feel the asphalt at all, even with brand new Good Year UG 9 tires. As for the comfort goes. They were awesome at the beginning, soft and quiet. Now, after 5 years, they become hard and louder. They are much better than the Bridgestone B250 that came factory mounted on the car. Next year will buy some premium rubber. Cause back then when I bought Fulda, I didn't had a money for something better. I will change them next year, because the surface of asphalt in my country is very bad and it's damage the tire. A lot of potholes, speed bumps and high curbs. The size of the tire on my car is 165/65 R15. So, if anyone opt for these. They offer a lot for a reasonable money. A gold middle. One advice. Drive safe and these will serve you very well.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-13 17:39:07
Writing about the Bridgestone B250 given 67% (165-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Not bad but not good.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-18 18:11:45
Writing about the Lassa Impetus Revo given 63% (185-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-19 11:39:44
Writing about the Federal Formoza FD1 given 21% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
These are the worst tyres I have ever bought, £52 a corner and I have worn them out in 5000 miles, my Continental PC2's lasted me 15k. These Federals are dangerous in the wet even when new with very little grip and in the dry still questionable levels of grip.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-02 16:26:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre