Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI Tyres

Drive a Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (387) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,666,737
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (33) 98% 77% 92% 92% 74% 72% 94% 85% 190,505
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66% 90% 83% 144,200
Maxxis Victra Sport VS01 (5) 86% 80% 84% 84% 80% 76% 82% 82% 14,000
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72% 72% 76% 299,307
Goodride SA05 (18) 75% 69% 69% 66% 76% 38% 48% 63% 250,776
Landsail LS988 (36) 75% 51% 58% 53% 71% 66% 52% 61% 175,032

Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 89% (225-45-17-S)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Very good in the wet. Grips in the dry. I loved it so much, bought the same tyres for my gf in her 2007 civic type R.
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-10 02:18:41
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I have had a full set of these on my car now 4 months and they have been fantastic.

I was a bit worried at first that they would be useless in cold wet weather but there not.
Even driving in a spirited manner at 2 degrees in the rain they hung on like it was dry.
Only in greasy conditions they will start to push on if provoked, but the brake away is very progressive and controllable.

Dry grip is amazing way more performance than your ever need on the public road. Previous tyres would start to squeal and let go but the Yokos are silent and show no sign of letting go.

Side walls are quite hard on this tyre so you do get a slightly firmer ride.
But this does help get a better connection to the road and great feed back.

Another plus point is that I've not experienced any tramlining from them.

Only bad point would be tyre wear. They don't come with much tread depth on them almost look part worn when new.




tyre reviewed on 2015-04-26 18:04:37
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
I have these tyres on my Impreza STI and Civic Type R, absolutely love them. the wet weather performance is what really makes these tyres excellent. I have tried a few mid range and premium tyres and these are the best value for money. i paid £80 per corner in 225/45/17 which was not much more than mid range tyres in the same size.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-08 13:57:14
Writing about the Maxxis Victra Sport VS01 given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres years ago as were fairly cheap n was really surprised at how well they performed, dry grip is brilliant and also wet grip is really good n I’m a very spirited driver, had a 550hp bmw n these were on the front, also a few other BMW’s I’ve had, on a mk4 golf n these were awesome now about to try on my Impreza as love these tires
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-09 19:33:48
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE070 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
Potenza re070 . IMO these tyres are brilliant for the money supplied and fitted was 175 for 2 from black circles . recently went to wales with a few of the lads an really tested them . I think although there a quality tyre I don't think they are the best for any roads with layers of dust dirt or gravel but on clean roads there one of the best . wet weather is where the tyre falls a little short . tends to slide at 65 to 70% of the limit so you may want to drive more leisurely if its teaming . I drive a 2006 sti so constant 4 WD helps . everyone always comments on the look of the tyre which doesn't help with grip but nice to know I spose lol
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-27 18:31:31
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS6 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
I had never heard of these.I normally run toyo proxies tr1's on 18" rims on my Impreza but got a blow out and with no spare i hobbled into a garage on the same road.They couldn't repair my tyre so ended up having to have two Coopers fitted on the promise from the garage that they are on par with the tr1.I must admit the road noise is far less than the tr1 but i have yet to see how they handle,only done 100 mile on them.Not seen on comments off high performance car owners yet so im feeling a little twitchy about putting them to the test.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-23 15:41:23
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
After reading lots of good reviews about this tyre I replaced my Re070 for the Goodyear eagle f1 as2.

Massive mistake!

First impression were good the car felt more comfortable over bumps and there was less road noise.

Handling was terrible the car felt like it had flat tyres. Fast direction changes made the rear tyres squirm. Hard cornering also pushed the tyre over on to its side wall.

Even after playing around with tyre pressures and upping them to silly pressures the handling was still soft and unresponsive.

After a few thousand miles they had to come off the car. When we removed them the side walls are so thin you can fold the tyre flat with one hand.

After talking to the tyre fitter he mentioned there a very light weight tyre construction designed to reduce rotating mass to help reduce fuel consumption and not what he would recommend for a performance car.

Personally I think this tyre is more suited to a family car or a daily commuter.


tyre reviewed on 2015-04-26 18:27:50
Writing about the Landsail LS988 given 43% (215-45-17-R)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 easy going miles
Had to replace all my tyres at each MOT test on yearly basis.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-13 12:45:42
Writing about the Goodride SA05 given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Shit tires ! If you expect any performance don't buy those. worst tires I have ever had!
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-19 22:56:09
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre