tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R


Show all: Yokohama tyres, Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition tyres
The Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 6 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 23,130 miles driven.
 


Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R
Dry Grip
100%

Wet Grip
72%

Road Feedback
95%

Progressiveness
88%

Wear
67%

Comfort
72%

Buy again
97%


 
Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R Reviews

Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Corsa vxr (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Excellent dry grip and as good wet grip and wear as you can expect from a semi slick tyre. Miles ahead of the old continental contact 3's.
tyre reviewed on October 13, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn ZX 2.0 16v (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
This tyre i would say has to be the best dry grip tyre so far. It begs to be pushed to the limits. My previouse tyre was michelin ps3, it was great all rounder, but certainly couldnt match ad08r dry grip. On the wet, its good, not great. Michelin ps3 was better on the wet, though i dont mind.. Anyways we shouldnt drive fast when its wet anyways.. As for road feedback, it is second to none.. The moment u steer the wheel at high speed, it just turns! Super feedback., unlike other tyres (normal tyres), high speed cornering u would feel some miniscule understeer(if ur driving fwd) until it squeals, but does ad08r doesnt! As for wear, its only 100 miles use, i couldnt say much.. I really recommend this to drivers out there who drive aggresive and push ur cars to the limit.. Its safe assuring u maximum grip during dry road.. Though i havent tested r888 or toyo r1r, but this tyre really satisfy me both road and track..
tyre reviewed on September 9, 2014   
Looking to buy the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R? Click here to search for the best price for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R or any other tyre.
 
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Honda DC2 Integra Type R (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Amazing in dry, not bad in wet but don't like standing water at all. They do wear fast and a lot of road noise and stiff ride however you don't buy these tires for a motorway cruiser. It's all about the corners and they certainly deliver.
tyre reviewed on April 16, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota GT86 (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I'have 8000km on these and my GT86.
Wear is absolutely even on all 4 tires, i can easily project 25000 km with these rates of wear, and I am no retired driver.
The amount of grip makes the car itself scream for more power, I'd say that a Gt86 requires at least 50hp more to bring the balance and fun back after mounting these. Unless you have access to a track in which case you will have an incredible amount of fun pushing them to the limit.
Wet grip is great provided the street is doesn't become a pond, in which case the low thread will encourage aquaplanning. But in a road that is just wet and not soaking wet, these tires will have very few rivals.



tyre reviewed on February 4, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (205-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Was previously on Toyo T1R so it's a step up for me. had a chance to drive on potenza re002s, the old direzza z1, and the mich pilot sport 3.. havent had a chance to ride in the direct competitors re11a, direzza z2 or the bfg rivals.

car is a 4 door EG, about a tonne with carbon stuff, with coilovers,bars etc.. front camber 2.5 and rear 2.0, front toe is 0.03 out and rear toe is 0.02 in , since i din't like how the T1Rs were kicking out under trail braking when rears were on toe out...

anyway i have been driving on the AD08Rs for about 2000km now. i went up from 195/50 to 205/50 but still on 6.5" rims so steering response and straight line feel is SLIGHTLY compromised, it's just not as twitchy i guess.prob have to wait till i get 7" rims. if i could describe it the word would be 'damped', like there's a slight reduction simply because of the wider and slightly taller tire. rim width definitely matters. ultimate grip is great, there's a little mountain pass i drive where the T1Rs would start screaming and sliding ard 75-78kph but the yokohamas were confident up till 87kph (and my manhood was questioned after that).

dry grip is superb, when i went to redo my steering center alignment, during the test drive my mech was thoroughly stunned at the cornering grip, sure it's not an empirical test but given he services works and track cars it's not too shabby a compliment.

in the wet i still exercise caution; highway speeds up to 130kph still feel planted. haven't gone through any puddles over 80kph; no aquaplaning to report. if i did... man these are new tires!

i am happy with the tire; it is comfortable (if one can call an extremem tire so), and the noise level is acceptable on a daily basis. certainly not aspec-db quiet but only noisy over coarse sections of road.
with a 180 wear rating, i wouldnt expect A LOT of life out of these grippy babies...
ard 500km when wearing them in, the little nipples on the front thread had alr gone whilst the rears were still there. just have to probably exercise more prudence in rotation and camber wear monitoring.
the dry braking reported by the reviews available online is true; i was able to brake later into corners than my counterparts driving an sti wrx on R1Rs, and could keep up with another buddy in a civic on toyo R888 mediums in terms of grip through a corner.

as with most tires this side of daily duty versus track, tuning and feel come into play.
driving feel is lovely and the tire communicates sidewall bend and grip very well. i cant put 9 or 10 for feedback until i have the tires on rims of proper width. i am very happy with my purchase, and while these tires are by not cheap, i bought these at 30bucks less a piece compared to the direzza z2, which can be directed into alignment and suspension tuning; or at the very least, GAS :3

i drive with a smile on my face all the time now (:
tyre reviewed on January 17, 2014   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane R26 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 spirited miles
Guess I am the first to review it. My previous tyres were Goodyear Eagles F1A2s and they are pretty good in the wet, but on the tracks they become pretty useless after 2 laps. I just changed to AD08Rs today and I am super impressed and happy with my buy. I thought for a semi-slick they would be pretty lousy in the wet, but no. There was a slight drizzle tonight so the roads are cold and at its most slippery, and i went through the roundabout as though like its dry. No understeer at all. Comfort wise they are a little bit more bumpy than the Eagles F1A2. I am not too sure about how long they will last though as I just got it today, but I think if you use your car as a daily drive and the occasional track day, these are the tyres to go for hands down. And for the price, there is really no tyre that can match its performance for what you are paying for.
tyre reviewed on September 17, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: