tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Bridgestone Turanza T001


Show all: Bridgestone tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Bridgestone Turanza T001 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 139,200 miles driven.
 


Bridgestone Turanza T001
Dry Grip
89%

Wet Grip
86%

Road Feedback
71%

Progressiveness
64%

Wear
67%

Comfort
81%

Buy again
61%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £48.47 - £61.99 (3 prices)
205/55 R16 £58.25 - £82.11 (7 prices)
225/45 R17 £84.79 - £104.91 (5 prices)
225/40 R18 £89.55 - £106.20 (3 prices)
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Bridgestone Turanza T001 Reviews

Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on April 15, 2014   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I had two of these tyres fitted at the front 6 months ago (start of June). On testing, breaking in wet and dry (in a straight line) they seem to perform OK (although it's a bit hard to compare really).

Tyres are down to 6mm tread. So assuming 8mm from new, they are wearing at roughly 2mm/10,000 miles (50/50 motorway/Urban). So should last 30,000 miles before hitting the 2mm mark. Average?

The only problem I have with these types how they affect the handling of the car whilst turning. You don't seem to get very much feedback from the road. It almost feels like the tyres aren't gripping the road properly or are resting on jelly (I am not saying they aren't gripping you just don't get that positive feedback). It is very easy to turn the steering wheel, but I find it quite disconcerting.

However, the tyre is designed as 'touring' tyre (the T in the T001 indicates this), so maybe this is 'by design' (it's very easy on the arms on long and winding roads).

I hope that this tyre isn't the result of tailoring design to the EU (grip and economy) ratings at the expense of handling...

I probably wouldn't recommend them due to the road handing issues I experienced.

This is my opinion from a non expert.

So make up your own mind about them...

Bruce.





tyre reviewed on December 6, 2013   
Looking to buy the Bridgestone Turanza T001? Click here to search for the best price for the Bridgestone Turanza T001 or any other tyre.
 
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on December 6, 2013   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I don't feel safe with these tyres, on dry and especially on the wet. I thought it will be better. Won't buy again.
tyre reviewed on November 26, 2013   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
These tyres give good handling and feel but do not last anywhere near as long as a premium brand tyre should. These only lasted 8 months and 15k. The majority of which is spent driving on motorway.
tyre reviewed on November 25, 2013   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Fitted these as replacements to the now defunct P6000 I’ve been using for the past 6 years on two cars and 150k+ miles.
First impressions are always good as you are comparing new to old/worn out. So wet weather grip appears improved but no better than the P6000’s when new. Dry grip is also similar but the T001’s tend to push more when cornering inducing understeer. It’s too early to tell regarding wear rates.
The main issue with the T001 is noise, they create a loud rhythmic drone rather than a general “roar” of other tyers, which tends to get lost in the background noise of driving. The drone is much more invasive and annoying, especially at motorway speeds. I’ll be trying something else next time.
tyre reviewed on November 21, 2013   
Given 58% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5 1.9 TDi (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
These tyres are absolute and utter rubbish. Overrated waste of money.
Had a pair fitted on the front thru blackcircles and they only lasted 12k.
I had a pair of p6000 before and done about 45 000 miles on them!!!
Do the maths.
tyre reviewed on September 24, 2013   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Camry (205-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
Compared with previous tyres Michelin MVX8 Energy, Bridgestone RE92 and ER30, the T001 is excellent. Low rolling resistance and the most quiet and comfortable among my previous tires. The T001 was not very progressive at the beginning but after the tyre has settled in, I find it to be good. I do not expect the tyre to last as long as the Michelin but should have a reasonable amount of km with it. Wet and Dry grips are excellent and I feel really reassured when driving in water logged roads. Will definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on September 8, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320 d (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on August 26, 2013   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk4 1.9 GTTDi (195-75-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
After using these tires for 16 months 20k miles (Daily) on my MK4 VW GTTDI Golf im very impressed! I drive quite hard a lot of the time in dry/wet weather and have they never failed me unlike the previous Toyo T1R's which were rubbish.
The dry grip is astounding and you'll hardly notice the difference (if at all) when its wet and for around £110 for a pair fitted that's great value for money. I'm reviewing because i have just bought them again and as long as they make them my golf will always have them.
I also should mention i use the Bridgestone ER30's on the rear and they seem to be a excellent combo slightly less grippy which is good and very hard wearing mine have done 18K and still have 4-5MM tread after 14 months.
tyre reviewed on August 17, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with Asda Tyres to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!