tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Firestone Firehawk SZ90


Show all: Firestone tyres, Passenger Car Summer High Performance tyres
The Firestone Firehawk SZ90 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 7 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 38,010 miles driven.
 


Firestone Firehawk SZ90
Dry Grip
76%

Wet Grip
60%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
81%

Wear
70%

Comfort
66%

Buy again
50%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £50.42 - £68.30 (15 prices)
225/45 R17 £61.90 - £166.88 (30 prices)
225/40 R18 £76.48 - £101.60 (11 prices)
235/35 R19 £107.84 - £153.00 (5 prices)
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Firestone Firehawk SZ90 Reviews

Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Audi TT (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Reading the reviews I'm must admit the Firestones are not a tyre I would chose for the TT. Normally I stick with Dunlops Sport Maxx RT's or Goodyear Eff Grips.
But on a recent trip to Scotland after suffering a blow out I ended up at a local tyre depot, who unfortunately couldn't get the Dunlop replacement for a couple of days. In desperation I fitted the only two tyres he had in stock in my size and these were the Firestone Firehawk SZ90's. I replaced two tyres because the other Dunlop was approaching 3mm of trad left.
The surprise is I find these Firestones quite good. They don't suffer in the wet ie aquaplaning, dry grip is good and they are wearing well. I cover motorways, dual carriageways and a lot of cross country routes and when conditions permit quite spiritedly so they come in for all sorts of use. I tend to replace my tyres every 11-15 weeks depending on make and at present these Firestones are holding up well. The best bit is the cost £68 each all in as against £94 eack all in for the Dunlops.

I appreciate that the Mini Cooper S driver didn't rate them at all, but then having driven a Cooper S quite aggressively they can be tyre dependent.
tyre reviewed on July 20, 2014   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a MINI Cooper S (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
drive a mini cooper s and these tyres are sh*t. Especially in the wet i will be cursing at 56 on the a2 with roughly 5mm of tread on each tyre and the aquaplaning is shocking!! Horrible tyres! I would recommend the old maxxis i had i cant wait until they wear out so i can buy some maxxis ma-z1's or even better some Yokohama s drive
tyre reviewed on July 16, 2014   
Looking to buy the Firestone Firehawk SZ90? Click here to search for the best price for the Firestone Firehawk SZ90 or any other tyre.
 
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
these are not that good...had them for about 15000km...gone...dry perfomance is ok, everything else average or below average
tyre reviewed on January 23, 2014   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 Classic Sedan (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on July 5, 2013   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi CDTi 1.9 150 (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
never had a set of firestoner up till last novmber i got told not to buy them as they would not last long as i drive hard. but they have out lasted the dunlop i had wot lasted 6000 miles.
tyre reviewed on January 30, 2012   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus C Max (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
First, I want to remark that my drive is not on the sporty side, but I go careful, and fast only in strong confidence with traffic and road conditions.
These tyres were excellent (again, for MY driving), in wet & dry, stable on braking and well progressive. Just a bit noisier than comfortable on not smooth surfaces. After 10000km they still looked quite brand new.
Now, after 35000km, they are more worn out than my last Pirelli that lasted for 60000km! Probably their softness is their advantage and issue at the same time, so I am not going to buy again the same because I don't like changing tyres every 2 years when I am not a runner!

tyre reviewed on July 18, 2011   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (185-65-14-N)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
I bought a Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia with a full set of these tyres on. I was told they had about 10,000 miles on them, which i found hard to believe as they still looked brand new.
I have now driven a further 6,000 "spirited" miles on these tyres since i bought the car, mainly on a selection of my favourite country roads as well as a little town and motorway use going to work and back, and i have to say they are proving the most hard wearing tyres i have ever come accross. They simply refuse to wear down, and its not from a lack of trying.
They dont have very good dry or wet grip, but are perfectly fine for every day driving, not in any way dangerous. Its only when you start increasing the cornering speeds on a fantastic bit of country road that you realise the total lack of ultimate grip.
They are incredibly progressive though, i think largely down to the lack of ultimate grip, which makes them a much more entertaining tyre to have on your car than you would expect, its a bit of a challange making quick progress without overwhelming the tyres.
There is hardly any need to change your driving speed and style any more than you normaly would for wet roads because the grip is poor in the dry there is very little difference when the road gets wet.
These tyres deal with standing water very well, possibly due to how narrow they are on my car, but good all the same.
They make a lot of road noise at motorway speeds and cause a little vibration when making swift progress down the motorway (no more than 70mph + 10% obviously)and you do feel everything thats happening on the road.
In summary i would not reccomend these tyres to anyone looking for a sporty tyre who is after high levels of grip, or has a car with a substantial ammount of power. They are in no way exceptional (appart for how hard wearing they are) but just a cheap tyre that does what it says on the tin, and i imagine fine for the vast majority of people.
I enjoy my driving and intend to swap them very soon for a set of sporty summer tyres of some description, but i just thought it would be interesting to see what these were like and get a bit more wear out of them before i did. It turns out their not as laughably awful as i had feared.
tyre reviewed on May 26, 2010   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: