Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (5) 100% 100% 90% 86% 80% 90% 98% 92% 4,000
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (35) 91% 92% 88% 88% 86% 91% 93% 90% 188,130
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83% 93% 87% 115,000
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (327) 92% 89% 86% 85% 81% 88% 86% 87% 2,859,753
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (3) 77% 93% 83% 83% 87% 83% 100% 87% 28,000
Yokohama C Drive (41) 87% 83% 83% 76% 78% 88% 83% 83% 913,134
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (132) 91% 89% 83% 79% 70% 81% 79% 82% 1,575,893
Cooper Zeon CS6 (30) 86% 78% 72% 75% 86% 74% 75% 78% 289,300
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (148) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 78% 77% 2,451,023
Falken ZE912 (187) 82% 74% 75% 69% 72% 79% 73% 75% 1,976,461
Altenzo Comforter (84) 79% 60% 71% 63% 75% 80% 69% 71% 664,161
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (149) 83% 77% 76% 72% 59% 65% 64% 71% 2,204,801
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (43) 84% 77% 71% 63% 64% 78% 58% 71% 370,723
Runway Enduro 816 (4) 75% 73% 65% 70% 68% 68% 75% 70% 31,368
Nokian i3 (6) 72% 68% 82% 68% 65% 77% 57% 70% 49,500
Radar RPX800 (5) 78% 60% 65% 50% 88% 76% 56% 68% 83,500
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (49) 82% 68% 75% 66% 64% 60% 57% 67% 638,842
Pirelli PZero Rosso (99) 81% 66% 70% 68% 58% 62% 55% 66% 1,178,262
Infinity INF 049 (11) 75% 58% 64% 52% 78% 61% 54% 63% 164,525
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (44) 68% 53% 54% 55% 63% 42% 45% 54% 486,384
Infinity INF 05 (61) 56% 31% 41% 40% 61% 46% 31% 44% 334,900
Autogrip F107 (118) 57% 28% 43% 37% 59% 49% 28% 43% 881,261
BCT S800 (71) 53% 32% 41% 40% 61% 34% 27% 41% 342,406
Linglong L688 (27) 43% 25% 32% 31% 53% 35% 27% 35% 1,206,928
Fullrun HP199 (70) 46% 25% 31% 30% 54% 25% 21% 33% 439,951

Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 97% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Fitted for 60 quid per corner you just cant go wrong.

Dry grip is up there with the best of them, and in the wet they are decent, clear standing water well, and give lots of confidence on twisty country roads.

Have had these on for 3k and they still look like new, I never thought much of Falkens until now and I am pleasantly surprised.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-27 21:48:36
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 94% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 spirited miles
The best ever winter tyre. It stops car in show, on golf mkvi 2.0 tdi aquaplaning is totally avoided. On same place were I cannot go with summer tyre more than 80kmh with this tyre i can go faster when raining.

Only what i don't like is sound which produces when driving higher then 50kmh and temp is more than 4C.

But on snow... it can what neither one can.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-27 20:32:07
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 94% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
Although mostly Country motoring, have on occasion done the Motorway trip for 500miles - comfort excellent - little noise - grip exceptional - wear extremely good cross changed front to back at 18,000 and now at 30,000 they need changing all down to 2/3mm. Definitely buy again. Had car from new to 30,000 miles other similar cars had Michelin - Pirelli gives a softer ride with good wear.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-01 12:28:53
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
wow just had these fitted (prev some budget brand that came with car) I now feel like I've been nailed to the road! They're a total godsend on the doorway too. My car feels like its had a total rebuild. Awesome simply awesome.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-17 20:43:41
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Satin given 93% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Dealer oredred these especially for my car, being so new he hadn't any in stock. In the past I've used Michelin Pilot Sport 3s and Goodyear Eagle F1 AS2. These Veedesteins are up there with the best. Massive improvement over the Bridgestone Potenzas that were on before - much more comfortable, less noise, much better grip. Will definitely buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-27 20:33:59
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 88% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 average miles
I bought the car 2nd hand it had Goodyear eagle nct 5's,
which I found to perform well for my type of driving(smoothness/stealthy speed) but when a bobble was found on a front, vw quoted ?88 but I decided to take the opportunity to try and replace all 4 with something better,so used this site amongst others,and 2 tyre shops(quickfit/national)to make an informed choice.
I am delighted to report the kumho ku 31's are near silent,more comfortable over potholes and track staight on heavily grooved inside motorway lanes.
Of course, if I owned a Toyota MR2 instead of a mk 5 GT diesel golf, the tyres wouldn't suit(the sidewalls are soft).
A quick visit to ebay motors yielded 4 ku 31's fitted total price ?152.00!
Will post again when the mileage racks up.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-01 15:50:58
Writing about the Pirelli SOTTOZERO given 86% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Used on MK V Golf - brilliant tyre in the snow and wet. Tyre wear after 10k miles is good, wear is also good in warm conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-17 07:39:26
Writing about the Runway Enduro 816 given 86% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 average miles
Replaced my original equipment Continentals with Runway 926. These lasted just as long as the Continental (16,000 miles) and provided good grip.
Would recommend for sure at this price point.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-09 11:04:49
Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 given 86% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
The Dunlop M3 Winter Sport may be a winter tyre, however it is more feels "sporty" than many summer high performance tyres. This includes offerings from Bridgestone, Continetial, Goodyear and Michelin.

Even with spirited cross country driving the limit of these tyres has yet to found. They keep on gripping and conering progressively, with no suddenly breaking away. Just a slight reduction in grip when pressed hard through a corner.

They are very good in the dry and no deterioration in wet weather, including heavy rain.
When it is cold and frosty these tyres live up to their name, of Winter Sport. Sensible progress can be made during winter weather with being reckless.

These are the winter tyres recommended by Volkswagen for the Mk5 Golf. Volkswagen appear to have it right, as the M3 Winter Sport cope extremely well with the Golf's high torque and heavy weight.

The slight drawback of the purposeful directional tread pattern is that it is nosy for the initial few hundred miles, until the tyres are run in. These are stiff tyres so show up how British road surfaces may be considered to be not quiet as good as some of those in mainland Europe. However, this is a minor inconvenience for the very good feedback form these tyres.

The wear rate is very good, and after around 6000 miles have only worn through about 1.5mm of tread. This can be regarded as good for a heavy and high torque car like the Golf.

When the M3's eventually reach the replacement tread level, they will be among the replacement considerations. The other choices are to be the Dunlop 3D and Vredestein Wintrac, both of which are considered to be very good.
tyre reviewed on 2009-06-02 11:57:06
Writing about the Nokian i3 given 84% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 average miles
Great in heavy rain, wearing really well
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-02 12:00:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement