tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Michelin Primacy 3


Show all: Michelin tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Michelin Primacy 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 40 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 517,540 miles driven.
 


Michelin Primacy 3
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
85%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
82%

Wear
62%

Comfort
86%

Buy again
70%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £55.59 - £94.85 (7 prices)
225/45 R17 £76.52 - £87.38 (7 prices)
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are perfect if you drive in dry conditions every day. Handling in the wet and at lower temperatures is poor and I don't have confidence in them under these conditions. They also struggle to shift standing water out (that was when they were new).

I drive 20k per year in the UK and these tyres are unsuitable for our mainly damp, cooler climate.

Everything on this tyre has been compromised for efficiency.

Tyre is 245 45 R18
tyre reviewed on February 2, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
This is a really good all round tyre plenty of feedback through the car. I have run different tyres on this last set were Goodyear f1 although they grip well I could feel the tears moving about as though the sidewalks were flexing not a good feeling. Back to the Michelin. Although sometimes a bit more expensive you do notice the difference old saying get what you pay for.
tyre reviewed on January 19, 2015   
Looking to buy the Michelin Primacy 3? Click here to search for the best price for the Michelin Primacy 3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Galaxy (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13,000 easy going miles
Fitted to Ford Galaxy 2013 a good mix of driving conditions and type purchased to replace original fit Primacy HP which lasted 21K on the front. These so called new & improved tyre have all but worn out at 13K at £135 per tyre you would expect better wear (along with the Michelin reputation for mileage)Handing, response wet performance OK but no significant improvement over the original Primacy HP in summary a safe tyre but very poor wear on a car which has been sensibly driven would not but again due to wear will revert back to the original HP ((so much for the EU improving things!)
tyre reviewed on January 16, 2015   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra Estate (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14,000 easy going miles
Wearing down VERY fast, with gentle driving, compared to all previous tyres. Plus comes with less tread than normal to start with. Fronts need replacing very soon, after only 14K miles - versus previous gave over 40K miles. Definitely will not recommend Primacy 3 nor buy again.
tyre reviewed on December 27, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar XJ6 (225-55-16-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Put two Primacy 3 on the front, replacing a pair of 7yr old rock hard Pirelli P6000. Completely cured the borderline dangerous tramlining. Will see how they age
tyre reviewed on December 6, 2014   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 5008 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 11,000 average miles
I am on my second lot of Primacy 3 on my Peugeot 5008 and have found that I can only just get 11000 miles before completely worn out, quite sad really as the tyres cost me £180 for each tyre.
tyre reviewed on November 23, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Had these on all four wheels. The grip performance has been amazing. Tyres can be trusted to stick even in slippy conditions. Wear has also been normal. 20k miles on fronts (moved to rears at 15k miles) with 4mm left on front and 3mm left on rears. Expecting to replace each set after they've covered 25k miles, which is average. The tyres are worth it for the grip alone.
tyre reviewed on October 10, 2014   
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra Estate (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Have experienced very rapid wear - 3 times as fast as the HPs we've had before, with same drivers and driving mix. Will not buy again.
tyre reviewed on September 17, 2014   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Exeo ST (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Very good grip, direction, braking and low noise levels. Pathetic treadwear considering mature careful gentle economical driving. Low rolling resistance claimed but this is pointless if the tyre wears out at 10000 miles. Poor use of nature's resources and environment.
tyre reviewed on August 21, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 2.0 DISI (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I switched from Toyo Proxes R32 to Michelin Primacy 3. The Michelin feels slightly softer with a bit less precise steering but with improved comfort. The noise is very similar - very low. It is too soon to comment on wear. Even though the Michelin has C grade fuel consumption on EU label vs F grade for Toyo, I can see no fuel consumption improvement. The rim protector on sidewall is much smaller then it was on Toyo.
Overall I like the Primacy 3 very much. It is great for long distance travelling as it is silent and comfy with very good dry and wet grip.
tyre reviewed on July 19, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: