tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Michelin Primacy 3


Show all: Michelin tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Michelin Primacy 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 49 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 642,640 miles driven.
 


Michelin Primacy 3
Dry Grip
89%

Wet Grip
83%

Road Feedback
81%

Progressiveness
79%

Wear
65%

Comfort
83%

Buy again
68%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £51.80 - £85.54 (7 prices)
225/45 R17 £74.36 - £91.88 (7 prices)
Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo C70 D5 LUX (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
These managed 14,500 mostly motorway miles on the front of my remapped Volvo C70 D5, with occasional spirited driving on proper roads. I'd say wear rate is high for a touring tyre.

Grip and progressiveness were good, and wet weather braking in particular was excellent. I did see a consistent improvement in fuel economy over the standard fit Pirelli P7s, although the Michelins wore out substantially faster.

In summary not a bad tyre but the
tyre reviewed on August 11, 2015   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,800 spirited miles
Had a set of Pirelli Pzero Rosso before, this tyres are less noisy, they brake way better, specially in the wet. They are good overall tires, better for confort rather tan sporty driving. They got better fuel saving tan the Pirelli´s. The only things I did not like are they have no sporty feel and average sidewalls, I don´t feel confortable at high speed cornering. Next time I will go for the Michelin´s Pilot Super sport or Pirelli Pzero Nero Gt. If you are an average driver searching for confort, grip and great wet braking this are the tires for you. Excellent treadwear.
tyre reviewed on August 10, 2015   
Looking to buy the Michelin Primacy 3? Click here to search for the best price for the Michelin Primacy 3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 44% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 100 average miles
First impressions are pretty poor on the wet Scottish roads. Corner grip is questionable and ESP is constantly doing some corrective work. I haven't seen improved fuel economy - quite the opposite actually. It will be a long and painful ownership unless they magically wear in. I am yet to properly test them on the dry road, however wet performance is abysmal.
They replaced a worn Michelin PS3 at 3mm that also had pretty bad wet handling. Now I can say at 3mm they were marginally better. The wear rate was shocking so I decided to try a different tyre. We'll see if that works out.
I wish there was a better all-weather choice in that size. I'll have to get a winter set in October.
tyre reviewed on July 29, 2015   
Given 62% (breakdown) while driving a Audi 3,0 tdi quattro sport (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
On my Audi A6 3,0 TDI Quattro there was a surprising high thread noise from the start also on very smooth roads, I never got used to it and experimented a lot with pressure.
The tires also felt unforgiving and hard, something you might expect from a sport tire but not from a touring tire. They do not feel like a sports tire in other aspects like response. However grip was never a problem.
I have to drive on very coarse asphalt, it might be different on smoother road surfaces.
After 20.000 miles they are finished, down to 2 mm, which is OK.
tyre reviewed on July 6, 2015   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320d (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres in 2013 June for my BMW 320d and after 2 years and approx 30K miles they are almost completely worn out - that is a major drawback!

The tyre itself performs very well - good dry and wet grip, low noise, etc.

Overall great performance, but they very very quickly which makes them too expensive to be bought again.
tyre reviewed on June 29, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 318D (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Good tires. Much better than the continental origin Sport Contact 2 runflat. Safer especially wet. The Continental Sport Contact 2 runflat in wet conditions came to be unsafe
tyre reviewed on May 20, 2015   
Given 32% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord (205-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,200 average miles
I purchased 4 of these tyres to replace Michelin Primacy LC which had been a fantastic tyre for wear, handling and comfort and have averaged over 40000km before replacement. After seeing the advertising for the new Michelin Primacy 3ST I decided to replace the old tyres with the new type.
This was a mammoth mistake as the new tyres tram-lined, were very spongy to drive on and the road noise was extreme especially on coarse bitumen roads.
They also thumped and banged severely on bumps and altering the tyre pressures up or down did not make any difference.Two weeks was enough and I replaced them another set of Primacy LC's.
The transition was bliss. Could not recommend Primacy 3ST at any price.
tyre reviewed on April 17, 2015   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 318d (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50,000 spirited miles
Changed from the OE Bridgestones and what transformation. I mainly do motorway miles but the OE tyres only lasted 21000 miles on the front and 37000 on the back. The Michelin were up to 70000 and all had at least 4mm left on them. The ride was improved and the feedback superb. On top of that I also got a fuel card of Michelin as an incentive at the time
tyre reviewed on April 3, 2015   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Suberb MkII (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
One of the very best tires I have ever driven. Braking, lateral support, wet grip, dry grip, everything is near perfect. Only slight complain for road feedback.
tyre reviewed on April 1, 2015   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are perfect if you drive in dry conditions every day. Handling in the wet and at lower temperatures is poor and I don't have confidence in them under these conditions. They also struggle to shift standing water out (that was when they were new).

I drive 20k per year in the UK and these tyres are unsuitable for our mainly damp, cooler climate.

Everything on this tyre has been compromised for efficiency.

Tyre is 245 45 R18
tyre reviewed on February 2, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: