tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Michelin Primacy 3


Show all: Michelin tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Michelin Primacy 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 434,440 miles driven.
 


Michelin Primacy 3
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
87%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
82%

Wear
64%

Comfort
88%

Buy again
74%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £60.86 - £193.12 (7 prices)
225/45 R17 £90.10 - £179.58 (7 prices)
Available in 31 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra Estate (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Have experienced very rapid wear - 3 times as fast as the HPs we've had before, with same drivers and driving mix. Will not buy again.
tyre reviewed on September 17, 2014   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Exeo ST (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Very good grip, direction, braking and low noise levels. Pathetic treadwear considering mature careful gentle economical driving. Low rolling resistance claimed but this is pointless if the tyre wears out at 10000 miles. Poor use of nature's resources and environment.
tyre reviewed on August 21, 2014   
Looking to buy the Michelin Primacy 3? Click here to search for the best price for the Michelin Primacy 3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 2.0 DISI (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I switched from Toyo Proxes R32 to Michelin Primacy 3. The Michelin feels slightly softer with a bit less precise steering but with improved comfort. The noise is very similar - very low. It is too soon to comment on wear. Even though the Michelin has C grade fuel consumption on EU label vs F grade for Toyo, I can see no fuel consumption improvement. The rim protector on sidewall is much smaller then it was on Toyo.
Overall I like the Primacy 3 very much. It is great for long distance travelling as it is silent and comfy with very good dry and wet grip.
tyre reviewed on July 19, 2014   
Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a BMW E39 5 series (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I had several E39s over the years and the only tyre coming close to or being equal to the Michelin Primacy 3 ST - yes ST as new development made for Pacific region by Michelin - is the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 as 17" model. They are unbelievable re noise level, grip like a high performance tyre but cost less. Impressive around bends in the wet even when accelerating hard. Transformed the car completely and as I have driven Michelin Pilot Sport 3 on same E39 type before I can say they are the same but the Primacy are cheaper. Cannot comment on wear at all though.
tyre reviewed on July 8, 2014   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very soft tyre and good grip on dry and wet condition. So far very big diferent on better way between michelin HP and michelin primacy 3.Primacy its much more comfort tyre then HP
tyre reviewed on June 23, 2014   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn (225-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I don't drive fast but have had no problems with wet and dry grip. It only slips pulling away on hills. The car generally gives little feedback from the road so I can't really comment on the feedback. The loudest noise in the car (apart from the radio) is the tyres so they could be quieter but they are not obtrusive.

The problem I have is the mileage. 12,000 miles is just not enough, making them very expensive.
tyre reviewed on May 2, 2014   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Superb tyres! Better then Dunlop SportMaxx RT.
tyre reviewed on March 14, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (215-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
I am very happy with them. Better then the Advan dB 215/50/17 I took off, very quiet on the motorway, better wet/ dry handling and better comfort. I can't comment on longevity as I've only covered around 4k miles, but so far so good! Sure I will be buying again and recommend them to my friend. Thumbs up to Michelin.
tyre reviewed on March 10, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 17, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 28,000 spirited miles
I'm not sure if I am reviewing the same tyres as some others given the comments re wearing. I have for years used Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres and found these to be pretty good. I changed to Primacy 3's last time for a bit of a change. I do around 40,000 miles per annum - 90% motorway driving. I've had 28,000 miles of the front two - which now need changed. The rears, which were fitted at the same time still have about 2.5mm tread left to the legal.... so a few more miles yet. I've been very happy with these overall and think the wear has been great...
tyre reviewed on January 14, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: