Michelin Primacy 3

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 82%
Progressiveness 78%
Wear 67%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 71%
Michelin Primacy 3

The Michelin Primacy 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy HP

Show all

Tyre review data from 62 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 822,790 miles driven.

Reports

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R16 92V   C A 69  
225/50 R16 92W   C A 69  
195/55 R16 87H   E A 71  
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91H   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91H   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93H   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93W   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97V XL   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 69  
225/55 R16 95V   C A 69  
225/55 R16 99V XL          
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R16 95W   C A 69  
205/60 R16 96W XL   C A 69  
205/60 R16 92V   C A 69  
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 69  
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 69  
215/60 R16 95V   C A 69  
225/60 R16 102V XL   C A 69  
225/60 R16 98W   C A 69  
215/65 R16 98V          
215/65 R16 102V XL          
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 84W   E A 71  
205/45 R17 84V   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87W   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   C A 69  
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69  
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69  
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69  
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 71  
235/45 R17 94W   C A 71  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 71  
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 89W   C A 69  
205/50 R17 89V   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93H XL   B B 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 89Y   C A 69  
215/50 R17 91W   C A 69  
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 69  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 94W          
225/50 R17 94H   C A 71  
225/50 R17 94W   C A 69  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 69  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 94V   C A 69  
225/50 R17 94W   C A 69  
225/50 R17 94W   B A 69  
225/50 R17 94W   C A 71  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 69  
235/50 R17 96W   C A 71  
205/55 R17 91W   C A 71  
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 69  
205/55 R17 91W   B A 69  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
215/55 R17 94V   C A 69  
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69  
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71  
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69  
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R17 97W   C B 69  
225/55 R17 97Y   C B 69  
225/55 R17 97W   C A 71  
225/55 R17 97Y   B A 68  
225/55 R17 97W   C A 69  
235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 69  
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71  
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71  
245/55 R17 102W   B A 71  
245/55 R17 102W   B A 71  
215/60 R17 96V   C A 69  
215/60 R17 96V   C A 69  
215/60 R17 96H   C A 69  
225/60 R17 99Y   B A 69  
225/60 R17 99V   C A 69  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL          
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 71  
275/40 R18 99Y   C A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   C A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   C A 71  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
235/45 R18 98W XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 96W   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL          
245/45 R18 100W XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71  
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 71  
225/50 R18 95V   C A 69  
235/50 R18 101W XL   C A 69  
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 69  
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 71  
245/50 R18 100W   C A 71  
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 71  
215/55 R18 99V XL   B A 69  
225/55 R18 98V   C A 69  
275/40 R19 101Y   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   E A 71  
245/45 R19 98Y   C A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R19 98Y   E A 71  
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Primacy 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £51.60 - £102.32 (43 prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £82.27 - £104.56 (51 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £73.23 - £116.82 (40 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £95.81 - £165.00 (78 prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £79.06 - £100.31 (20 prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £120.26 - £231.05 (27 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Galaxy (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Front tyres lasted 20,000 miles - excellent grip wet or dry but fairly noisy.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2016   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320d (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2016   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Bought the tyres in jan 2014 with 64 100km now jan 2016 88 100km
with 2 mm left.the primacy 3 are on front only for dry and turanza GR90
On rear for wet.the 159 like sporty fiat cars namely ferrari maserati etc have
sensitive steering wheel so you can feel white road
marking etc when driving.i wanted tyres which would absorb more and
transfer less to my steering hands.the primacy 3 XL have very flexible side
walls which absorb more compared to other tyres.which makes driving
less tiring.the turanza GR90 has stiff side wall like driving on rails.so i know the
difference well.only problem with the primacy 3 xl is the price/treadwear
i covered 20 000km and only 2mm left.but i looked around for bridgestone/vredestein
goodyear etc non of the other give the primacy 3 comfort unfortunately i will
try to make the 2mm last till december.lol
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2016   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (235/50 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Recommended from Volvo and Formula One Tyre garage I gave these tyres a chance last year to take out some of the "lowered suspension" hard ride this SE Sport S80 has had since manufacture.
Yes a new tyre is always better than the last one, but these tyres were a fraction bigger than the prescribed 245 40 18s that were specified and with 35psi I had the ride I was expecting, very quiet and comfortable too.

However, they met rain conditions with relative ease when new, but after 15k and half worn didn't meet the same conditions without aqua planing. Maybe this Dec and Jan have been the wettest on record and therefore any tyre would have suffered?

Yes for summer rainy conditions.
No because even Michelin say these are not winter tyres.
Will go back to an All Season Goodyear or Avon tyre for grip and £30 per corner saving.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2016   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V40 D4 R-Design Polestar (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Decent overall grip when pushing hard in all conditions and it let you know early when you were reaching the limit, quiet and comfortable for the most part. Only downside is that they were at 2mm by 8,000 miles. Could be the car /driving style though. Rears are on 4mm at 8,000 miles too.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2016   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5.5 130 TDI Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
I have always used Michelin tyres (if I could afford them) my tyre of choice has always been the Michelin Primacy HP as the wear rate and wet grip on these is always fantastic. I was a bit sceptical when I replaced worn tyres with these Primacy 3's but my goodness I have never seen a better tyre in the wet. The wetter it gets, the more these tyres cling to the road. You can push the car with confidence (especially if your suspension and brakes are in good shape)...dry grip not as good, the wear rate was disappointing in comparison to the HP's, I have had to move these to the back to prolong their life. Fully recommend them still though.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2015   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (215/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 17,000 spirited miles
Fitted to the front at 81385 miles, laser alignment completed at the same time + new front shocks, springs, top mounts & bearings fitted. They have lasted to 98885 miles and still are just over the treadwear indicator. Amazing tyres. Incredible grip in the wet and dry; 100% confidence in them always. Slight slip now with full acceleration in the wet; but they are almost fully worn! Incredible comfort and quietness, and great durability on the front of a car which has 354NM of torque. I have always run top rated premium tyres from all the biggest brands. These are the best tyres I have ever had; second to none. Very highly recommended and great value too.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Chevrolet Orlando (215/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
Second set in a row I have purchased on the front of my Front wheel drive 7 seater. I again bought the XL tyres as they ride speed ramps a lot smoother and of coarse the added safety of being Reinforced and were a similar price to the non XL version .Very responsive but you would expect from new tyres ,but a very comfortable tyre all round and with a good wet rating. I got around a years driving on the front set which is about 14,000 miles after changing before they were down to the minimum with possibly around 3 times that distance on the rear set . My rear tyres are still running the original Mich Prim HP's it came with , the car is 4 years old and done 42000 odd miles.I purchased online cheaper with an online tyre seller who sends them to a local fitters for fitting. I found there was a good quality to price to safety ratio so bought again.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2015   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2015   
Advertisement