Nokian WR D4

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 80%
Wear 65%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 73%
Snow Grip 97%
Ice Grip 70%

The Nokian WR D4 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Nokian WR D3

Show All

Tyre review data from 53 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 409,443 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 ACE All Season and Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 12 tyres

2018 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 9th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Best tyre for snow covered roads, good price / performance ratio with low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average wet performance.

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 4th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet and on ice
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the snow
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/60 R16 86H XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94H XL   C A 69  
225/40 R18 92V XL          

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WR D4

2018-04-30 - I have 2017 My WR D4 (195/55/16) winter tires on my Honda CR Z sports model. Can I keep on using them for the summer season at the average temperature of btw 25-35 Celcius? What is the max temperature?

There is no maximum temperature for the WR D4, they are heat tested like all other tyres. That said, the compound will be much less effective at warmer temperatures, especially in the wet so it is not advised to use them in the summer months.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £42.40 - £56.50 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £62.10 - £77.00 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £96.20 - £108.30 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £93.00 - £108.40 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £100.40 - £130.90 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Nokian WR D4 Review

Given 66% while driving a SEAT Leon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
As for grip, fantastic tyres, I am however disappointed with the wear. I use winter tyres all year round and I have found these tyres are starting to break down around the edges of the tread. The sipes are delaminating and falling off in chunks around the edges of my front wheels.
They are fuel efficient and quiet, but the wear is terrible. Wouldn't buy them again Because of wear.
179 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2016   

Latest Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Nokian WR D4 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the WR D4.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 87% while driving a CitroŽn C5 (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
If you use that tyre with correct pressure, you can not complain about any other items and no need to look for any other tyres for winter. I had lost first 4mm after 9000 km by 32 psi. Then i increased the pressure to 35 psi and lost other 3 mm after 14.000 km. For wet, dry and snow i cannot offer any other tyre since i had almost used 12 different tyres in winters and covered more than 200k km. for ice, performance is a little bit behind of UG and Alpin.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
these tyres are brilliant for winter conditions and cold rain conditions i have them on my 2015 renault clio iv 1.5 dci i have put around 15.000 kilometers in snow and rain and dry conditions in 2 years the wear is fairly good they have about 70-60 % treadlife still on them .the only think that i dont like but i guess its the same in the winter tires is the noise they make and especially when braking . last but not least they are very very good in pooring rain, just 2 days ago i made 650 kms in 1 day in pooring rain almost all day they eat through the water like nothing they grip the road and make you feel safe.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Dry: Very good steering response and grip

Wet: Easy to oversteer with a FWD car, you can break the tyres loose with a hard pull on the steering wheel and allow you to drift through corners nicely. In short, the wet grip is not very good, a lot of wheel spin when accelerating fast, and the tyres can start slipping in corners quickly without warning but you can keep steering, no understeer.

Snow: Very good in snow, but much better in deep snow than on thin layers of snow or frozen snow.

Comfort: Pretty pleasant ride, dampens vibrations well but they're a little too noisy at any speed (mostly when wet)

Wear rate: Pretty bad, probably due to the very soft compound and aggressive pattern.

Conclusion: Very fun tyres to drive, but not the safest in the wet.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2019   
Audi (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
The tires i bought, NOKIAN WRD 4, for winter have excelent adhesion on snow, when i drive i can move the car easily without forcing it. I can barelly hear the tires noise on the steet and i am really pleased of.Their adhesion give me confidence an safety on the road.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Opel insignia (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
The tyres work perfectly in 30cm snow,on ice and i rain.They are free of sound I recommend them
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2018   

See all 49 customer reviews of the Nokian WR D4 (newest first) >>