Nokian WR D4

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 80%
Wear 65%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 72%

The Nokian WR D4 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Nokian WR D3

Show All

Tyre review data from 50 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 359,443 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 51 Winter Tyre Shootout - 14th of 52 tyres

2018 AMS Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Best performance on snow, good balance in the dry, lowest rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average in the wet, a bit noisy.
  • Overall - Highly recommended.

2018 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest rolling resistance, excellent dry handling, good snow braking.
  • Negative - Poor wet grip.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/60 R16 86H XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94H XL   C A 69  
225/40 R18 92V XL          

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WR D4

2018-04-30 - I have 2017 My WR D4 (195/55/16) winter tires on my Honda CR Z sports model. Can I keep on using them for the summer season at the average temperature of btw 25-35 Celcius? What is the max temperature?

There is no maximum temperature for the WR D4, they are heat tested like all other tyres. That said, the compound will be much less effective at warmer temperatures, especially in the wet so it is not advised to use them in the summer months.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £44.90 - £59.90 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £63.60 - £82.00 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £97.00 - £124.20 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £98.60 - £108.10 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/60 R16 £96.00 - £99.20 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Nokian WR D4 Review

Given 66% while driving a SEAT Leon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
As for grip, fantastic tyres, I am however disappointed with the wear. I use winter tyres all year round and I have found these tyres are starting to break down around the edges of the tread. The sipes are delaminating and falling off in chunks around the edges of my front wheels.
They are fuel efficient and quiet, but the wear is terrible. Wouldn't buy them again Because of wear.
174 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2016   

Latest Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Nokian WR D4 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the WR D4.

Review Your Tyres >>

Audi (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
The tires i bought, NOKIAN WRD 4, for winter have excelent adhesion on snow, when i drive i can move the car easily without forcing it. I can barelly hear the tires noise on the steet and i am really pleased of.Their adhesion give me confidence an safety on the road.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Opel insignia (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
The tyres work perfectly in 30cm snow,on ice and i rain.They are free of sound I recommend them
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 56% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
Very good on snow and ice. Not so good on wet and dry roads. Poor feedback. Main issue was wear: after 2 winters all the side treads (outside and inside) are almost completely shredded. Otherwise the central tread is still very good. They are quite literally falling apart. I cannot recommend them.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Excellent snow and ice grip. Surprisingly good dry and wet handling for a winter tyre. Just a note: it sounds like the other reviewers are incorrectly using these all year, or just not bothering to rotate their tyres. I’ve used these for 12,000 miles of winter only use, and they still easily have 6-7mm remaining.
18 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 170 Quattro (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I bought these tyres when they appeared in 2015, and drove them every winter since on my Audi A4. Their performance in snow is outstanding, on wet surface is pretty good as well, but on dry, if you force the car, they won't be so "happy". They aren't noisy and the fuel consumption is normal. The only weak points are the stability at high speeds - the car starts to womble even if the tyres had the right pressure in them - and the wear, which i find kind of unexpectedly weak. In the first winter, they lost 3 mm. I sold them this year at nearly 4mm, but their performance this winter wasn't the same like it was the first two ones. I would definitely buy them again for their performances and good price/quality ratio, but i recommend, however, to pe put on a lighter and less powerfull car, where i think they can last more than 3 winter seasons.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2018   

See all 46 customer reviews of the Nokian WR D4 (newest first) >>