Nokian zLine

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 93%
Progressiveness 90%
Wear 81%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 91%
Nokian zLine

The Nokian zLine is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nokian Z G2

Show all

Tyre review data from 54 tyre reviews averaging 91% over 329,360 miles driven.

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nokian zLine
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nokian zLine. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
215/50 R17 £83.00 - £98.00 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £69.93 - £75.30 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.03 - £74.00 (8 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R16 £73.00 - £86.90 (7 prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £89.86 - £105.00 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £100.21 - £144.90 (11 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

Nokian zLine Reviews

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Zafira A OPC (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 47 spirited miles
That's my second set Z-line tyres. Amazing results !
With the first set I turned 75 000 (!) kms. in 3 years (half spring , full summer and full autumn).
I had not any problems - our roads in Bulgaria are disgusting (holes,
totally uneven road surfaces and so on) - they were just briliant :-) With my Opel Zafira OPC drove on a track day in Germany , the legendary Nurburgring/Nordschleife race track and I was fully amazed how they worked after many tours out there !


Еxtremely recommended !!!
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2016   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 320 (245/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 13 average miles
Great dry grip and decent wet grip, but wear v. poor. I drive quickly-ish on good straight roads (mainly motorways) but I'll be lucky to see 13,000 miles out of a set of rears put on in Feb. last year.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2016   
Driving a Subaru (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
20000kms with a subaru outback
Need to say that tyres had losen pressure and my wife didn´t notice, so they tore faster
Much better the primacy3 that were mounted on the rear.
Good performance sinking on water but not as good as expected cornering on wet road.
Nothing to do out of asphalt (not expected)
Now we are going to the nexen su4
to be continued...
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2016   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a BMW E38 7 Series (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
I was really excited about these as I've had the Nokian Hakka's which make you feel like a king in Winter blowing my SUV's like they're standing still in aweful conditions. However, six pounds per tire heavier in my size for my BMW means an additional 25% tire weight per corner vs the Michelins I'm considering. The reviewer that said his car felt like it lost 20HP raised a red flag and compelled me to check the specifications on the Nokian website. My BMW won't be getting these any time soon. More weight means slower steering response, worse acceleration, ride, handling, braking, fuel mileage etc. I've been down this road before. Unsprung weight is an item you really want to work to minimize and I have with 20 pound 18" wheels. Disappointed but thank you reviewers. Check the specs in your size on the Nokian website, it didn't appear that all sizes were over weight, but mine was.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2016   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp) (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
A4 TFSI 210bhp chipped to 260
Had conti 3s 5s 5p, Mich PS3, P Zeros.

These are by far the best Tyre I have had and I am very hard on tyres......defo by again the car is as solid as a rock unless you floor it on frozen roads an then well what tyre would not loose a bot of grip......For the price these tyres are fantastic no other word for them. Had to order on line but got for less than 100 a tyre.......you will not be disapointed although I can only comment against the Audi A4 setup.....all that remains is enjoy lol....
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2016   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
An excellent tyre all round, I have subjected this tyre to all different surfaces and different weather conditions. the tyre has never let me down or behaved un-safely.Been trying to convince my buddies to try them out and see for themselves. But no takers so far, they hear the name and immediately switch off. They do not know what they are missing or how much they could be saving £££'s. Go on give them a goooo! you will not be disappointed .
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2016   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E250 CDI (245/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 35,000 average miles
I've bought these tyres when I had on the clock 17500 and now I have 55000 and still 4 mm ! That's brilliant ! I will definetley buy again ...
What I didn't liked is that the tyres are a little bit soft on the sides so when you turn your weels you feel like you lost your pressure I the tyres
Apart of these are the best tyres I ever had !
Thanks Nokian
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2016   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330d (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
The good!
I loved these tires at first, they changed the whole car around. I never dropped any speed for any corner, they provided the best grip I ever had in a car, you just stop worrying about losing it. You don't actually notice when it rains, the grip is exactly the same as dry. I didn't believe it is even possible, but they really are perfect in the wet. One issue though is when I'm starting hard in 1st gear, or even 2nd both dry and wet the rear end looses grip, might be due to little weight in the back drive wheels, but it's still there. Happens sometimes in 3rd gear as well, but only when it is wet. Might just be the car really but I thought it is worth mentioning. Very, very safe tires for a daily driver.

THE BAD!

The tire wear, it's just... horrendous. I knew they wouldn't last 100000km, but still. I try to never spin my tires(only happens in the wet, very, very rarely), no burnouts no abuse just normal spirited driving. After mounting them 5 months ago brand new they had 8mm of thread, I drove for some 10000km(6000 miles) since then and they are down to 5mm. The rears were wearing out even faster, I had to rotate them after 5000km already because the rears were down to 6mm in that time.

If nothing changes I will have another 15000km until the thread gets to 2mm and they will become illegal and unsafe where I live. This is just unacceptable, 25000km-30000km(around 15000miles) if I'm lucky from brand new tires.

Conclusion

Honestly decide for yourself, they handle perfectly at any speed (max I did was 250km/h) and any conditions. However the wear is simply unacceptable, and this is from a small car with not a lot of power.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2015   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Ford S Max (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
Firstly, many thanks to this website and previous reviewers comments for helping me choose these tyres. My choice was also influenced by a very favourable experience with Nokian WR A3 winter tyres, which will shortly be going back on my car as the winter weather arrives.

The original tyres on my 2014 S Max 2.0 tdci 140bhp were Michelin Primacy 3's in 225/50 17" 98 load.

The Michelins were a good all round tyre but were € 136 each to replace. The Nokian Z Lines were €87. Quite a difference if you need four.

First impressioms are that the tyres look great with deep sipes and look more squat on the rim. Initially the tyres were noisier than I expected, but they need a couple of hundred kilometres to bed in. Also tyre pressures are critical as if you have the tyres slightly over aired, you do notice the ride is firmer. That aside, these tyres offer sharp turn in and good directional ability.

Driving in a variety of autumnal conditions in wet conditions these tyres are very reluctant to break away. Grip is excellent and certainly a match for the Michelins when they were new. Also the Nokians demonstrate great resistance to aquaplaning. This was the main reason I changed the Primacys early as the S Max would lose contact with the road in motorway situations with heavy rain.

In dry conditions the Nokians have made the S Max feel more agile and inspire great confidence. On the motorway they are very quiet and the car tracks like an arrow.

In conclusion this is a fine tyre which you will not regret buying.

Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Best tyres i have ever bought. This is the second set of tyres on my Porsche from Nokian and i can fault them at all. Grip and wear even at highe speeds and cornering - excellent!!
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2015   
Advertisement