BMW 520D M Sport Touring Tyres

Drive a BMW 520D M Sport Touring? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 520D M Sport Touring
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (20) 86% 81% 83% 82% 84% 89% 83% 85% 80,110
Avon ZZ5 (82) 89% 83% 83% 85% 70% 82% 78% 81% 530,567
Winrun R330 (13) 83% 73% 72% 77% 84% 88% 73% 78% 352,500
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73% 70% 74% 544,521
Jinyu YU61 (43) 82% 68% 71% 64% 76% 78% 75% 73% 291,400
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852

BMW 520D M Sport Touring Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 given 97% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
I bought a second hand BMW 520D automatic 185ps and wanted to put a nice set of 20" wheels...but didn't want to swap it for the standerd wheels in winter...I didn't want to change the great looks in winter...So I started reading and searching the internet for a performance wintertyre I could use summer AND winter. I was aware that a lot of wintertyres are horrible noise makers...so I searched for a profile that I know that would be silent. After my search...I bumped into these Hankook W320 tyres...and finally bought them and fitted them on my nice new AXE EX30 wheels. These tyres needs a bit running in for about 500 km...but once that passed...WAWWW !!! Hankook did here an excellent job with these new W320 wintertyres. I have them now for exact one year and drove 30.000 km with them. The wear is excellent and now changed them front to rear...still plenty of mm's left. These tyres are also very quiet and almost as good as summertyres. Also the handling in summer is really very good even when it's very hot...and in winter-wet conditions excellent. Heavy snow we didn't have last year but in those winter condition I also felt very secure with my RWD car. I know for one thing...I recommand these tyres VERY MUCH...do not hesitate...and are in my opinion as good (or better) than some all season tyres that are being sold...for much higher price...What is also a very good point on these Hankook...very good in pricing, even for big tyres like my 255/35R20.
So in case you didn't get it....BUY THEM !!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-10 23:27:29
Writing about the Winrun R330 given 95% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
When first I bought my car a few months ago, I was very disappointed with the ride and feedback from the whole car, heavy steering/unresponsive, heavy gear change and clutch, like driving a tractor after an Audi A6. Being 'Runflats' they were extremely hard and due to ware gave little or confidence. With the change of rubber and after 1500 miles running in, its transformed the feedback from the tyres and suspension. Steering is slightly lighter, now to work on the indents on the gearbox and maybe a new clutch. Then it will be a nice car to drive. Pete the auto engineer.

tyre reviewed on 2016-01-03 18:05:46
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 61% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
A good all rounder grip wise, but really noisy at speed and under braking. Noise aside they a quality lost-lasting tyre. Trying a set of Cooper CS-Sport next.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-20 00:08:01
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo given 50% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5500 spirited miles
Having seen good reports on the Hankooks I managed to source some run flats to replace the disappointing Michelins on the rear axle. The Hankooks are impressively quiet, as comfy as the Michelins and appear to grip as well in a straight line. In snow they were an absolute revelation!
Unfortunately they have made the car really, really nervous, feeling twitchy and positively unsafe on the motorway. I've played around with pressures, which has got rid of the odd "slip then grip" sensation when faced with even the slightest steering movement, but find the stability system cutting in almost every day at very moderate speeds on constant radius curves like motorway slip roads. Overall, I love the silence, and the fact that I am getting more MPG, although that is because I am having to drive more slowly. Cannot recommend these tyres, and can't wait to get rid of them. They have effectively ruined what was a very decent drive, and my wife flatly refuses to drive the car now- it really is that bad.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-01 15:06:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 37% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
When buying from previous owner 3 of 4 tyres needed changing due to the sidewalls collapsing and bulging. I put this down to potholes and spirited driving from the previous owner. I wrongly assumed that BMW supply cars with these tyres because they're good quality and work well on the car!

In my experience ( a few very long motorway journeys and many short ones on country roads) they wear well, but are prone to damage. 1 x Side wall rupture and 2 x side walls bulging on tyres with at least a year's life left in them. So an expensive tyre becomes even more expensive. I've had no punctures though.

The driving experience is abysmal. Driving on new tyres is scary. Once bedded in, the tyres are noisy, harsh, crashy, and tramline in the dry. In the wet there is very little grip. Feedback is poor, going from grip to slide and grip again in an instant. In a big heavy car, this seriously sucks away your confidence when turning into a corner, especially in the wet.

With my latest two tyre replacement, I'm switching to Continental SSRs. Roughly the same price. Hopefully better performance.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-22 11:12:40
Writing about the Jinyu YU61 given 24% (275-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Bought the car with these tires on. I can safely say these are the worst tyres I have had the displeasure of driving. The 5 series is a big car but to lose the front of the car on roundabouts with your family in is not funny. We don't drive the car hard and with these tires even less. I will be swapping them as soon as possible. Very poor performance and boarder line lethal in the wet. Would not recommend for anyone with a big car.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-30 14:35:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement