Daihatsu Sirion Tyres

Drive a Daihatsu Sirion? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Daihatsu Sirion
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (29) 86% 84% 83% 85% 79% 79% 87% 83% 145,273
Radar Rivera Pro 2 (4) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 73% 90% 81% 121,000
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (50) 84% 72% 79% 76% 92% 82% 81% 81% 1,320,183
Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact (11) 86% 72% 79% 81% 80% 84% 70% 79% 90,200
Michelin Energy XM2 (34) 79% 74% 75% 72% 85% 71% 68% 75% 663,325
Linglong Green Max (33) 79% 73% 69% 72% 70% 77% 78% 74% 263,652
Avon ZT5 (29) 81% 67% 73% 65% 73% 74% 60% 70% 342,422
Starmaxx Tolero ST330 (2) 50% 30% 60% 60% 65% 75% 20% 51% 5,100
Infinity INF 030 (7) 59% 36% 47% 50% 57% 44% 33% 47% 49,252

Daihatsu Sirion Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact given 100% (175-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly motorways for 720 spirited miles
This tyre is for a compact car, which mine is - the clue is in the name of the tyre. And I am happy to say this is the nicest tyre I have had on this car - and I have owned this car for many years. I drive 15,000 miles a year and like to get going - know what I mean. The car is a Daihatsu Sirion 1.5sx, and it is quick. Big engine in small/light-weight car. I am 61 years of age by the way. The car is over-maintained and the suspension and running gear is kept in top condition. Owning my car is a hobby.

Anyway.

Pirellis came off and the car has come alive. No more lack of direction and wandering around - the car holds a line. Even under heavy braking it is arrow straight. Blissful.

As for grip all I can say is they do feel like a softer compound and unlike my Pirellis they don't let go when pulling away from a stop in the wet. The car in question may be small but with a very torquey 1.5l engine it will pop a wheelie in the wet without even trying. So on that basis they grip well in the wet.

I recently removed a front wheel for some work and the wheel/tyre assembly was definitely not as heavy as the Pirelli unit before. I have read these tyres are lighter and they really do feel lighter. This good for suspension response - un-sprung wieght.

Dry grip is as I would expect - excellent. Once again with the Pirellis it was all felt a bit doubtful, but with these tyres it all holds together. With the Pirellis I always felt the car was going to let go when in a sweeping curve or bend - it never did but it just "felt" awkward. That sensation has gone away with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact tyre.

They are astonishingly quiet too. I could not believe the difference. That soft compound certainly has an effect on noise. The car feels much more comfortable all round.

As for wear rate I can't tell at only 700 miles. But would I care if they wore out after 25000 miles - of course I wouldn't. At £49 each fitted why would I worry, especially as I have all the other great benefits of this tyre. It is as if someone has hand made a tyre to suit my car. I look forward to having a new set.

Like shoes on your feet, car tyres all do the same job but occasionally we get a set that just seems right and become a favourite. This tyre is right for my car. No doubt. I like them a lot.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-07 11:07:45
Writing about the Linglong Green Max given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5600 average miles
Best chinese tyre I tried so far. Soft tyre not like other chinese brands.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-08 15:30:14
Writing about the Michelin Energy XM2 given 87% (185-55-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 100 average miles
Definitely worth the price. The best among all the brand.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-21 02:13:21
Writing about the Avon ZT5 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 34000 average miles
I have been well pleased with Avon ZT5 tyres. They have lasted a lot longer than the original tyres fitted to the car. At 34000 miles they are still giving good grip, are above the legal limit & shall only be replacing them to be assured of passing MOT. Shall replace with Avon XT5.

For a general family car these are great value tyres.

For folks saying they break away in the wet, could I respectfully suggest that your driving style is not suited to a family car.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-03 19:21:29
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 77% (175-65-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 spirited miles
Used on a very light car, low output engine, fronte wheel drive. Perfect in term of fuel economy and durability on very bad road on hills and mountains. Good comfort, acceptable handling ( the tires slip easily when driving hard, but they are rather progressive), safe braking, also on wet, bad grip on wet in corners and scaring with aquaplaning. On a small car they fit perfecly, if you are looking for economy and you drive quietly, but you don't risk even in sporty driving, just you reach the limits very early . The first set lasted 80000 km, turned every 10000. I changed it at 30% because tyres became hard, after 4 years. Now I nave a new set 20000km, same performances.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-17 20:39:36
Writing about the Radar Rivera Pro 2 given 74% (165-75-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-24 07:50:05
Writing about the Starmaxx Tolero ST330 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
I had these tires for a while, absolute crap when it comes to dry grip. skipping around in hot summer days, and even worse when it rains. No traction all the way to 3rd gear. Petlas made tires, absolute crap
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-24 00:48:06
Writing about the Infinity INF 030 given 37% (175-65-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
I've had these tyres for 2 years and drive in mild weather all year round. I've found that the road noise from these tyres is rather excessive. The dry road holding is fair and I haven't had problems in wet weather. I've just had a "Puncture" on the front right tyre the but the hole, which is more like a tear is in the side wall. I think these tyres are not very safe.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-30 10:58:25
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 0% (195-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
ADVAN FLEVA, MADE IN JAPAN

cant grip anything while lights go green at the traffic light, very disappointed eith this variant of ADVAN,

This ain't proper UHP, for daily driver is okay, defo not for anything other than commuting.

wheelspin, alldays, anydays
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-30 01:55:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre