Peugeot 106 gti Tyres

Drive a Peugeot 106 gti ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Peugeot 106 gti
Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 (27) 81% 73% 76% 74% 72% 78% 74% 75% 229,618
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Marshal POWER RACER II 719 (9) 51% 20% 39% 42% 79% 41% 29% 43% 182,020
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Peugeot 106 gti Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 given 99% (185-55-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
I have a Peugeot 106 GTI and due to the awkward wheel size there are very few true performance options available. I carried out a lot of research before deciding on the KH31's. There was a lot of conflicting information on other sites and this one also, but I think those that have truly tried a new set on all 4 corners of a car will agree with how superb these tires are overall.

They were one of the cheaper options that I was considering but they certainly do not suffer as a result. Grip is excellent in both the wet and dry and is hard to unstick, especially compared to the previous set of non-name rubber on the wheels.

I can't comment too much on the wear as they have been on for approx 2k miles but they seem to be wearing very evenly and at a slow pace at the moment.

My car being so light at only 940kgs it might be more forgiving on the tires downfalls if it hasn't any and they may perform differently on a large heavy saloon for example, but they are perfect on my light car.

I would thoroughly recommend these tires and cannot understand the occasional bad review they get but I guess that's the case for any product.

I will most definitely be renewing with another set once these wear and I can't say higher praise than that.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-14 21:22:23
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 83% (195-45-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
They have excellent grip in the dry and they are very progressive and controllable even at the limit.
Even now at the end of their life they grip very good for the tread they have left(because of a camber issue the inside is almost like a slick but even with that they are progressive)
Wet grip is very good for high performance tyres.
Noise and comfort I know it's not great but it's not a concern for me.
The only downside is that the wear rate is not that great compared to other tyres,but the grip is excellent so it's logical.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-11 13:44:20
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 81% (205-45-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
I have these tyres on my Peugeot 106 GTi and my Ford Fiesta Van. Very good tyre in the dry, you really feel like you can push them to the limit and have confidence. Totally different story in the wet I found. I live in Scotland, it's wet A LOT of the time. I found the tyres quite poor in wet conditions, roundabouts were my main concern. Having to slow right down before being confident in the tyre.

The wear on them is extremely low and there is very little road noise. I'd think twice about buying again due to the wet feedback.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-03 19:15:55
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 78% (185-55-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
Iv'e been running sets of these now for 2-3 years and can honestly say they perform great in the dry. Good feedback to steering and you really feel confident in the corners. Wet grip is also impressive but be careful with tight corners and understeer!

Good wear to performance ratio with a change needed every 12 months. I do push them quiet hard and they have been faultless.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-01 14:02:47
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 72% (185-55-14-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
I fit those tyres on a Peugeot 106 Gti almost a month ago and since then I did with them 4000 km (summer vacation season). Half of the kilometers were held on highway and the rest on "B roads" and very twisty mountain roads. The km driven in dry roads, so I do not rate those tyres in wet grip (anyway in wet condition we should be more careful and furthermore I have winter tyres for the heavy winter). I did not rate the tyres in wear also because I have them for only 4000 km.

The dry grip is very good with great amount of grip in any kind of roads even if the asphalt is very worn or the road is like a "mirror". The braking is also good. The feedback is stiff and you know all the time what is the traction of each tyre. The steering is directly proportional the the steering wheel angle and this makes them very progressine.

The comfort is the only drawback of these tyres. Not so much their comfort on the bumps and holes where they are very good and above average for their small profile but the noise they produce especially on bad roads at speeds above 100-110 kph. I knew that before I purchaced them, but 90 percent of the usage is on B roads and less on highway and since it is a rotational agressive tyre giving good feedback and g-forces , I installed them.

Generally I recomend these tyres for those who want a good priced tyre with very good dynamic characteristics but do not travel a lot or travel with speeds of up to 100 kph.

I do not recomend the tyres for those who want travel a lot at high speeds since it gives a headache for the passengers as a result of the directional pattern of the large blocks.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-20 14:33:02
Writing about the Marshal POWER RACER II 719 given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Had a power racer on my near side front rim, superb for doing badboy wheelskids, and without a doubt the best smelling tire everrr, fully recommend
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-16 20:42:38
Writing about the Wanli S1088 given 31% (195-45-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
The noise is LOUD. Really LOUD. The grip in the dry is good. In the wet plain dangerous. Gave them back after a few miles and bought TOYO again.
Avoid... The worse tyres I ever bought.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-17 06:34:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre