Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 Tyres

Drive a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Porsche BOXSTER 2.7
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (24) 86% 87% 91% 81% 83% 90% 95% 88% 183,090
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (143) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 86% 88% 87% 2,632,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (136) 91% 88% 83% 78% 71% 80% 79% 81% 1,584,123
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (15) 88% 79% 86% 84% 66% 64% 69% 77% 160,300
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71% 69% 77% 536,516
Pirelli P Zero (88) 86% 73% 78% 74% 63% 68% 61% 72% 1,613,173
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68% 63% 66% 112,926
Bridgestone Potenza S02A (4) 75% 65% 70% 65% 63% 63% 55% 65% 42,500
Kumho Ecsta XT KU37 (11) 72% 60% 63% 60% 65% 68% 57% 64% 72,550

Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 100% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Really impressed with these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-08 11:43:47
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
Granted, a lot of the grip of this car comes from the excellent chassis and suspension but these tyres are a perfect pairing for the car. The only minor point is that they seemed to wear a little quickly but that could be down to the driving style as much as the tyre itself.
In the wet and dry they are a grippy, safe and fun tyre that I'd imagine would be a great choice on any sports car.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-22 10:31:36
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 given 90% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Not long replaced my avon zz3 with these N4 tyres, must say there is a overall improvement over the avons, however the tread pattern doesnt look so good. Overall i am very impressed with these tyres, and only cost slightly more than the avons. Cannot comment on wear, but car drives very well @ >100mph
tyre reviewed on 2009-02-15 21:26:50
Writing about the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II given 89% (235-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Early days yet, but these are really impressing me. They are extremely expensive, but arguably the best tyres I've ever used. I love them so much I just wish I could keep them on when the summer comes back.

Amazingly - these are winter tyres but hard to tell as they also perform well in dry and warmer conditions to.

A particularly amazing feature is the levels of comfort and noise, which for this 35 profile example are nothing short of amazing.

Massive prices, but the value is there. Recommended if you have a high-performance car and you want to use it in the UK winter.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-24 12:37:16
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 86% (305-30-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
The P-zero does not get a lot of rave reviews, and many enthusiast drivers bang on about other brands from the "Premium" suppliers.

However I really like Pirelli P-Zero. They are superbly made, of the nicest construction quality, and really good all round.

They look very nice, with an attractive modern asymmetric pattern. Their roadholding is very good, and the comfort levels in terms of noise and harshness are also great. I've not had them long enough to establish longevity and wear rates however. They do have a nice sidewall design with an integral yet unobtrusive kerb-protector. Not all high-performance tyres even have this, and it's a very useful feature for any road car.

All in all, in the "ultra-high performance" segment the P-zero is kind of ignored against the Michelin and Goodyear brands, who all have a very vocal fan-base.

But it's worth remembering that the P-Zero is OEM fitment on Porsche, Ferrari, Jaguuar, McLaren, Audi to name but a few.

The only problem with P-Zeros is the confusing nature of the range. Each OEM fitment mentioned above has a specific tyre in each size, so you need a tyre marked N0 for Porsche, MC1 for McLaren etc. This can get confusing when changing them, and often great cost differences exist even with the same tyre sizes.

Another thing is the P-Zero is a particular tyre in the P-zero range. There are also P-zero Rosso (comfortable and quiet with soft tread), Nero (ultra-low profile for aftermarket fitments), Silver (hard tread for high mileage users), and System (different tread types front and rear), and corsa (road/race fitment)

This review is for the basic P-Zero, which as mentioned is an all rounder for any high-performance car that comes in a large variety of sizes.

It's a great all round tyre that should please everybody. I have them on the back of my Porsche Boxster now, and have just bought two more for the front.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-28 21:48:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 81% (265-35-18-N)
Driving on mostly country roads for 16000 spirited miles
Great tire. Had the N2's before these and PS2's are a huge improvement. On my 2001 Boxster I got 16000 miles on the rears, so I just ordered two. I love these.
I had the Perelli PZero's which I through away after a few thousand miles.
These handle extremely well. Haven't been in the rain much to make a comment.
Braking is awesome.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-05 22:54:49
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 77% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
These Tyres seem to suit my spirited driving style and the performance of my 2.7 986 Boxster perfectly. A very good looking tyre, quiet and reasonably comfortable (if you can call a Boxsters ride comfortable that is.....)Wear could be better but due to this being a summer time toy a set of rears lasts me around 2 years 7-8k. Not having traction control means a lively drive when pushed hard, in the dry on the limit the back end will step out but this is very controllable; the breakaway point is very predictable - never ended up in a ditch yet althought they can take a bit of warming up to get the best from them. Difficult to comment about wet performance, if i get caught out in the rain I slow down accordingly and take my time so under normal driving conditions they seem fine.
Stability is excellent even well into the 100+ zone. No doubt there are better Tyres on the market but i'm very happy running these - Now on my third set of rears 255/40/17.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-12 18:32:01
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S02A given 76% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Just about to renew all 4 tyres after 30 months & 30,000 miles. Driven daily in all weathers, I found they performed very well, dry grip & road holding I couldn't fault, wet grip & road holding couldn't fault either even now as I'm about to replace them & they at the limit of their wear. Good grip & road holding in the snow to, although they wear a little skittish in the last snow (march 2018) but not surprising given they are at end of their life. These tyres wear very well compared to the Pirelli PZero Rosso that were on before with18,000 miles driven on them before needing to replace them. Only fault these tyres have is in the cold weather when both comfort & grip suffer a little until they warm up but on really cold days they need to be driven
a little more cautiously. I drive steadily generally but do some spirited driving reasonably often as well. I would have no hesitation in reccomending these tyres to a fellow Boxster owner.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-04 05:11:12
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza s02 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
I have now had three sets of these tyres on my porsche boxster, one set went through 2000k, i have had the geometrics done on the car and all fine but still have had three sets in 12 months. Local sport automative garage have said they havent seen anything like it so now changing brands completely. the total mileage on three sets was 15,000k
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-23 16:57:08
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta XT KU37 given 54% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
These were on the Boxster 2.7 from the used car dealer - previous owners choice. I have only driven around 100miles and they do not inspire any sort of feedback in steering - just hope people behind dont think I am a "granny" Wouldnt buy them myself, having had a z4 with Falken's and they were inspiring
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-12 16:55:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre