Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) Tyres

Drive a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)
Accelera 651 Sport (13) 89% 76% 85% 87% 84% 86% 86% 85% 99,200
Avon ZZ5 (90) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 81% 78% 82% 589,571
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (11) 97% 61% 92% 92% 57% 72% 81% 79% 88,800
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (8) 100% 78% 81% 93% 57% 40% 99% 78% 52,400
Winrun R330 (15) 84% 71% 71% 76% 84% 86% 71% 77% 359,500
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (115) 85% 74% 78% 76% 69% 65% 63% 73% 1,259,243
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (10) 75% 67% 76% 77% 78% 61% 62% 71% 37,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE010 (2) 80% 70% 80% 85% 50% 60% 70% 71% 18,000

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I put Cup 2 on my Mazda MX-5 ND (2017), I already had coilovers and sway bar upgraded (also power upgrade to about 190hp and brake of course), until now I drove on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 which have great grip in the dry and wet also in compare to stock Bridgestone tires (S001 really do not recommend them!), they was just little "spongy" in terms of precise of steering (they have very soft sidewalls) but they are still great tires and I like it, but with Cup 2 it's on another lvl! Steering is very tight, precise, very stable at high speeds in compare to Pilot Sport 4 also grip, absolutely amazing on my upgraded suspension, car is fast as f*ck! :D I can push it really really hard, I mostly drive on back roads (I have them a lot around with minimum of traffic so I can push it) Absolutely fullfill my curent setup what I want from car. They need some warm up in at beginning but nothing terrible, I drove them only in dry, I rarely drive in the wet (I love that car and had it just for my pleasure) so I can't tell anything about wet driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 17:11:34
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 100% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Fitted them to fronts of my MX5, after puncture on original Bridgestone tyre ... these are so much better. Definitely recommend. More grip and feel, especially when below 15 DegC - inspiring confidence, without any wear issues.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-16 01:37:42
Writing about the Winrun R330 given 89% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
This tires is amazing, its outperformed my advan sport tires. I definitely will buy this tires again for my other car.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-07 07:15:45
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R given 78% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Very aggressive tyre!
Performance on dry road tops the DOT tyres like M PCS2 and P TR.
Haven't really push in the wet so no comment on that.
A bit pricy though.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-09 07:16:53
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 77% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Very grippy until the end of there lifes. Mostly on mountain roads
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-25 14:42:54
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 73% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 miles
Regards grip these are Ok in the dry unless it's cold (15degC. If it's cooler damp wet weather, they are really slidey, and quite a hard tyre. On snow, these are absolutely useless.
After a puncture, I fitted a softer (and cheaper) set of Avon-ZZ5 tyres to the fronts and the confidence in grip was very noticible, especially in cooler damp weather.
For the UK winter months, these tyres are very slidey on the back of my 2.0 ND MX-5. I'll replace the backs with something softer and better in the wet when they wear out ... and given how hard the compound obviously is, I may be waiting some time !
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-29 23:18:01
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 73% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
virtually the same as a previous AD08R. I've been driving them all the year. I wasn't on the circuit. I drive them only on roads. I rode cautiously in the wet and then it's okay. They are perfect when dry. Of course you need to think of warming up before a quick ride.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-27 22:02:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-06 01:02:50
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 69% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
OEM fit from Mazda. In the damp or wet I daren't push them as they don't inspire confidence and the rear has twitched unexpectedly a few times (both mine and the cars)! This could be because I'm a spanner and this is my first RWD car, but I don't think 160 bhp should be troubling these! Also had the ABS cut-in unexpectedly a couple of times, albeit on a surface I know to have poor grip when wet.

No complaints about performance in the dry though, generally very difficult to unstick, responsive, feedback well, comfortable, not too squidgy on the sidewall either. Haven't noticed the noise issues some others have mentioned (although these are the only tyres I've had on the car and I generally have the roof down).

Wear is APPALLING I've never known a tyre go down so quickly and I've had soft stuff like Rainsports before. At 8000 miles there's probably 3 mm tread on the rear and 3.5 on the front. I don't think they'll manage much beyond 11,000 miles (17k km). I'm going to replace with Michelin PS3, PS4, Contisport 5 or Rainsport 3.

SUMMARY: Great in the warm and dry. No more than average in cool and damp. Would like to swap them before winter hits because I think they'll be very poor near any snow. Wear out veerrryy quickly.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-27 23:44:57
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE010 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles

Comfort is reasonable
In wet be a little careful if pushing it
In dry have confidence
Poor wear rate
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-13 11:19:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre