Audi A8 Tyres

Drive a Audi A8? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A8
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (2) 100% 100% 85% 90% 90% 85% 100% 93% 5,040
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (114) 96% 87% 91% 86% 84% 83% 91% 88% 915,889
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (7) 75% 93% 83% 85% 88% 83% 97% 88% 99,000
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (386) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 85% 86% 3,679,137
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (233) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,263,907
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (62) 83% 86% 82% 78% 87% 87% 91% 85% 705,444
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (68) 88% 83% 82% 83% 79% 78% 80% 82% 669,365
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (136) 91% 88% 83% 78% 71% 80% 79% 81% 1,584,123
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (186) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,270,664
Continental Sport Contact 6 (36) 93% 94% 87% 81% 55% 82% 70% 80% 138,251
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (239) 85% 93% 79% 79% 63% 83% 77% 80% 1,684,405
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (152) 89% 86% 84% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,400,323
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (116) 86% 79% 80% 75% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,193,286
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,611,523
Falken FK452 (208) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,685,411
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (71) 86% 81% 80% 78% 57% 75% 59% 74% 604,618
Nexen N8000 (72) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 78% 70% 72% 515,742
Pirelli P Zero (90) 86% 72% 78% 74% 63% 68% 60% 71% 1,648,173
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (57) 86% 67% 77% 72% 69% 68% 60% 71% 829,195
Continental ContiRace Attack (2) 90% 80% 70% 30% 50% 85% 85% 70% 11,800
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (139) 80% 69% 69% 66% 64% 64% 53% 66% 2,016,860
Evergreen EH23 (9) 82% 56% 66% 68% 76% 68% 48% 66% 151,000
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (8) 80% 63% 70% 74% 63% 74% 40% 66% 166,000
Nankang NS2 (199) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 63% 61% 66% 1,750,559
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Goodyear EfficientGrip (117) 76% 65% 60% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,433,767
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59% 55% 61% 211,547
Accelera PHI (124) 70% 47% 55% 54% 68% 59% 53% 58% 1,110,862
Haida HD921 (31) 59% 42% 48% 49% 50% 39% 33% 46% 186,100
Linglong L688 (28) 43% 25% 33% 31% 53% 36% 26% 35% 1,226,928
Fullrun HP199 (73) 48% 27% 33% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 477,951

Audi A8 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ContiRace Attack given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
THE TYRES ARE THE BEST IN THE MARKET.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-04 12:42:08
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 99% (255-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 miles
This tyres change the Audi A8 driving comfort and stability up, very much since fitted.
4 years (almost 60 000 km) driving without any problems on any terrain and conditions and crossing all Balkan countries.
Waiting to try the new Asymmetric 3 this year, until delivery still on the road with the strong AS2.

Regards to Goodyear!
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-02 15:06:22
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4500 spirited miles
Excellent tyres very efficient and smooth. Road noise at a minimal and MPG improved slightly. The wear on these are excellent still running on 7mm tread compared to Michelins I previously had.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-02 21:23:18
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 96% (255-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-13 03:58:17
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Bought this tire to my Audi S8 V10 . The grip is perfect in all conditions , but I haven't tested the car on a track yet, so I don't know how they are responding during race driving . The tire smells good and you can really feel the quality when touching it. The rubber feels somewhat sticky.

You should go for 275/35/20 on the A/S8. 265 is an uncommon size and is more expansive than the 275's. It fits perfectly on the original 20x9 rims.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-23 08:27:26
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 94% (255-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20 average miles
I have to say I'm slightly shocked.

Before buying, I read all of the review so I thought I knew what I was getting into. Thought I'd take the risk so I Put 4 tyres on for practically nothing - less than £400. First 1k miles I was a bit worried - slippy and high wear rate. When they settled down they were incredible, and better than the Pzeros and Bridgestones I used before. I have driven through standing water on the M40, A40 and M25 on a regular basis frankly with ease, except recently, which I put down to tread depth. No snow experience in these as it was a mild winter here

These probably aren't suited to highly spirited in town aggressive driving, but then neither is my car as its a bit of tank. However, for what I wanted them for , which was safe all weather motorway cruising they were perfect. Being 4WD and having excellent wet grip - brilliant combination and it's extremely rare that I test the progressiveness to the limits of the car. On the few occasions I have though, they've been ok, but not what I would expect of eg. a PZero or something similar

So far done 20,000 miles and there's a few mil left - I keep looking at them wondering when I need to change!

Downsides aren't huge:

1. Tyre wall seems on the soft side so if you're taking tight corners at high speed, expect to wallow a little. My car does this anyway because it's long, even in dynamic sports setting when the suspension is lowered, but these tyres exacerbate the problem somewhat

2. Road noise is ever so slightly higher, but as I'm usually listening to music it's not such a problem. In any case...you do get what you pay for

On balance I have to say, for the price ( just checked 21 July 2016 and found them for £96 each), the wear rate, and the all round grip, I don't think you can go too far wrong. Was planning to try Goodyear Eagle F1s next but I am struggling to justify the cost based on my above comments!
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-21 19:12:08
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 93% (255-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-14 14:06:00
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 93% (255-45-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
4mm tread and driven 22,000 miles compared to Dunlop's originally fitted to Audi A8 which were changed at 17,500 miles. I have used these tyres for 5 years on several cars covering around 35,000 miles pa. I cannot recommend enough and do not understand why winter tyres are not made compulsory in the UK.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-05 20:39:13
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 93% (235-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
I have only had the tyres for 2000 miles. The previous tyres were NEXEN N8000.
The Falkens are more comfortable and quieter in all conditions than the previous tyres but also turn in crisper on bends. They don't aquaplane when at speed in standing water, but I should hope not as they still have >8mm of tread. The dry grip is impeccable for normal high speed twisty road driving.
I do not drive in a crazed way so have not had cause to get near the limits yet and car is a Quattro so have to be a bad driver to make a problem.
They have rim protection and a sensible sidewall design. As always, I will do another review when they are doen to 2mm.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-14 20:14:47
Writing about the Evergreen EH23 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-13 06:18:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement