tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 147 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 2,190,801 miles driven.
 


Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3
Dry Grip
83%

Wet Grip
77%

Road Feedback
76%

Progressiveness
72%

Wear
59%

Comfort
65%

Buy again
64%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £78.00 - £78.00 (2 prices)
Available in 35 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews

Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,215 spirited miles
These tyres are fantastic. Their grip is spectacular. I don't know why some people put a bad comments on these tyres, probably they had them already on their car and they wore out... I have put them brand new. Wet grip is fabulous, like I'm driving on dry surface. They are a littlebit noisy, and this is only reason why I gave them a grade 9 of 10. I'm sorry that this model of tyre is discontinued of production in Europe. My set is made in Germany, and this model is still producing in USA, and Asia...
tyre reviewed on October 21, 2013   
Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (210-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Got is set of tyres with my car .
Almost got into a accident turning in a bend , skid at around 35km/hr in a car park when it was wet . Immediately change to S drive which was good and had long wear .

This set of tyre was quite bad in wet , unassured handling ...

Would never buy it again
tyre reviewed on August 28, 2013   
Looking to buy the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Tyres come on car from new and in my opinion are fantastic and grip superbly fairly speedy driving aswell
tyre reviewed on August 21, 2013   
Given 38% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I needto update my original review but cannot find it.

I used these tyres last summer, grio fantastic (once warmed up) etc. Shortly after putting them back on for this summer I notice a rythmic humming noise coming from somewhere, just like a differential on the way out.

After a bit of swopping them back for the Winter tyres (in pairs of course) I have found that

1) The noise is coming from the GSD3 tyres
2) If you check the tyres after the car has been standing overnight, all 4 show a flat spot where the tyre touches the ground
3) If the tyres are stored on their side (as they are over Winter) for just a couple of days the flat spot disappears, but not the noise.
4) After a run of about 10 miles the flat spot almost disappears, but not the noise.
5) in all cases the tread depth is even all round the tyre

The oldest tyre is date 5108, the two newest are 3711 and 3911, and the wheels are stored on their side during the Winter

Two of the tyres have had 2 summer's use, the other two just one summer - and a short one at that.

These particular tyres are the most expensive I have ever bought (205/50/16 on an MX5 mk3) and I am not happy about having to fork out several hundred pounds to replace them.

I've always bought Goodyear as the tyre of choice, and have recommended them to others. I can no longer do either
tyre reviewed on May 19, 2013   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (265-30-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted to my BMW 325ci. Excellent dry grip and feel I was at first really impressed. However, after a couple of years and still with plenty of tread I had major problems with what I thought was wheel balancing, after re-balancing on several occasions at independent tyre fitters, changing wheels thinking they were buckled to BMW balancing the wheels whilst fitted to the car, my dealer concluded That 3 out of the 4 GSD3 tyres fitted to my car were buckled. I immediately changed all 4 tyres to Falken FK452 with no problems, would not use Goodyear again.
tyre reviewed on March 16, 2013   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I've had several tyre combinations on this car and the Eagle F1 GSD3 is the one that offered the best of all worlds. I've been using these for years now, and covered many miles.
I'd rate the feedback as excellent and the wet performance and cold weather performance as surprisingly good.
Downsides: wears quite fast depending on driving style. Quite expensive.
tyre reviewed on February 27, 2013   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Corsa C (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on February 21, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Renault 19 (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
Have them on my Renault 19 16v for near 10 years now. Tyres haven't really wore down anything visible yet. Look well on the car and happy with grip in both dry and wet weather.
tyre reviewed on January 11, 2013   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
These tyres ARE still available in certain sizes as they were standard fit on a few cars and they are required to supply them for a few years to come.

You need to be extremely careful when purchasing them online as some online retailers have been getting the ones that were manufactured in Thailand and do not have the E mark making them illegal in the UK and Europe.

Tyre shopper are still supplying E marked GSD3 tyres. The Thai factories also are producing the E marked tyres destined for the UK and exactly the same spec as the ones produced in Germany.

Check with your retailer they ARE E marked before purchase.

Cracking tyre.
tyre reviewed on January 5, 2013   
Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar XJ6 (235-50-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These tyres were replaced in Europe in 2007, the tyres are still manufactured in thailand for the asian market, if you check goodyears website in europe you will NOT find this tyre for sale.
If you contact goodyear themselves they will tell you that the tyres are not legal in the UK and will ask you for details of the company that supplied them to you.
tyre reviewed on December 4, 2012   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: