Michelin Pilot Alpin 4

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 98%
Road Feedback 95%
Handling 96%
Wear 95%
Comfort 94%
Buy again 99%

The Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Alpin PA3

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 96% over 159,300 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2017 Sport Auto Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good results in the wet, good handling in the dry
  • Negative - Relatively weak resistance to aquaplaning, long dry braking distances
  • Overall - Recommended

2017 AMS Performance 18 inch Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Reliable grip on snow, balanced behavior on wet surfaces, very well balanced on dry surfaces
  • Negative - Relatively long braking distances on wet surfaces, weak resistance to transverse aquaplaning
  • Overall - Recommended

2016 AutoBild Winter UHP Tyre Test - 5th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Sharp handling with precise and stable dry grip.
  • Negative - Slight weakness under dry braking.
  • Overall - Good.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/40 R17 95V XL   E C 71  
235/45 R17 97V XL   E C 70  
245/45 R17 99V XL   E C 70  
235/50 R17 100V XL   C C 70  
235/55 R17 103V XL   C C 70  
235/55 R17 103H XL   E C 70  
245/55 R17 102V   C C 70  
245/55 R17 102V   E C 70  
255/35 R18 94V XL   E C 71  
265/35 R18 97V XL   E C 71  
225/40 R18 92H XL   E C 70  
225/40 R18 92V XL   E C 70  
225/40 R18 92V XL   E C 70  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E C 70  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E C 70  
235/40 R18 95V XL   E C 70  
235/40 R18 95V XL   E C 70  
245/40 R18 97W XL   E C 70  
245/40 R18 97V XL   E C 70  
245/40 R18 97V XL   E C 70  
255/40 R18 99V XL   E C 71  
265/40 R18 101V XL   C C 71  
215/45 R18 93V XL   E C 70  
215/45 R18 93V XL   E C 70  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E C 70  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E C 70  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E C 70  
235/45 R18 98V XL   E C 70  
245/45 R18 100V XL   E C 70  
245/45 R18 100V XL          
245/45 R18 100V XL   E C 70  
245/45 R18 100V XL   E C 70  
255/45 R18 103V XL   E C 71  
225/50 R18 99V XL   E C 70  
235/50 R18 101V XL   E C 70  
235/50 R18 101H XL   E C 70  
245/50 R18 104V XL   C C 70  
245/50 R18 100H   E B 70  
245/50 R18 104V XL   C C 70  
225/55 R18 102V XL   C C 70  
235/55 R18 104V XL   C C 70  
275/30 R19 96W XL   E C 71  
285/30 R19 98W XL   E C 75  
295/30 R19 100W XL   C C 75  
225/35 R19 88W XL   E C 70  
235/35 R19 91W XL   E C 70  
245/35 R19 93W XL   E C 70  
245/35 R19 93V XL   E C 70  
255/35 R19 96V XL   C C 71  
255/35 R19 96V XL   C C 71  
255/35 R19 96V XL   C C 71  
265/35 R19 98W XL   C C 71  
265/35 R19 98V XL   C C 71  
275/35 R19 100W XL   C C 71  
285/35 R19 103V XL   E C 75  
295/35 R19 104V XL   C C 74  
225/40 R19 93W XL   E C 70  
235/40 R19 96W XL   E C 70  
235/40 R19 92V   E C 70  
245/40 R19 98V XL   E C 70  
255/40 R19 100V XL   E C 71  
265/40 R19 98V   E C 71  
265/40 R19 102W XL   C C 71  
275/40 R19 105W XL   E C 71  
285/40 R19 103V   C C 74  
285/40 R19 107W XL   C C 74  
235/45 R19 99V XL   E C 70  
235/45 R19 99V XL   E C 70  
235/45 R19 99V XL   E C 70  
245/45 R19 102W XL   E C 70  
255/45 R19 104V XL   C C 71  
255/45 R19 100V   C C 71  
255/45 R19 104W XL   C C 71  
265/30 R20 94W XL   E C 71  
275/30 R20 97W XL   E C 71  
275/30 R20 97V XL   E C 71  
285/30 R20 99W XL   E C 75  
295/30 R20 97V   C C 74  
295/30 R20 101W XL   C C 74  
305/30 R20 103W XL   C C 74  
235/35 R20 92V XL   E C 70  
235/35 R20 92W XL   E C 70  
245/35 R20 95W XL   E C 70  
245/35 R20 91V   E C 70  
255/35 R20 97W XL   E C 71  
265/35 R20 99W XL   E C 71  
275/35 R20 102W XL   E C 71  
285/35 R20 104V XL   C C 74  
285/35 R20 104V XL   C C 74  
295/35 R20 105W XL   C C 75  
255/40 R20 101W XL   E C 71  
255/40 R20 101V XL   E C 71  
255/40 R20 101V XL   E C 71  
265/40 R20 104W XL   E C 71  
235/45 R20 100W XL   C C 70  
295/25 R21 96W XL   E C 75  
245/30 R21 91W XL   F C 70  
265/30 R21 96W XL   C C 71  
285/30 R21 100W XL   C C 75  
295/30 R21 102W XL   C C 75  
255/35 R21 98W XL   C C 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4

2016-11-20 - I have Michelin pilot Alpin PA4s on my car but I'm unsure if they are mounted correctly. The Outside is correctly on the outside with the curved part of the tread pattern always on the inside of the tyre. However because the rotation is different on one side of the car than the other because the wheels are mounted the opposite way round the curved part of the tread faces the opposite way too. Is this just how this asymmetric tread pattern works? Seems strange that the rotational direction should allow the curves splines to be facing what looks like the wrong way on one side of the car. I guess only way to solve would be if two different tread patterns were made for left and right side of the car. But mine are all the same. Would welcome any views?

This is normal, and while it might seem counter productive it apparently has no notiable impact in performance. The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 and Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta are more extreme examples of this.


2017-10-23 - This is probably a lame question, but are these tyres Run Flat? Some Tyre stores list then in the Run Flat section and Michelin themselves say nothing about such feature. I would like to put a set of these on a BMW X3, where there is no spare wheel.

There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4. Michelin name their runflat technology ZP, for zero pressure.


2018-09-10 - I am currently looking at winter tyres for my Nissan Juke Nismo RS of which the fitment of tyre I need would be 225/45R18 Y 95. I was wondering if you have any suggestions as to what tyre I should be looking at in this fitment as I would have preferred the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 as I love my Michelin Pilot Sport 4's which I currently have and would have thought the Pilot Alpin 4's would have been the ideal winter equivalent to my current tyre, but from the research I have done I cannot find the Alpin 4's in this size nor can I even find a Michelin winter tyre in this size (I do know about the Michelin CrossClimate+ and they do make it in my fitment but I am looking for a pure winter tyre and not an all-season tyre). To cut a long story short I am looking for a premium brand of winter tyre and although my preference would have been a tyre from Michelin I am open to other suggestions as I really do want a decent winter tyre that is the next best class leading alternative.

If the Michelin isn't available in your size then there is only one answer, the Continental WinterContact TS850P, which is available in 225/45 R18.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £124.80 - £154.00 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £146.40 - £162.10 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £173.60 - £198.80 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £141.00 - £173.10 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £194.30 - £238.00 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 Review

Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Passat CC (235/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
This is the third winter that I am using these tires, I have done around 12.000 km so far and the tread still looks as new. On the dry in everyday driving they feel almost as summer tire. Wet grip is amazing, snow grip also. On highway speeds they shine the most.
Only objection would be increased noise in comparison to my previous Alpin 4, but still rather comfortable.
45 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2014   

Latest Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Alpin 4.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 TDi Quattro Sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
This is the third winter these tyres are back on the car. Tread depth is still 6mm. Just as comfortable as the michelin ps4 taken off but when the roads get greasy and wet these will keep you safe. Last winter drove the car from leeds to Norwich and back in the worst snow and no drama or fuss, that's how good these tyres are. Superb and will buy another set when these are worn out.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (235/55 R18 H) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
I got to tell you that I am amazed by this tyres performance. I bought immediately after car purchasing equipped with all season Dunlop Grandtrek ST30 which by the way, do not use it even somebody give its for free, but this will be another topic. PA4 is quite expensive,as it should be a high performence tyre but overall worth the money. I drove 4000km on icey roads, wet and what I've liked the most on -10 degree dry surface and I had no wear what so ever, no significal noise and great grip in 10cm of snow. Brake on wet and dry is also great . I will say this tyres are great for FWD and AWD and higly recommend for Central East European weather.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 89% while driving a BMW 525i (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I purchased these tyres in December 2017 for my BMW525i Tourer as this is the car we use to transport my two little kids. Within weeks of delivery the snow started to fall & I was eager to test them. Overall far exceeded my expectations. I climbed hills no problem at all for a rear wheel drive car leaving other cars in my wake. We then had the beat from the east in March 18 & I did feel extremely smug as these tyres handled & performed flawlessly. I cannot stress how important the safety aspect of these tyres when driving I. Winter conditions. I reverted to summer tyres in April 18- little or no where after 3000 miles or so. All in all highly recommend
4 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2018   
Given 93% while driving a BMW bmw (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
1st impression was a little strange as I was not used to winter tyres to begin with and could feel the movement of the tyre surface on the road where the rubber was moving (not losing traction) a little. I soon got used to it and it settled down very quickly. I used them in dry, wet (full blown surface water standing) to 2ft of snow with iced surfaces. The tyres got a full work out in all conditions over the winter and I have to say performed really well in all conditions. Got stuck once in snow but this was due to the chassis settling down on the ice more than the tyres losing traction i.e. got beached. I didn't experience aquaplaning once even though the water was about 1-2 inches deep. Overall the tyres worked really well and having just taken them off today, the wear is about 2mm after 2,500 miles, including lighting up the back tyres on the M4 often enough. I have driven cars with other winter tyre brands and they didn't create near the confidence level the Michelin Alpine PA4's did. Would definitely buy again considering the car is powerful and needs all the help it can get in the ice and snow, they will be going on this winter again, definitely...
3 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Great tires!!! - low wear, grip is phenomenal on dry, wet and snow. During 4 years driving on these tires I manage to make 30000 km so far, and the grip is still fine because there is still 5 mm of tread. Michelin proved to me that tire performance does not deteriorate over time. Although they are expressive, Michelin tires are great value for money.
3 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2017   

See all 14 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (newest first) >>