Pirelli P6000

Dry Grip 67%
Wet Grip 47%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 48%
Wear 67%
Comfort 61%
Buy again 38%
 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £168.00 - £193.10 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Pirelli P6000 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 31% while driving a Jaguar S type 3.0 (225/55 R16 W) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are awful, They are noisy, in the wet they are lethal and even in the dry they are not great. Even being extremely cautious in the slightest of damp weather in a straight line the tyres squirrel around and the traction control light keeps coming on making stopping distances a lot longer than they should be. Do not buy. A good rule of thumb is tyres that last a long time generally dont have much grip. These prove that point.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2018   
Given 56% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Used them in mixed conditions, in city and in country roads. The grip is quite poor especially in wet. I experienced aquaplaning several times at 90 km/h (scary experience). Braking in the wet is disappointing, when braking harder had wheels blocking. Regarding wear, from 6mm to 3mm in 15k km on front wheels. Would not buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2017   
Given 71% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (225/45 R17) on for 24,000 average miles
on rear traction wheels C coupe 55% motorway driving ; managed about 24,000 miles to barely legal
0 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2017   
Given 67% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
Bought some used wheels & tyres for my Alfa Romeo 147, which came with some Pirelli P6000 on, though part worn, these are a decent brand of tyre going on previous experience.... Having used them on front driving wheel for many weeks i have to report a mixed experience! While grip seems pretty good wet or dry, feedback has not been as good as expected and my goodness the noise from them, while driving on any road has to be honest got to point where i'm replacing them with some Matador tyres i've bought. Can't comment on wear as already part worn. While i'm not completely disappointed with these P6000 and know Pirelli's tend to be more sports handling targetted i can't abide the vibration noise i get which i believe is a result of the firm suspension my Alfa has as standard, if hadn't had 17 inch wheels on it with Evergreen tyres that were very quiet previously i'd have thought i had a faulty wheel bearing. So in conclusion a good tyre let down by resonance issues on vehicles with firm suspension, though probably better on softer sprung vehicles. Happy driving folks..!
1 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2017   
Jaguar S type 4.2 SE naturally aspirated (235/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted by Jaguar to thousands of their new cars manufactured in the period from 1998 to 2004. I have purchased
5 used low mileage vehicles built in this era when Ford was in the process of reviving the brand.

A Jaguar master technician once told me that the Pirelli 6000 was selected by the manufacturer as the first step in the design process. The cars were then built around this tyre as opposed to the tyre being selected upon completion of the build.

My opinion, based on over 200,000 miles of driving on all types of road, is that the Pirelli 6000 is a superb tyre for the XJ8 and S-type cars. As everyone knows, Jaguars have, until more recent times, been noted for their soft pampering ride. This quality was largely derived from a superb suspension system mated with a relatively large and heavy car body. A quality, strongly built set of tyres is essential for these Jaguars.

In conclusion, if you own one of these vehicles, the P6000 tyre will deliver - at speed, on wet roads, dry roads, round the bends and under heavy braking. Add good durability and low noise levels for a great all rounder!
10 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2017   
Given 63% while driving a Vauxhall (185/55 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 24,000 average miles
Very low wear rate but noisy.

These tyres came with the Corsa C 1.2 (55 Reg) I bought, fitted to the rear. I suspect these are OEM tyres that came with the car originally as manufacturing date (DOT number) of the tyre roughly matches up with the age of the car. If so, it would have already done 52,000 miles in 8 years or so, and I kept it for another 2 years plus to do another 24,000 miles. (I wouldn't recommend keeping tyres for 10 years and doing 76,000 miles btw, I only learnt more about tyres recently). I've never heard of such long lasting tyres, even although this is on the rear of a FWD car.

As they are fitted on the rear, I can't really comment on the wet and dry grip, or the road feedback and progressiveness but I've never lost grip on the rear even when throwing the car around corners.

It is a bit noisy as I could definitely tell the difference once I switched to Falken ZE914 Ecorun. I rated it pretty low as these are the rear tyres so I wasn't expecting such a big difference.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2016   
Given 16% while driving a SEAT Ibiza (185/60 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Four tyres of P6000 were installed from factory to my fathers personal car, Seat Ibiza MKII 50 PS. Stay away of them! The only good thing of these tyres is......NOTHING! I’ m not joking. Dry grip is bad, comfort doesn't exist and they are very noisy as well. Wet grip is Terrible/Horrifying and you face aquaplaning all the time, even if with low speed. Road feedback and progressivess are poor and you don't know how your car will reacts on any kind of road. Project Pirelli P6000 is a great failure for Pirellis history. Highly NOT recommended!
28 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2016   
Given 31% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (205/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These tyres are the most dangerous, and frightening tyres I have ever had the misfortune of having on a car. I really do not know how they can get away with selling them, as are an absolute death trap in the wet. My girlfriend and even my mother, who is a slow cautious driver. Had a spin in the wet.
These tyres were on the car when I brought it and have never enjoyed driving it until they were changed, now it is a completely different car to drive. Performance in the dry was OK, but any slightly damp serface had to be treated as if driving on ice. Some surfaces worse than others on which the car could loose complete grip violently with no chance of regaining control.
I don't know what these tyres are like on a larger heavier car. But can 100% say that these are in no way suitable on a small, lightweight, or rear wheel drive vehicles.
If you have them.... Change them immediately if you value your life.
2 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2016   
Given 44% while driving a Mazda 6 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Tyres simply worn out far to quickly. Lots of road noise in the cabin. Changed to Bridgestone ecopia er300 and never looked back
0 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2015   
Given 43% while driving a Toyota Corolla verso (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Terrible tyres!!! after 30000 km driven there was still half protector left, but changed is as it was dangerous on the road and very very noisy... Never buy Pirelli again!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2015