Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster Tyres

Drive a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (76) 89% 86% 83% 85% 86% 84% 85% 86% 701,175
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (51) 90% 86% 84% 77% 83% 80% 85% 84% 323,562
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (29) 86% 84% 83% 85% 79% 79% 87% 83% 145,273
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (7) 86% 79% 81% 79% 94% 74% 79% 82% 99,515
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (104) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77% 82% 82% 880,927
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77% 83% 81% 1,856,713
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (248) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,749,205
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (55) 86% 81% 78% 78% 73% 78% 80% 79% 431,173
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (113) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,141,558
Federal SS535 (5) 90% 65% 83% 58% 80% 60% 76% 73% 89,530
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Uniroyal RainMax 2 (2) 55% 70% 90% 50% 55% 65% 100% 69% 25,005,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Marangoni Zetalinea (15) 72% 45% 64% 64% 68% 57% 51% 60% 118,500
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Federal Formoza FD1 (12) 74% 57% 48% 51% 57% 60% 35% 55% 102,978

Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 100% (185-55-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 400 spirited miles
So I have these tyres on my MR2, 185/55/15 front and 215/45/16 rear and I have nothing but good things to say about these tyres, only had them since January so can't comment on the dry grip (because England) or wear yet but in the Wet they have definitely surprised me, car has yet to step out on me when pushed 👍 can't rate comfort as I went for the XL version for the stiffer sideways which increases the handling and feedback but will decrease ride comfort, If thats your preference. All in all a very good tyre and for the price I'll definitely buy these again👌 (my ratings are based against tyres in this price range)
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-19 13:36:36
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 90% (215-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
My Toyota MR2 feels night and day different with these Yokohama V701's compared with the Nankang NS2 that were on it beforehand. The most surprising thing for me is how much wet grip the car finds at the rear, which in a mid-engined rear-wheel drive car is pretty important to me. I've seen reviews online which claim so-so wet grip with this new tyre, but that's absolutely not been my experience.

The car feels so much more positive to drive too - it feels like I've refreshed the suspension as everything feels more direct. The only downside is that the dry and wet grip has meant that the car takes some serious provocation to oversteer now!

I'm a very satisfied customer, and given how they've transformed the feel of the car I'm now choosing to fit them to the front axle as well even though the tyres on the front have loads of tread left on them. I'd recommend these.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-09 19:53:06
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Exalto given 90% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-25 11:28:39
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 89% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-20 16:28:50
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 89% (195-50-15-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Fitted these all round to replace the Dunlops that where coming toward the end of their lives. Heard mixed things about the T1-R's but opted for them as on balance more good than bad. The trick to theses tyres is getting the pressures just right, run them on higher end of their pressure spec's and you will get a great handling tyre with excellent feedback and grips very well in the wet and dry with gradual breakaway even on a mid engined car! 8k miles of spirited B road driving so far and hardly any wear showing on them which i am most surprised and pleased about.

Recommend!
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-05 16:41:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 87% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Replaced rear RE001s with these. The RE002s are much better in the wet and dry.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-16 11:55:44
Writing about the Toyo R888 given 87% (225-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Used for 6 months as daily driver on a turbocharged Mk3 MR2 Roadster. Used on all types of roads, in weather ranging from hot summer to cold winter & everything in between.

Dry grip levels are truly incredible. The R888 is an R compound tyre and dry grip far exceeds any conventional 'high performance' street tyre. Performance is far higher than any other tyre I've used.

Wet grip is surprisingly good. Internet horror stories regarding using the R888 in the rain (usually by people who haven't actually run them) are overrated. In my experience as long as the user understands the relationship between rain & grip levels for ANY tyre, wet grip is actually very reasonable. Similarly, as with any tyre, if you are reasonably cautious with standing water, drivability is perfectly adequate especially for a such a highly specialised, high performance piece of equipment.

Some road noise, but perfectly acceptable for an enthusiast driver.

Wear rate is very reasonable for a track tyre, similar in duration to the Toyo T1-R.

Overall, an excellent tyre, with many strengths & very reasonable weaknesses. Understand it's nature & related characteristics, & the R888 is thoroughly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2010-06-26 20:36:32
Writing about the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 given 86% (185-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Bought a Toyota MR2-Spyder with these (185/55/15 front & 205/50/15 rear - 2014 product date) 2 years ago fitted with these (unknown to me) tyres. From the first date till now (>20.000km) I feel like I own a premium tyre. Great dry grip, feel confident on wet roads, comfort even though a little bit noisy & delivering great handling. All these notes result comparing to tyres on other (different style approach) Toyotas such as Avensis, Auris & Yaris fitted with Bridgestones Turanza T001, Uniroyal Rain Expert, Vredestein Sportrac 5, Dmack EcoXtra, Matador MP16 Stella2. Last week I bought a set of 4 for 175€ for my Yaris because the previous ones (Riken Maystorm 2 B2-lasted less than 20.000km) were unacceptable to dangerous. I noticed a great difference on handling/road resistance & even fuel economy (
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-08 11:23:28
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 84% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6500 spirited miles
I drive a Toyota MR2. Previously shod with Federals which were good but terribly noisy as they neared the 2mm safe tread limit.

I did a lot of homework on which tyres to replace them with... Price was not a factor. Initially I did not even bother to look at the Hankooks of this world until I heard they were being fitted as OEM to Audi's in South Africa.. So, I then trawled the forums and found that they were rate extremely highly.

I have found them to be a near perfect replacement. Yes, the side walls are a wee bit forgiving but that translates to comfort. They remain sufficiently firm and low profile enough to give excellent cornering support so I think they have a good balance. (I took out insurance with them to cover any possible damage as a result of wall softness].

Wet Performance: Very good. In Africa when it rains the heavens just 'open' and we get pooling on the roads... they handle this as well as anyone can reasonably expect. On normal wet road cornering they perform very well indeed.I rate them better than average by some distance.

Dry Performance: Good, better than previous tyres and better than Pirellis before them.

Road Feedback: Less than my Potenza's on my 911, but perhaps due to wall softness. Not bad though.

Progressiveness: Good, better than average. They break away progressively in spite of the mid engine 60/40 weight distribution of the car.

Wear: Average. I am not unhappy with the wear - it is even and seems in keeping with previous brands.

Comfort: Damn good. Quiet!

Buy Again: Yes, and I would fit them to my 911 if I still had it.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-23 10:16:00
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 67% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
These cars are very good on a tourism car , but absolutely not adapted for sporty cars, sidewalls are too soft , Over-inflating them doesn't resulu the problem, even if it's much more better (2.0 /2.4 for me)
Grip is excellent on dry or wet roads, but the feedback is very poor, car is floating on its tyres and their behaviour isen't precise enought.


tyre reviewed on 2015-06-17 08:09:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement