Volkswagen Golf Mk3 VR6 Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf Mk3 VR6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf Mk3 VR6
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73% 71% 76% 193,503
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (118) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,656
Marangoni Zetalinea (15) 72% 45% 64% 64% 68% 57% 51% 60% 118,500
Runway ENDURO 656 (12) 55% 31% 47% 35% 32% 34% 20% 36% 208,200

Volkswagen Golf Mk3 VR6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 86% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
There are so many different thoughts and reviews on so many different tyres, its hard to get your head round it all! I've had these SP01s for about 3 years now and became a bit disheartened recently about the increasing oversteer on what is, admitedly, a heavy engined front wheel drive car with loads of torque, even though tread markers are not even close. This was excacerbated in the wet as felt like I had such little grip whilst cornering. I've come to the conclusion that it's unlikely any other tyres would perform much better. The car is undoubtedly front heavy and has lots of torque. However, swapping the front and rear tyres over should get me maybe 25,000 miles of use from them. Also, grip was superb at first and has only dropped off recently. The one massive plus point I found is that I know exactly where I stand with them when I reach their limits. They have never just given up on me but just give a little warning to step off the power and control is regained instantly. Looked at so many other tyre reviews and, but for the fact I'd like to have a good tyre to compare these against, can't see me going for anything else in future!
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-08 20:13:03
Writing about the Primewell Sport 910 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Bought these tyres in Feb, 2015. Going into the winter season here, which pretty much is rainy. Had the last days of summer and the tyres worked superbly. Heading into the winter season I was looking forward to seeing how well the tyres held up and performed. My VR6 Golf has a bit of grunt and even during the wettest of roads the vehicle stayed attached to the surface with not much movement. I was very pleased - off course. I will definitely be purchasing these tyres again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-12 05:02:46
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
Had these on my vr6 for just under a year and was mightily impressed to the point where I buy them whenever I can. Dry grip was immense and wet grip was nothing to turn your nose up at. And as for the people saying they're lethal on standing water, they're not brilliant but how often do you drive like you stole it with that amount of standing water. They lasted about as long as any other tyre I've had on a powerful fwd car and weren't as noisy as you would expect from a tyre of this type. I can't comment on the ride comfort they delivered as I was on coilovers so bounced everywhere as it was. All in all one of the best tyres I've bough for enthusiastic driving only coming below the a048r's I currently have on my mini. Just bought another set of these for my civic and would always look into buying them.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-28 22:26:24
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Really pleased with these tyres, dry grip is awesome, wet grip is fantastic as well. Good feedback and they gradually let go when pushed.
tyre reviewed on 2010-06-22 22:29:35
Writing about the Marangoni Zetalinea given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Best dry-grip tires ever. Don't listen to all the morons driving on standard car susspension telling you the handling is bad and sharp or curb driving is disappointig. I drive a Golf Vr6 220HP with ebay-cheap sport suspension and I get stomachaches before losing grip in curbs. On wet surfaces the tires don't perform that good, so i'd say standard or slightly less. Looking for the optimal dry-grip while saving good bucks, go for Zetalinea.
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-11 13:38:07
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 81% (190-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Bought to replace worn Pilot Exaltos as I was on a budget. Once they had a few hundred miles on them and the initial greasy feel of new tyres had gone they perfomed very well. They are MUCH quieter that the pilots, although the pilots were worn and worn tyres can get louder. They squeel sooner than the pilots but outright dry grip is only very slightly lower, if at all. Wet grip is great both under braking, you have to really try to get the ABS to come on, and cornering. Both Dry and Wet this is a prdictable and progressive tyre with good feed back and a quiet comfortable ride. They are wearing reasonably well so far with 7000 miles on them and about 50% wear on the fronts having been driven quite hard on a 170hp front drive car. But at the price if they only last 10000 then still a bargin. If you dont mind not having, or paying for, a premium name then these are great (and they are owned by Continental)
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-09 12:51:02
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 656 given 32% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 900 average miles
Called into the local tyre fitters -was going to have Goodyear Eagle replacments but they didnt have them when I called but had these Runway Enduro,s - I never heard of them but they assured me they were good medium grade tyres- reasonably prices so I had a pair put on.
My first two trips out were long distance motorway ones on cold wet days -The car didnt feel comfortable and seemed slippery -then on B road roundabouts felt very slippery and uncertain - At first I put this down to the poor weather conditions- my second trip in similar conditions proved much the same- I drove more carefully than normal thinking it was the road conditions although I had never experianced such situations before (even though the previous set of Goodyears were wearing down)-- then the penny dropped that it must be the tyres- after some internet research this situation seems common to these tyres- In the dry they seem fair, but I,ve never pushed anywhere near limits-In all I,ve lost confidence in these tyres , though I,ve done about 900 miles-I,m getting rid of them in the next few days !!!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-28 23:12:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre