Avon ZV7

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 71%
Wear 80%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 82%

The Avon ZV7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5

Show All

Tyre review data from 52 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 263,381 miles driven.

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Acceptable handling on wet surfaces
  • Negative - Poor resistance to aquaplaning, low limit of grip on dry surfaces, slow steering response on dry surfaces, high rolling resistance. Disappointing result for a new tyre

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning result, good comfort.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, average price.

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 15th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances on dry roads
  • Negative - Slow steering response in the dry and wet, long wet braking distances
  • Overall - Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R15 82V   E A 68  
195/55 R15 85V   E A 69  
205/60 R15 91V   E A 69  
205/45 R16 83W   E A 69  
195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70  
195/55 R16 87V   E A 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70  
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70  

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £63.43 - £67.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £67.00 - £71.02 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £66.10 - £77.18 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £56.28 - £63.80 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 36 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Avon ZV7 Review

Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
226 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016   

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the ZV7.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 78% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 16,000 miles
These are a decent tyre which wear well. Ride quality is a plus point also as is low noise but they are less good over rougher surfaces. I also found wet grip and wet roadholding to be decent if uninspiring.

The AV7s do have negative points as well though. The tyre slip angles seem high which manifest as a generally unreactive and imprecise, albeit less so, tyre. Similarly, dry roadholding is not great (but not terrible either) and it is not hard to have the ZV7s squeal with even somewhat enthusiastic use.

Issues aside; these are a performance per £ bargain. They are a forgiving enough tyre and therefore safe which provide decent enough feedback. They do what is intended. That is; the ZV7 is an impressive touring tyre which has no sporting pretentions. It is absolutely safe, wears well and is quiet and smooth and performs subjectively better in the wet. All this for a tenner more than a cheap and nasty alternative mean the ZV7 is a good tyre which I suspect people will like more than professional test scores suggest.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2018   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Got these on my Octavia VRS mk2 FL after swapping out the Michelin Pilot sports. PS were ok but expensive. The Avon ZV7s are fantastic value, I’ve only tested in the current summer and dry but definately feels as equally as grippy as the Michelin’s. I also had the ZV5’s on my old Lexus IS250 and was happy then also but the Octy a
Is a different type of car.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2018   
Fancy winning a set of 4 tyres, fully fitted? Click below and enter!
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar X Type Estate 2.0D (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
An update on my previous review. I completed 12000 miles on the Avon ZV7's. They were fitted to the front of my Jag and were very close to the limit. I drive all types of roads and they coped very well in all weather's. I was impressed overall but I still think Goodyear make a better all round tyre. The tyres were in good shape after the hard miles they did and if you are looking for a great mid range tyre with top level abilities for a lower price, go with these.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2018   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Good tyres wet or dry, give plenty of feedback, also quiet running and so far the wear rate looks good, I will be buying these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2018   
Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
World of difference from firestone in noise levels road holding seems very good in dry , not out much in rain yet but appeared to be acceptable, basically very good tyre for cost and definitely as good as many other in higher price bracket . Would be more than happy to purchase these tyres again ....
2 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2018   

See all 51 customer reviews of the Avon ZV7 (newest first) >>

Advertisement