Avon ZV7

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 69%
Wear 77%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 80%

The Avon ZV7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5

Show All

Tyre review data from 44 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 220,071 miles driven.

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Acceptable handling on wet surfaces
  • Negative - Poor resistance to aquaplaning, low limit of grip on dry surfaces, slow steering response on dry surfaces, high rolling resistance. Disappointing result for a new tyre

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning result, good comfort.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, average price.

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 15th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances on dry roads
  • Negative - Slow steering response in the dry and wet, long wet braking distances
  • Overall - Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R15 82V   E A 68  
195/55 R15 85V   E A 69  
205/60 R15 91V   E A 69  
205/45 R16 83W   E A 69  
195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70  
195/55 R16 87V   E A 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70  
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70  

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £61.90 - £98.87 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £66.50 - £77.90 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £68.60 - £126.90 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £59.00 - £66.00 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £66.00 - £73.70 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Avon ZV7 Review

Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
214 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016   

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the ZV7.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Honda CR V III (225/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Very good tyre for the money, car felt solid and stable in the dry stops well and steers with good precision, can't comment on grip at the limit, as it's a SUV.
Wet grip doesn't have a noticeable drop in performance from dry grip, doesn't aquaplane badly.
Wear I think was pretty good they lasted over 12k miles on the front and the rears are at about 4mm.
Quiet and comfortable. Must have a stiffer sidewall than the Toyo cf2 SUV tyres I've replaced them with as the Toyota feel lazy on turn in.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
215/55 R16 97W XL: Punches above weight! Although this is a mid-range tyre it easily felt equal to bridgestone T001s i had on before. The did not feel as responsive in the dry as the Dunlop Blu response that came on the car when i bought it but they are quite a bit cheaper and have better wear. In the wet is where i feel this tyre comes into its own. It gives me plenty of confidence on well soaked roads and really seems to love damp or greasy roads with so much grip. As i drive a mondeo estate i always purchase the extra load rated tyres. (New ZV7s fitted to front 3 months ago. Rears are 1 year old ZV7s with 7mm tread left) Excellent wear.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2018   
Trying to pick the BEST tyre possible for your car? Watch this!
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I fitted these to the front our B7 Passat to replace the dreadful Continental Contisport 5s that came with it new. The car used to hop around corners but became fluid and smooth. I put ZV5s on the back 3 years ago and they have 4mm of tread left after doing 20000miles. The ZV7 on the front is showing faster wear, down to 4mm after 12,000 miles. They are a comfortable tyre and the rim protectors seem good, contradicting another reviewer. One important factor though is that you MUST get the tracking spot on after fitting these. This will apply to any tyre but these seem particularly sensitive. The Passat was really suffering road noise with the Continentals but is noticeable quieter now.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2018   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C5 (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Put two of these on the rear at the end of Jan 18. Took the car to Germany and covered over a 1k miles and very happy with performance. The tyres have now covered about 2.5k miles. They replaced Michelin tyres and were perfect in our recent poor weather down south. So impressed have just had another two fitted after rotating and the remaining Michelins were almost down to the wear bars. Good price at £52 + VAT for a good mid range tyre better than half the price of the premium originally fitted. So far worth the difference in price to the budgets on offer at the same fitting outfit. Would buy again (and have) based on experience so far.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2018   
Toyota (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Good all round performance. Nothing spectacular bit will do it's job
Wear is poor, front tyres down to wear markers on less than 15k.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2018   

See all 43 customer reviews of the Avon ZV7 (newest first) >>

Advertisement