Avon ZV7

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 71%
Wear 78%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%

The Avon ZV7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5

Show All

Tyre review data from 56 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 284,406 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Quietest tyre on test.
  • Negative - Weakest tyre in the dry and wet.

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning result, good comfort.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, average price.

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 16th of 47 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R15 82V   E A 68  
195/55 R15 85V   E A 69  
205/60 R15 91V   E A 69  
205/45 R16 83W   E A 69  
195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70  
195/55 R16 87V   E A 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70  
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70  

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £61.50 - £65.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £45.00 - £60.80 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £62.60 - £78.80 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £66.10 - £67.80 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £58.30 - £70.19 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Avon ZV7 Review

Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
243 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016   

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the ZV7.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 81% while driving a Rover 75 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
Would have lasted 20k miles were it not for a pot hole paid £240 fitted at Halfords. Quiet, good feed back, great in the cold and wet plus cornering was excellent. Replaced with Michelin PS4, I think I should have stayed with the Avons!
2 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2018   
Given 57% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I have a 2012 e350 and fitted these tyres only 4 months previously having had the wheel alignment done twice as I had the fronts done 2 months after. I drive very steadily, and have only done 3000 miles on them. They are evenly worn down to the canvass. The wear is staggeringly bad and I’ll be heading back to the garage to seek a refund as the previous tyres lasted well over 18 months.
The car is in excellent condition having been bought from Mercedes last year. I can only assume it’s a manufacturing issue as the car has been thoroughly checked. The fronts are fine at the moment. As they were only changed 2 months ago.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Nissan LEAF Tekna (205/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 25 easy going miles
Just had them fitted to a Nissan Leaf and upsized from 16 inch to 17, quieter and softer than the original Dunlop,but have yet to test the energy economy.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 22, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Toyota GT86 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These have been great over the summer on my RWD GT86, I think they re better in the dry than the Goodyear Eagle F1 AS2's that they replaced, quieter too, but perhaps not quite a good in the wet (need more miles and wet weather to tell). I change rims to winter tyres ever year so won't be able to comment about winter use, but as a summer tyre these are great value, very good quality, and I don't regret buying them at all (and would buy them again without hesitation), the fact that they are made in the UK is also a real bonus.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2018   
Given 78% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 16,000 miles
These are a decent tyre which wear well. Ride quality is a plus point also as is low noise but they are less good over rougher surfaces. I also found wet grip and wet roadholding to be decent if uninspiring.

The AV7s do have negative points as well though. The tyre slip angles seem high which manifest as a generally unreactive and imprecise, albeit less so, tyre. Similarly, dry roadholding is not great (but not terrible either) and it is not hard to have the ZV7s squeal with even somewhat enthusiastic use.

Issues aside; these are a performance per £ bargain. They are a forgiving enough tyre and therefore safe which provide decent enough feedback. They do what is intended. That is; the ZV7 is an impressive touring tyre which has no sporting pretentions. It is absolutely safe, wears well and is quiet and smooth and performs subjectively better in the wet. All this for a tenner more than a cheap and nasty alternative mean the ZV7 is a good tyre which I suspect people will like more than professional test scores suggest.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2018   

See all 55 customer reviews of the Avon ZV7 (newest first) >>