Volkswagen polo gti 1.8t Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen polo gti 1.8t? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen polo gti 1.8t
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (35) 98% 76% 92% 93% 75% 72% 94% 86% 206,505
Nokian WR A4 (12) 85% 90% 88% 79% 80% 88% 86% 85% 28,599
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (106) 86% 75% 79% 78% 69% 66% 65% 74% 1,169,403
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506

Volkswagen polo gti 1.8t Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 90% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 31000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-14 13:48:25
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 90% (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Brilliant grip in the dry, good grip in the wet and great response.

I got these tyres as a replacement to the Hankook Ventus tyres that were on the car and what a difference they have made.

Would definitely consider buying these tyres again. They have been on the car now for four thousand miles and they have barely worn down at all.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-11 12:23:12
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 87% (205-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Recently replaced the standard Pirelli p-zeros on my 08 Polo GTI with Michelin Pilot Sport 3's all round. Honestly they have transformed my car. The handling is drastically improved but so is the comfort and the road noise. They are not the cheapest tyre but I'd recommend them to anyone.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-15 09:44:36
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 82% (205-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1500 average miles
I was unsure about going for these tyres as they were more expensive than the tyres I had before. I had been using Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2 on before. They were great tyres and are probably better all rounders. However, these new Yokohoma tyres are so much better in the dry. They grip so well.

Would I buy again? For sure! Would I buy if I wasn't so interested in performance? No. It depends what you want from a tyre. For me, no looking back! My MPG has dropped by about 1 MPG over the Goodyear's and the ride is slightly harder. But I've got a GTi for a reason!
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-05 17:59:47
Writing about the Nokian WR A4 given 80% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 250 average miles
Having gone from a summer UHP tyre of the same size exactly i feel this review would be most helpful to those people doing the same as most people I have spoken to have a different size wheel and tyre combination during summer to those fitted in winter.
I purposely looked for a winter tyre I could fit to the exact same wheel size with the exact same ratios. The Nokian was the only available tyre, the tyre had a tad less grip on all surfaces for the first few hundred miles that I have put down to any oils and compounds used to separate the tyres from the moulds when initially made, however after time this has passed and the tyre behaves and stops well and so far I have very little complaints, I'm sure if driven hard in either wet or cold conditions the tyre would reach limits quicker than the summer tyre normally fitted would, however in the very cold the tyre does seem to grip well with very little wheel spin on acceleration.
It could be all in my head, but i do feel as if the behaviour of the tyres also improves with colder weather, an example been that traction and road holding on cambered roads and rounder-bouts seems better when the temperature is bellow 7 degrees than it would be approaching 10 degrees. I would like to think that come snow I should be in a better position commuting on these tyres than I would be on the Bridgestone S001 summer tyres usually fitted and so far have yet to see any characteristics of this tyre that come across as unsafe, unpredictable or scary.
That's not to say I would necessarily drive this car with these tyres on winter roads the same way I would with UHP tyres in good summer weather.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-07 13:10:47
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 79% (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 65000 average miles
These were original equipment on my Polo GTi. I have had one sidewall failure (Irish potholed roads....) but apart from that they have been fantastic. Replacement is expensive though, so I may have to look at another premium brand. If price wasn't an issue I would 100% buy these again given the performance and life.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-01 12:15:50
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 67% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
a very comfortable tyre and quiet, good in the dry and they were very average in the wet at first but the longer i had them the worse they got, after 1000 miles they were useless as they lost their tread unbelievably fast. Dunlop 3000 and sport maxx miles better with wet and dry grip but not as comfy. The yoko paradas look well but dont last in a good state, wont buy again if i can help it
tyre reviewed on 2009-07-28 08:00:49
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 66% (215-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
Pros: When they get hot the dry grip is absolutely amazing!
Cons: they are really hard, would not recommend them for daily driven cars
Bottom line: a great value for money
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-19 16:05:52
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 63% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Good tyre nothing special i do have them on Polo GTI, and BMW. I do check pressure every week but i wouldn't be able to get 30k. I do love driving cars and motorbikes so i do use cars to full potential sometimes.would i buy again probably not. I am not Bridgestone guy, only because i have better all round tyres, and i do find them a bit stiff, maybe on the smooth road would be a diffrent review but Sydney roads are pretty bad.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-21 08:35:30
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 57% (205-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
These tyres are good in the dry and not too noisy.

However in the wet they are pretty poor. They are nowhere near fully worn yet. With them being poor in wet since I got the car I am considering replacing them way before they are due to be replaced.

Would I buy this tyre again, definitely not. I used to run Vredestein on my old car and will probably go back to them in the future.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-09 11:33:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre