Yamaha R1 Tyres

Drive a Yamaha R1? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Yamaha R1
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S21 (2) 100% 100% 100% 100% 0% 100% 100% 100% 260
Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 (1) 100% 0% 100% 100% 50% 90% 100% 90% 1,800
Michelin Pilot Power 3 (4) 90% 83% 90% 95% 85% 88% 88% 88% 18,000
Dunlop Sportsmart (10) 93% 78% 89% 90% 82% 84% 96% 87% 39,700
Avon 3D Ultra Sport (8) 95% 75% 90% 88% 67% 88% 98% 86% 10,307
Dunlop Sportmax Qualifier D209 (10) 90% 76% 92% 83% 69% 95% 83% 84% 40,075
Michelin Power RS (8) 99% 72% 93% 94% 66% 74% 90% 84% 10,600
Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa (19) 93% 66% 89% 88% 70% 86% 85% 82% 46,406
Michelin Pilot Power 2CT (9) 91% 74% 84% 61% 78% 86% 84% 80% 41,112
Dunlop SportSmart TT (3) 100% 20% 93% 100% 63% 73% 100% 79% 3,000
Bridgestone S20 (11) 88% 78% 81% 87% 52% 80% 72% 77% 25,870
Michelin Power Pure (4) 80% 75% 73% 75% 78% 88% 63% 76% 9,500
Bridgestone Battlax BT 003RS (1) 90% 70% 80% 80% 60% 70% 80% 76% 3,500
Avon Viper Supersport AV60 (5) 86% 64% 74% 66% 74% 80% 76% 74% 10,600
Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact (4) 88% 70% 73% 55% 73% 83% 70% 73% 14,500
Pirelli Diablo Corsa III (10) 87% 68% 81% 65% 55% 75% 61% 70% 32,756
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 (11) 83% 65% 76% 79% 34% 63% 48% 64% 20,190
Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 (22) 72% 48% 65% 69% 51% 65% 50% 60% 73,400
Pirelli Diablo Rosso (5) 70% 33% 68% 58% 70% 74% 40% 59% 11,500
Dunlop Sportmax D207e (5) 70% 58% 58% 54% 46% 62% 40% 55% 12,650
Avon 3D Ultra (2) 55% 10% 50% 5% 60% 60% 55% 42% 450

Yamaha R1 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S21 given 100% (190-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 160 spirited miles
I recently purchased a pair of these for my 05 R1. Despite the stock rear being a 190/50, I went for the 190/55.

160 miles in (60 of that were rapid laps around a brand new set of national speed limit roundabouts on a dry day averaging 22 degrees centigrade before writing this) and I am already extremely happy with them. They have more grip now than my previous Rosso II’s ever did and feel phenomenal round the bends when they have even been scrubbed fully in yet.

Part will be down to the different aspect ratio sure. (if you have the same bike you must pick up this size.)
But a lot of it is down to just how good the tyres are.

This is of course subject to change. And I will update the unknown But so far I would definitely recommend them for the sheer pleasure they provide alone.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-14 19:16:00
Writing about the Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact given 97% (190-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Best sport tyre Ive put on a sports bike , best wet grip from a sticky tyre , used to be a big fan of diablos until I tried these and the m5 does it all better than the diabo on my 7 th set of m5
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-10 09:29:39
Writing about the Michelin Power Pure given 96% (190-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
On the very first ride you will notice Michelins light tyre technology, I felt the bike was much more eager to turn, it was almost similar to riding with lighter wheels. They are not as quick to warm here in South Wales as I was expecting, but they are not bad. The front is not as confidence inspiring as I had hoped for but will not move on the edge. In fairness I am used to a road legal track tyre with a medium compund so this tyre is really quite impressive. The reason I felt the need to write was its wet grip. Now this is a different story, this tyre is amazing!!! I was able to push hard over the mountains and the tyre did not slip once, common sense stops you from kicking the arse out of it, but I reckon given its wet grip you will be hard pushed to find a better all round tyre. This tyre could only be bettered by the same tyre with different compund choices!!! Another thing is, I am not exactly sure where this tyre lives in the market place, the media on it is confusing, is it a road tyre? or a road legal track tyre? if it is a road tyre then this is the best tyre money can buy fact. If its a road legal track tyre its great also but not the best. Great job Michelin miss you guys on the GP circuit on the mountain roadss, I hate bridgestones they just can't cut it out there
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-16 08:21:09
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 3 given 96% (190-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I ride a 2005 Yamaha YZFR1 with a lot of mods. The new Michelin Pilot Power 3 has met all of my expectations and then some. I have used the Metzler, Bridgestone, and Pirelli tires. I just switched from the Michelin 2CT to the new Pilot Power 3 and I have to say they have really out done themselves this time. I will definitely buy another set when these are toast!
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-01 06:04:37
Writing about the Avon 3D Ultra given 95% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
Polar opposite of the last review... These tyres - just used on a spirited 200 miles round the Lake District were a joy. Never reached their limits of grip. Stable, right to the edge of the tyre, comfy ride, tip in sweetly. Tyre surface grained up beautifully wit no overheating and certainly didn't go 'shiny'.
Can't comment on wear yet - but no reason to think they would wear prematurely.
A cracking road tyre - will definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-24 08:24:12
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-22 23:26:10
Writing about the Dunlop SportSmart TT given 90% (190-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought these as I wanted a tyre that was usable on the road and could handle the odd track day, these do both with ease, they have super fast warm up time something you don't really get with track focus tyres but these are different. On the road you will not find there limits not unless your Michel dunlop or some other road racing god... On the track the same applies these really are a fantastic tyre, don't buy these if you want to use them to do 1000s miles up and down the motorway as they will not last... Expect no more than 3000 miles depending on how hard you ride..
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-11 09:49:39
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 2CT given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
A brilliant tyre, rarely used in the wet, but the dry grip is phonominal, massive lean angle and knee down grip, front end lets you know when your pushing too hard before it lets go! I have had these tyre's on since last summer and the centre line is still round and loads left. I wont even bother looking elseware for tyre's I'm going for the 2ct again next year!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-24 08:55:18
Writing about the Dunlop Sportmax Qualifier D209 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
had these on a 2009 R1 and a 2010 R1. done motorways, town, silverstone in the wet and dry. tyres are awesome in the dry, however if you just commute, they arent for you. the sides are very sticky and give plenty of warning on a big bend before you go falling off and dying, wet grip is fine if you adjust your riding style accordingly. under hard braking these bad boys just sink their teeth into the road and you WILL stop. you'll go over the bars before the front skids out if your doing it right.

full confidence in this tyre and would definatley buy again fo road and track.

you will chew through a pair in 1000 miles if you hack it though!! quite pricey, but if you've got a cheap bike then go and buy cheap tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-06 16:08:56
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa given 87% (190-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 average miles
I've had the opportunity to sample various tyres over the years, ranging from BT015's and others, Pilot Pures, Pilot Power 2CT's, Pilot Road 2's...and recently Pirelli DRC's.
While I love the Pilot Power 2CT tyres, I cannot express in enough words my total satisfaction in the Pirelli DRC's !
At just on 6,500 miles to date (~10,000km), the middle of the rear tyre is borderline legal, with extremely even wear from middle to either side evident, as marvelled by several bike service centres recently. These tyres (DRC's) have provided me with immense confidence both in the dry AND the wet.
They provide quick tipping-in to corners with supreme levels of grip. On a recent interstate ride, they displayed great handling qualities with VERY spirited riding in standing water conditions, heavy showers and uneven, bumpy road surfaces - the latter unplanned, of course !
I cannot recommend these tyres enough and very shortly will be replacing these with the same brand. Congrats Pirelli on producing a magnificent tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-07 13:40:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre