tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Barum Brillantis 2


Show all: Barum tyres, Passenger Car Summer Touring tyres
The Barum Brillantis 2 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 24 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 160,629 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Barum Brillantis
 


Barum Brillantis 2
Dry Grip
76%

Wet Grip
59%

Road Feedback
66%

Progressiveness
65%

Wear
76%

Comfort
76%

Buy again
72%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £35.70 - £51.10 (9 prices)
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Barum Brillantis 2 Reviews

Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 205 (165-70-13-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Can only compare with the horrendous Toyos I had on the car before but these are much smoother to drive, better grip both in the dry and particularly the wet. The Toyos scared me in the wet a couple of times as they gave up grip without warning and I wasn't driving recklessly. I then changed the Toyos even though they had plenty of tread left on them. The Barums also seem to make the steering a bit lighter which is good as the car doesn't have power steering. They are predictable as well - you know when you are at the edge of grip before you end up in a hedge. Wear is difficult to give an opinion on as the mileage we do is very low but they seem to be wearing evenly. Reasonably priced tyre at about £40 each fully fitted and will definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on August 15, 2014   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Camry (195-70-14-T)
Driving on mostly motorways for 17,000 easy going miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on July 1, 2014   
Looking to buy the Barum Brillantis 2? Click here to search for the best price for the Barum Brillantis 2 or any other tyre.
 
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Dacia Logan (175-80-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Cheap, trustworthy, comfortable, quiet (enough) and reliable.

Very predictable on dry, less so in the wet, but still within safe limits.

175/80-14 squeals a bit on tight, mountainy hairpins; otherwise car tracks like a train on them and - as far as this kind of car lets you - they are willing to have the car thrown around on them.

Wear is not an issue yet and I also don't expect it to become one.

On original 185/65-15 the car was a bit thrashy on sudden ridges, unloaded. Switching to 175/80-14 gave a very comfortable ride, all-round, on these Barums.

Recommendable - at least for the more conventional driver - and I would certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on February 16, 2014   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Note SE (185-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
(see review March 9, 2012)

Easy decision to go Barum Brillantis 2s again.

Amazing value as previous ones lasted nearly 38,000 miles (down to bars). They were 3 months on the rear then 9 months on the front, then 10 months on rear again. They were moved to back when I fitted Conti Eco 5s which lasted only 9 months on front ! (15000 miles !).

The contis were £75 each the Barums £52.

Very happy to have Barums again. They are well suited to rear as the stiffer side wall reduces body roll. Always gripped Ok, always quiet. Very happy to have them again.

(now mixed with very good Goodyear efficient grip performance on front (which were replacements for the poor wearing Contis 2 months ago.))

I will not be buying Conti Ecos again. Barums YES. Excellent Value.

tyre reviewed on January 23, 2014   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Starlet Glanza V (185-55-14-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Decided to scrimp on tyres again last year, as my motoring interests lay elsewhere. The tyres were recommended by the garage, read a couple of reviews and they seemed ok. Got a set fitted, they were cheap.

The dry grip on these tyres is good, they had a lot of feedback in the dry and could confidently corner at speed. The wear on them is excellent as well, I would note however that they do squeal a bit on some surfaces. Got some funny looks cornering sharply as they were squealing, for what would seem like not that sharp a corner. Now, on to the wet...

I felt these tyres were ok in the wet at first, but have now decided they are pretty dangerous if you are travelling at any speed. They lose grip quickly and you will find yourself understeering towards the kerb. I learned to just deal with this and playfully slide the car about but it's not ideal, I would like to be able to drive properly in the wet with proper tyres.

I have ran Barum Bravuris before and they seem about on par with these, if a little better in the wet. I will be replacing these with Uniroyal Rainsport 3's this week and keeping these tyres for track days, dry track days. Plenty of tread left on them.
tyre reviewed on December 29, 2013   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Ford KA 1.3 (165-65-13-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Good Tyre if your on a budget, they have worn well which most budgets don't (after about 10,000, still got good most of their tread). The grip is also quite good in the wet, id know breaking heavy on wet & muddy country roads without any ABS and the fact that my tyres are quite narrow. My only query is that iv noticed the tyre walls are quite soft and flexible when doing the pressures, but this hasn't really changed the steering feedback. A good all-round tyre for a small car.
tyre reviewed on November 19, 2013   
Given 41% (breakdown) while driving a Suzuki Swift 1.5 (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Awful very dangerous tyre no grip in the wet like driving on ice.
Average to poor in the dry.
Breaks away easily on roundabouts even in the dry if slihtly pushed.
tyre reviewed on September 21, 2013   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 (165-65-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on August 8, 2013   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Yugo (165-65-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on July 31, 2013   
Given 44% (breakdown) while driving a Ford festiva (165-65-13-T)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I had an accident because the road was wet. the tyres didnt grip at all, it was like been on ice, very dangerous!!!
tyre reviewed on July 19, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: