Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 59%
Progressiveness 56%
Wear 70%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 52%
Goodyear EfficientGrip

The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Excellence

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Show All

Tyre review data from 94 tyre reviews averaging 64% over 1,001,201 miles driven.

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 82H   E C 69 6.86kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C C 69 7.26kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E B 68  
185/55 R15 82H   C C 68  
185/55 R15 82H   B E 67 6.57kgs
185/55 R15 82H   B C 66 6.62kgs
195/55 R15 85H Segment 1 E C 67  
195/55 R15 85V   C C 69  
195/55 R15 85H   C C 69  
195/55 R15 85V   E B 67 7.58kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C C 69  
195/60 R15 88V   C B 69  
195/60 R15 88H   C C 69 7.63kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C C 69  
205/60 R15 95H XL Segment 1 C B 69  
205/60 R15 91H Segment 1 C C 69  
185/65 R15 88H Segment 1 C B 69  
195/65 R15 91H   C C 69 7.97kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B C 71 9.12kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 70 9.13kgs
195/65 R15 91H Segment 1 C B 68  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 68  
195/65 R15 91V   C C 69  
205/65 R15 94H Segment 1 C C 69  
205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 69  
195/45 R16 84V XL   C C 66 7.13kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   B C 66  
205/45 R16 83W   E B 69  
205/50 R16 87W   C B 69  
195/55 R16 87V Segment 1 C B 69  
195/55 R16 87H Segment 1 C B 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C B 66 11.17kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B E 67  
205/55 R16 91V   A C 67 7.95kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C C 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C C 68  
205/55 R16 91W   C C 69  
205/55 R16 91W AO C B 66  
205/55 R16 91H   C B 70  
205/55 R16 91H   C C 68 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 91H Segment 1 B C 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 68 10.74kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C B 67 9.66kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 70  
215/55 R16 93W   C B 70  
215/55 R16 93H   C B 67 9.60kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C B 70  
225/55 R16 95W   C C 69  
225/55 R16 99Y XL   B B 70  
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69 8.35kgs
205/60 R16 92H   E B 68 9.21kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C C 69  
205/60 R16 92H Segment 1 C B 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 68 9.87kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B B 69  
205/60 R16 92W   C B 67 12.23kgs
205/60 R16 92W   C C 67 8.46kgs
215/60 R16 95H   B B 71 9.89kgs
215/60 R16 95W Segment 2 C B 69  
225/60 R16 102V XL   B B 70  
225/60 R16 98W Segment 2 B C 70  
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 69 11.50kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL Segment 2 E B 70  
215/40 R17 87W XL          
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL   E C 72 9.09kgs
255/40 R17 94Y Segment 2 C C 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C C 70 8.23kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E B 68 10.09kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 91W          
235/45 R17 94W   C B 70 9.64kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   C C 70  
245/45 R17 95Y   C C 70  
245/45 R17 95W   E B 69 11.44kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C B 69 11.44kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL Segment 2 C C 69  
205/50 R17 89V   B A 66 8.69kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 66 10.83kgs
205/50 R17 89Y   C A 66 10.83kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 72 9.10kgs
215/50 R17 91V   C C 71  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C C 68 10.25kgs
215/50 R17 91V   E B 70 9.51kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C C 70  
235/50 R17 96W   C B 68 11.68kgs
215/55 R17 94V Segment 1 C B 70  
215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 C C 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C B 68 10.36kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   E C 67 10.94kgs
225/55 R17 101H XL   C C 71 11.64kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 70  
235/55 R17 99Y   C C 67 11.25kgs
215/60 R17 96H Segment 1 C B 69  
235/60 R17 102V   C C 68 12.33kgs
235/60 R17 102Y AO C C 68  
255/35 R18 94Y XL          
225/40 R18 92W XL Segment 2 C B 70  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C C 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 71  
255/40 R18 95V   E C 69 13.63kgs
255/40 R18 95W   E B 69 13.63kgs
255/40 R18 95Y   E C 69 13.63kgs
225/45 R18 91V   E B 69 12.18kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E B 69 12.18kgs
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 69 12.18kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   C B 67 14.36kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 68 11.13kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL          
255/45 R18 99Y   E C 69 11.70kgs
245/50 R18 100W   B B 68 14.96kgs
235/55 R18 100Y   E C 67 12.70kgs
235/55 R18 104Y XL   C C 68 12.60kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C C 69 14.18kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C B 70 15.69kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C B 70  
235/45 R19 95V   C A 67 12.70kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 14.37kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 14.31kgs
255/50 R19 103Y   E B 71 17.89kgs
285/40 R20 104Y   E B 70 17.75kgs
255/45 R20 101Y   E B 70 15.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip

2016-04-28 - Are Goodyear efficient grip tires unidirectional?

The Goodyear Efficient Grip is an asymmetric which means it can rotate in any direction. The tyre is marked with an "outside" and "inside" to show the tyre fitters how the tyre should be mounted on the wheel.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £52.51 - £85.99 (55 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £86.98 - £114.90 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £78.98 - £111.46 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £68.00 - £105.74 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R17 £104.16 - £168.03 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 77 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4-matic (235/60 R17 V) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres been on the GLK for 2 summer seasons. approx april 2013-oct 2013 and april 2014-oct 2014 Not used in 2015 but properly stored. Put them on rims again this week, May 3rd 2016 and the fitter showed me 2 bulges on the sidewall of one tyre. Goodyear say that I must have driven up a kurb but that's not so. May have hit a pothole at some time but I cannot remember any serious 'thump' ever occuring. Goodyear (Norway/Sweden) kindly offered to give me a new tyre for free, but I declined the offer. I spent a day "Googling" and note that several drivers comment on "soft" tyrewalls on Goodyear Efficientgrip. Note, mine are not the Performance nor the SUV version. The tyres felt fine to me while driving (only used on summer tarmac), very quiet, comfortable and responsive enough for normal driving. I have had my doubts though about the decision by Mercedes to use these as OE tyres on a 4x4 with 440 Nm torque available. I have decided that the tyres are not suitable for my vehicle type so are swapping them for Nokian Hakka Blue SUV. Hope they will inspire more confidence. A reputable tirefitter mentioned to me that the only tires he has seen with sidewall bulges problems in recent years were GY Efficient grip......and he could supply me with new ones if I wanted them! The tires may well be OK generally but I personally would not choose to have them on a medium size 4x4/Suv.
1 | - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2016   

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
I fitted these tyres to my Ford Fiesta 1.4TDCi Titanium 3 years ago. My original reasoning for choosing these tyres was for their ability to increase your fuel economy, and claims over how quiet they were (66dB on this wheel size). The car's OEM tyres were Continental Sport Contact 2s which, to me, seemed like an odd choice given the 67bhp 1.4 diesel engine which is aimed at fuel economy, and has a ‘leisurely’ (putting it diplomatically) 0-60mph time of 15 seconds!

The Good:
From the moment these tyres were fitted, I saw an instant increase in fuel economy. I noted a 5mpg gain on the first full tank of fuel. The car has continued to provide excellent fuel economy on these tyres over the past 3 years, easily averaging 65mpg, with 70+mpg on occasions in the summer months – I never got close to this on the Sport Contacts.

Wear has also been fantastic. The tyres have now completed 32,000 miles (rotated at approx. 22,000), and there is still around 5mm tread on the front tyres, and 4mm on the rear. 40-45k miles is looking realistic.

Grip levels are completely fine with the car handling roundabouts in the wet at speed, and no major loss in feel when driving sensibly - although I am starting to notice a slight decrease in grip in wet conditions now.

The Bad:
When first fitted, they were relatively quiet, although not as quiet as I expected, but still acceptable. As they passed 20,000miles however, they started to get noisier and noisier. On rougher roads, there is now a lot of road roar/rumble. I noted some reviewers below state that they experienced a noise like a wheel bearing wearing out on these tyres, and I have also found this too, especially from the rear of the car – almost like a humming sound at around 60mph.

The noise levels are becoming so bad, it is making me consider replacing them early. Comfort levels are therefore not fantastic in the long term.

Grip levels in snow are very low, even by summer tyre standards, and they are defeated by even the gentlest of slopes, but I get the feeling this is generally the case for all low rolling resistance tyres.

Overall:
These tyres have worked really well on the Fiesta, with fuel economy and wear being fantastic – a definite 10 out of 10 on those front. Comfort though does deteriorate badly as the tyre wears. Also bear in mind this Fiesta engine develops a lowly 67bhp. The Efficient Grips are definitely at their best on ‘normal’ family cars with engine power approx.
-2 | - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2016   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Lexus IS250SE (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
No comments left
-1 | - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2016   
Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
An excellent tyre.
Quieter than previous Continental Sports, and seem to be providing an extra 2mpg more.
Looking forward to when I need to change the front two Contentals to Good Year.
0 | - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2016   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4-matic (235/60 R17 V) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres been on the GLK for 2 summer seasons. approx april 2013-oct 2013 and april 2014-oct 2014 Not used in 2015 but properly stored. Put them on rims again this week, May 3rd 2016 and the fitter showed me 2 bulges on the sidewall of one tyre. Goodyear say that I must have driven up a kurb but that's not so. May have hit a pothole at some time but I cannot remember any serious 'thump' ever occuring. Goodyear (Norway/Sweden) kindly offered to give me a new tyre for free, but I declined the offer. I spent a day "Googling" and note that several drivers comment on "soft" tyrewalls on Goodyear Efficientgrip. Note, mine are not the Performance nor the SUV version. The tyres felt fine to me while driving (only used on summer tarmac), very quiet, comfortable and responsive enough for normal driving. I have had my doubts though about the decision by Mercedes to use these as OE tyres on a 4x4 with 440 Nm torque available. I have decided that the tyres are not suitable for my vehicle type so are swapping them for Nokian Hakka Blue SUV. Hope they will inspire more confidence. A reputable tirefitter mentioned to me that the only tires he has seen with sidewall bulges problems in recent years were GY Efficient grip......and he could supply me with new ones if I wanted them! The tires may well be OK generally but I personally would not choose to have them on a medium size 4x4/Suv.
1 | - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2016   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
I think my summary would be that these aren't really good enough for the money.

Grip is ok-ish wet a little worse than dry - they don't set any new records, but they aren't too bad. Steering is a little numb and lacks sensitivity but it isn't so bad that the car is too difficult to drive. Wear is little better than an out-and-out sport tyre but only a little. Noise isn't too problematic - quieter than many but not the absolute quietest.

As far as I can tell they have been reasonably economical and they aren't embarrassed by a little standing water, even at the end of their life.

The price though - you can buy an Eagle F1 Assy 2 or 3 for less; it won't last as long but look at all the stuff it will do better! Or you can buy a tyre from a mid-range manufacturer and save on the purchase price and have a tyre that probably outlasts this, while delivering a similar level of grip.
0 | - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   

See all 95 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip (newest first) >>

Write a customer review >>
Advertisement