tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear EfficientGrip


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 72 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 815,640 miles driven.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
 


Goodyear EfficientGrip
Dry Grip
75%

Wet Grip
64%

Road Feedback
59%

Progressiveness
55%

Wear
73%

Comfort
76%

Buy again
55%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £44.90 - £67.50 (18 prices)
205/55 R16 £52.75 - £88.54 (30 prices)
225/45 R17 £13.20 - £115.30 (8 prices)
225/40 R18 £95.32 - £108.00 (3 prices)
Available in 59 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
my be I got some bad one's but the road noise horrendous.
tyre reviewed on November 7, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C5 (225-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
The greatest tyre I have had so far.
I covered over 55000km in Citroen C5 (heavy luxury car) and they still have enough tread for another legal 10-15 k.
They have good grip overall and excellent stability for side wind etc
Highly recommended !!
tyre reviewed on November 5, 2014   
Looking to buy the Goodyear EfficientGrip? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear EfficientGrip or any other tyre.
 
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 316 (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
These tyres are excellent. The grip is very good in dry and excellent in wet roads. The traction control seems to be unnecessary. They are a lot more comfortable than the previous Continental PremiumContacts that I had on the same car. The grip is similar if not better. They wear very slowly and currently after 30000miles, they have still thread for at least 10000 more. Excellent choice.
tyre reviewed on June 28, 2014   
Given 0% (breakdown) while driving a BMW X1 2.0d Sdrive (225-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
The latest edition of Goodyear Efficient Grip Run Flat tyres give a much better ride compared to the very hard ride of the original GY EG RFs fitted to my BMW X1. I just hope they give the same mileage.
tyre reviewed on May 29, 2014   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo (215-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on May 28, 2014   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar S Type 2.7D (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30 average miles
Came fitted as standard on my vehicle from factory. Generally its a good tyre. Grips well in dry and wet conditions. Has a quiet and comfortable ride and wears evenly. Fuel consumption is good when running these tyres especially over long distance.
Its more of a tyre for lwb motorway cruisers and chauffeurs than your hot hatch racer. Its well composed with good road manners and stopping distance is good to excellent.
The only reason I would not buy again is the price. For my style of driving and cruising I find a mid range tyre like kumho does just as well but at a cheaper cost.
tyre reviewed on May 2, 2014   
Given 43% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp) (225-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 42,000 average miles
A good tyre should have good grip first then work as advertised. Its one hell of a noisy tyre with poor feedback.

the only good (or not so good) thing about this tyre is that it will last forever! 40,000 miles and still well within the allowable range.
tyre reviewed on March 17, 2014   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
They should be called 'inefficient grip'.
My tyre supplier fitted these in place of the Goodyear Excellence tyres which I had been really happy with.
Whilst the grip levels in the dry were OK, in the wet they were dreadful - constant wheelspin when trying to pull away and no confidence when cornering.
There was also no improvement in fuel economy.
I definitely wouldn't recommend them, or buy them again.
tyre reviewed on February 9, 2014   
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Bought these after reading reviews. Cant fault the dry or wet grip. Not a sporty tyre.
Biggest disappointment is the noise, supposed to be quiet but noise on all but the smoothest surfaces is terrible like a rumbling wheel bearing noise. Perhaps this tyre doesnt suit my car, I dont know, but would not buy again. Hope they wear out quickly so I can get some different ones!
tyre reviewed on February 6, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I have had 6 Efficient Grip and 2 Efficient Grip Performance in Total on my 55 plate Passat 1.9 TDIi. They are very quiet, have reasonable road holding, but not at extremes. They do give good consumption and better ewra than the OE Contisprts. However I would not recommend them unless you can guarantee never touching anything with the sidewalls, as they are made of cheese or something even softer. The first set developed a bulge in one of the tyres after 8K miles, meaning it was not safe and had to be replaced. I then bo
bought another pair when they fronts wore out and had a catastrophic blow out after only 10 days, meaning another £80 quid as Merit Tyre says it's down to the manufacturer to say whether there is a fault. Do not buy these tyres if you have to drive anywhere with even the slightest of rough conditions, and don't expect any support from Goodyear when they do blow
tyre reviewed on December 8, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: