tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear EfficientGrip

Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 86 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 926,681 miles driven.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Goodyear EfficientGrip
Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £39.66 - £60.10 (22 prices)
205/55 R16 £44.92 - £72.80 (31 prices)
225/45 R17 £55.55 - £105.74 (8 prices)
225/40 R18 £85.24 - £96.55 (3 prices)
Available in 86 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 3 average miles
Tried them on the rear to replace damaged Conti sport contact 5s. Absolutely horrendous levels of grip, particularly on damp roads; lethal!. Only drove a few miles and had to swap them for available alternative (Michelin Primacy 3s - seem ok so far).
tyre reviewed on November 21, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon TDi SE 110 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
This is an interesting one. I agree with some of the positives but also some of the negatives.
I have a fwd TDI and just wanted well priced tyres that would stick to the road in wet and dry conditions.
I used to run Goodrich G-Grip which I thought were pretty good (could get 30,000m out of a set). Changed to Goodyears and thought they were ok.

Good grip in wet and dry - feel sure footed and predictable
Very confident in standing water (low aquaplaning risk)
Fuel economy good (c.50 mpg)
Very predictable grip

Poor wear rate - c.22,000 miles
Soft sidewalls so some `wobble` at speed on corners
More prone to punctures? I've had 2 in 3 months.

My driving has changed from main roads to more country lanes so it may be harsh to blame the tyre for punctures. Both were small nails.
The wear rate and more noticeably weaker side walls could be because I push the car a bit more on the country roads so again it's subjective.

There is the always the trade off of grip v's wear rate so you can't have everything.

Overall they aren't a bad tyre. I feel safe using them and if you are a commuter and not planning to push them too hard then they aren't a bad tyre. Maybe not the best for the more free-spirited dirver - but again, you get what you pay for!

I will probably change to something with a stronger side wall (might go back to the Goodrich if I can find them).
tyre reviewed on September 22, 2015   
Looking to buy the Goodyear EfficientGrip? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear EfficientGrip or any other tyre.
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I bought these to try to reduce the boomy road noise of my Tiguan. The tyres that came off were nearly new Pirelli Scorpion Zeros. They had a noise rating of 71db. The Goodyear efficient grip's had a noise rating of 67db. I appreciate that this is an external drive by noise measurement however with a difference of 4db, I hoped that some of that would translate into reduced cabin noise. I opted for the non SUV tyres rather than the SUV one's owing to the latter having slightly harder shoulders and a 1db louder rating. Once the new tyres were fitted, I noticed no difference in noise level. Realising that subjectivity would skew results, I measured the interior noise level using a mobile phone app with the old tyres on and then with the new tyre I.e a before and after test on the same stretches of road and the same speeds. The results; the sound levels of the old and new tyres were identical! I feel a little bit cheated by Goodyear as they make a big thing about the efficient grip's quietness. So, lots of money spent for no improvement. Regarding ride and economy, these are no more comfortable or economical than the Pirelli Scorpion's they replaced.
I notice on this website that a lot of people say that the efficient grip is a wonderfully quiet tyre. All I can think of is that they are comparing the noise level with the well worn tyres that they are replacing. Tyres are much noisier when they are well worn than when they are new.
tyre reviewed on August 15, 2015   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
Bought a full set of 4 for my Golf GTI because they were on offer....had read the review after I had bought them but before they were fitted. I was very close to NOT having them fitted because the sidewalls are so soft and have very little resistance (If any) to deforming under heavy conrnerin). I got them fitted and they were okay in general. Any sort of spirited driving and they are not good at all. I have got 30,000 miles from the front set (mostly motorway) had them replaced with LingLong Greenmax and its then I could tell how POOR the Goodyear's were. Apart from a good service life I wouldn't buy them again, poor road feedback and average grip. Efficient Grip yes....just that...efficient grip....
tyre reviewed on August 14, 2015   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
cant comment on wear as only had for 4 weeks however had conties then verderstain and pirellis before and on my 184bhp front wheel drive Golf Covering 30k a year, they where the best tyre by far! Shocking I know but these really are good tyres.
tyre reviewed on August 9, 2015   
Given 85% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 4,000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre in all respects bar wear.

After c.4,000 miles tread is down to 3.5mm at the front!

This is on long journeys an no boy racer stupidity.

They're so good otherwise that I may buy them again when the fronts are illegal at c.7,000 miles.
tyre reviewed on August 5, 2015   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (205-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
I started with two of these tyres fitted to the front. They made an immediate impact, road noise is minimal, very comfortable ride and they grip extremely well, I've had only minimal aqua planning when going through puddles at speed. However, I got a puncture on the front right tyre after only a couple of weeks - a small thorn from some kind of bush had gone through the side wall, making a repair impossible. I then bought a replacement for the punctured one and two more so I had them fitted all round. Only two weeks in and I've just had another puncture - I ran over a sharp stone in the road !! I'm beginning to think these tyres are only suitable for motorway driving and not country roads.
tyre reviewed on July 22, 2015   
Given 62% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Despite reviews below, the very first thing i noticed was how quiet they are compared to turanzas. I assumed my rear wheel bearings were going, i had a horrible humm when at speed on Turanzas, the Efficiency grips have been a joy in the noise department, my bearings are obviously ok.
But, the pair of EGripss i fitted a few months ago are already down to 3mm to 3.5mm which surprises me, i dont thrash a car but i don't drive that slowly either.
Fair tyres for the money but i'll be watching the wear.
Probably wouldnt buy again, based on wear, but maybe you can't have it all. Maybe hard wearing tyres do tend to be noisier.
tyre reviewed on April 15, 2015   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (225-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 21, 2015   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (185-65-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
Having previously put a set of budget Nankang 611s on all corners and finding their wet grip performance bordering on dangerous and the car undriveable in certain road conditions(see my review) I vowed to upgrade to better tyres. Initially I put a pair of Toyo proxes CF1s on the front and wet grip (especially) noticeably improved. These would still occasionally wheel spin on the tight junction at the top of our road (but much better than the near daily whizz of the Nankangs), however they gave me the confidence to push the car a bit harder into wet corners. So when the Nankang rears wore out a few months later, I stepped up the tyre choice again and purchased a very competitively priced pair of Goodyear Efficient Grip. Transformation was complete! These tyres raised the confidence levels to new heights and the car was now a real joy to drive hard on any road in any conditions. A really great tyre with no wheel spin at the road junction. Have completed 21,000 miles on them and they still have probably another 5,000 to go. Not as hard wearing as some of the tyres I've had, but if used sensibly these are great value for the grip and confidence they'll provide. Surprised their overall rating here is not higher, but I guess these tyres are fitted to more powerful and harder driven machines that expose weaknesses my 1.6 motor could never discover. So if you're a sensible driver with a sensible car purchasing these will be a very sensible choice!
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Speed Rating: