Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 59%
Progressiveness 55%
Wear 70%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 52%
Goodyear EfficientGrip

The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Excellence

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Show all

Tyre review data from 91 tyre reviews averaging 64% over 988,181 miles driven.

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 82H   E C 69 6.86kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C C 69 7.26kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E B 68  
185/55 R15 82H   B E 67 6.57kgs
185/55 R15 82H   B C 66 6.62kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C C 68  
195/55 R15 85V   E B 67 7.58kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C C 69  
195/55 R15 85H   C C 69  
195/55 R15 85H Segment 1 E C 67  
185/60 R15 88H XL   C C 69  
195/60 R15 88H   C C 69 7.63kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C B 69  
205/60 R15 91V   C C 69  
205/60 R15 95H XL Segment 1 C B 69  
205/60 R15 91H Segment 1 C C 69  
185/65 R15 88H Segment 1 C B 69  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 70 9.13kgs
195/65 R15 91H Segment 1 C B 68  
195/65 R15 95H XL   B C 71 9.12kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C C 69 7.97kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C C 69  
205/65 R15 94H Segment 1 C C 69  
205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 69  
195/45 R16 84V XL   B C 66  
195/45 R16 84V XL   C C 66 7.13kgs
205/45 R16 83W   E B 69  
205/50 R16 87W   C B 69  
195/55 R16 87V Segment 1 C B 69  
195/55 R16 87H Segment 1 C B 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 68 10.74kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C C 68  
205/55 R16 91H   C B 70  
205/55 R16 91W   C B 66 11.17kgs
205/55 R16 91H Segment 1 B C 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91W AO C B 66  
205/55 R16 91V   A C 67 7.95kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C C 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C C 68  
205/55 R16 91H   C C 68 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B E 67  
215/55 R16 93H   C B 67 9.60kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C B 70  
215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 70  
215/55 R16 93V   C B 70  
215/55 R16 93V   C B 67 9.66kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C C 69  
225/55 R16 99Y XL   B B 70  
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69 8.35kgs
205/60 R16 92H Segment 1 C B 69  
205/60 R16 92V   C C 69  
205/60 R16 96W XL   B B 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 68 9.87kgs
205/60 R16 92H   E B 68 9.21kgs
205/60 R16 92W   C B 67 12.23kgs
205/60 R16 92W   C C 67 8.46kgs
215/60 R16 95W Segment 2 C B 69  
215/60 R16 95H   B B 71 9.89kgs
225/60 R16 98W Segment 2 B C 70  
225/60 R16 102V XL   B B 70  
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 69 11.50kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL Segment 2 E B 70  
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL   E C 72 9.09kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL          
255/40 R17 94Y Segment 2 C C 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C C 70 8.23kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 91W          
225/45 R17 91V   E B 68 10.09kgs
235/45 R17 94W   C B 70 9.64kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   C C 70  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C B 69 11.44kgs
245/45 R17 95W   E B 69 11.44kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C C 70  
205/50 R17 89Y   C A 66 10.83kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 66 10.83kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL Segment 2 C C 69  
205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 72 9.10kgs
205/50 R17 89V   B A 66 8.69kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C C 68 10.25kgs
215/50 R17 91V   E B 70 9.51kgs
215/50 R17 91V   C C 71 9.16kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C C 70  
235/50 R17 96W   C B 68 11.68kgs
215/55 R17 94V Segment 1 C B 70  
215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 C C 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C B 68 10.36kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   E C 67 10.94kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 70  
225/55 R17 101H XL   C C 71 11.64kgs
235/55 R17 99Y   C C 67 11.25kgs
215/60 R17 96H Segment 1 C B 69  
235/60 R17 102V   C C 68 12.33kgs
235/60 R17 102Y AO C C 68  
255/35 R18 94Y XL          
225/40 R18 92W XL Segment 2 C B 70  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C C 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 71  
255/40 R18 95V   E C 69 13.63kgs
255/40 R18 95W   E B 69 13.63kgs
255/40 R18 95Y   E C 69 13.63kgs
225/45 R18 91V   E B 69 12.18kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E B 69 12.18kgs
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 69 12.18kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL          
245/45 R18 96Y   C B 67 14.36kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 68 11.13kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   E C 69 11.70kgs
245/50 R18 100W   B B 68 14.96kgs
235/55 R18 104Y XL   C C 68 12.60kgs
235/55 R18 100Y   E C 67 12.70kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C C 69 14.18kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C B 70 15.69kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C B 70  
235/45 R19 95V   C A 67 12.70kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 14.31kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 14.37kgs
255/50 R19 103Y   E B 71 17.89kgs
285/40 R20 104Y   E B 70 17.75kgs
255/45 R20 101Y   E B 70 15.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip

2016-04-28 - Are Goodyear efficient grip tires unidirectional?

The Goodyear Efficient Grip is an asymmetric which means it can rotate in any direction. The tyre is marked with an "outside" and "inside" to show the tyre fitters how the tyre should be mounted on the wheel.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £48.13 - £82.49 (58 prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £82.00 - £97.49 (21 prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £77.78 - £105.74 (22 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £66.40 - £105.74 (10 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
I think my summary would be that these aren't really good enough for the money.

Grip is ok-ish wet a little worse than dry - they don't set any new records, but they aren't too bad. Steering is a little numb and lacks sensitivity but it isn't so bad that the car is too difficult to drive. Wear is little better than an out-and-out sport tyre but only a little. Noise isn't too problematic - quieter than many but not the absolute quietest.

As far as I can tell they have been reasonably economical and they aren't embarrassed by a little standing water, even at the end of their life.

The price though - you can buy an Eagle F1 Assy 2 or 3 for less; it won't last as long but look at all the stuff it will do better! Or you can buy a tyre from a mid-range manufacturer and save on the purchase price and have a tyre that probably outlasts this, while delivering a similar level of grip.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2016   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Audi Audi A4 1.9 Tdi 130 Sport (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 16,500 easy going miles
Managed 16500 miles on front pair of Goodyear Efficients, with 2mm remaining. No better than my previous budget tyres (Events) which managed 16000 miles with 2mm remaining. On an Audi A4 2004 tdi saloon, with steady driving, no speeding, so not sure how good the Goodyears are on the limit. But they are twice the price of budget tyres, and marketed as a long lasting tyre, would not buy these again.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Prius (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Can't really comment on grip as I'm driving a prius (automatic and hybrid) and it's fairly difficult to make it spin or anything. They feel as good as any other tyres. However, wear is really a joke. I don't think they'll make much more than 12k miles...
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2016   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a MG 6 (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
one of the worst tyre i have seen. i changed it after 12000 km.tyre grip in wet surfaces was so scary. and the car was so noisy. after changing the tyre i recognized how bad the tyre was.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2015   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 3 average miles
Tried them on the rear to replace damaged Conti sport contact 5s. Absolutely horrendous levels of grip, particularly on damp roads; lethal!. Only drove a few miles and had to swap them for available alternative (Michelin Primacy 3s - seem ok so far).
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon TDi SE 110 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
This is an interesting one. I agree with some of the positives but also some of the negatives.
I have a fwd TDI and just wanted well priced tyres that would stick to the road in wet and dry conditions.
I used to run Goodrich G-Grip which I thought were pretty good (could get 30,000m out of a set). Changed to Goodyears and thought they were ok.

Positives
Good grip in wet and dry - feel sure footed and predictable
Very confident in standing water (low aquaplaning risk)
Fuel economy good (c.50 mpg)
Very predictable grip

Negatives
Poor wear rate - c.22,000 miles
Soft sidewalls so some `wobble` at speed on corners
More prone to punctures? I've had 2 in 3 months.

My driving has changed from main roads to more country lanes so it may be harsh to blame the tyre for punctures. Both were small nails.
The wear rate and more noticeably weaker side walls could be because I push the car a bit more on the country roads so again it's subjective.

There is the always the trade off of grip v's wear rate so you can't have everything.

Overall they aren't a bad tyre. I feel safe using them and if you are a commuter and not planning to push them too hard then they aren't a bad tyre. Maybe not the best for the more free-spirited dirver - but again, you get what you pay for!

I will probably change to something with a stronger side wall (might go back to the Goodrich if I can find them).
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2015   
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I bought these to try to reduce the boomy road noise of my Tiguan. The tyres that came off were nearly new Pirelli Scorpion Zeros. They had a noise rating of 71db. The Goodyear efficient grip's had a noise rating of 67db. I appreciate that this is an external drive by noise measurement however with a difference of 4db, I hoped that some of that would translate into reduced cabin noise. I opted for the non SUV tyres rather than the SUV one's owing to the latter having slightly harder shoulders and a 1db louder rating. Once the new tyres were fitted, I noticed no difference in noise level. Realising that subjectivity would skew results, I measured the interior noise level using a mobile phone app with the old tyres on and then with the new tyre I.e a before and after test on the same stretches of road and the same speeds. The results; the sound levels of the old and new tyres were identical! I feel a little bit cheated by Goodyear as they make a big thing about the efficient grip's quietness. So, lots of money spent for no improvement. Regarding ride and economy, these are no more comfortable or economical than the Pirelli Scorpion's they replaced.
I notice on this website that a lot of people say that the efficient grip is a wonderfully quiet tyre. All I can think of is that they are comparing the noise level with the well worn tyres that they are replacing. Tyres are much noisier when they are well worn than when they are new.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2015   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
Bought a full set of 4 for my Golf GTI because they were on offer....had read the review after I had bought them but before they were fitted. I was very close to NOT having them fitted because the sidewalls are so soft and have very little resistance (If any) to deforming under heavy conrnerin). I got them fitted and they were okay in general. Any sort of spirited driving and they are not good at all. I have got 30,000 miles from the front set (mostly motorway) had them replaced with LingLong Greenmax and its then I could tell how POOR the Goodyear's were. Apart from a good service life I wouldn't buy them again, poor road feedback and average grip. Efficient Grip yes....just that...efficient grip....
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2015   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
cant comment on wear as only had for 4 weeks however had conties then verderstain and pirellis before and on my 184bhp front wheel drive Golf Covering 30k a year, they where the best tyre by far! Shocking I know but these really are good tyres.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2015   
Advertisement