Volvo v70 D5 Tyres

Drive a Volvo v70 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo v70 D5
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (24) 91% 84% 83% 85% 84% 86% 81% 85% 51,621
Michelin CrossClimate (107) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,314,939
Cooper WeatherMaster Snow (7) 82% 85% 83% 78% 80% 82% 80% 81% 78,030
Avon ZZ5 (82) 89% 83% 83% 85% 70% 82% 78% 81% 530,567
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Goodyear OptiGrip (16) 74% 83% 66% 71% 71% 66% 67% 71% 208,500
Altenzo Comforter (86) 79% 60% 70% 62% 76% 80% 68% 71% 672,161
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Sunew YS618 (55) 61% 36% 47% 45% 53% 49% 33% 46% 413,762
Rotalla F105 (26) 63% 29% 43% 39% 58% 58% 31% 46% 170,502
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Fullrun HP199 (74) 47% 27% 32% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 478,451

Volvo v70 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 easy going miles
Put four of these on in anticipation of the Winter. No snow or ice to test them thus far but lots and lots of rain! Have driven on all types of rubber in my 40+ years of driving and have to say that these tyres are in a league of their own in the wet and rival the grip of Pirelli P Zeros in the dry. All round I feel very safe with these tyres - very grippy in the wet and the dry and produce very little noise. Not yet tested in the snow but even without this experience I'd buy them again. They back up the marketing hype that launched them. Will report back on snow performance if the Winter throws any our way.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-03 19:58:52
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
A great tyre for British winters - very grippy and predictable on all road surfaces. Seem to wear well on a heavy front wheel drive car doing a lot of country road driving.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-04 18:25:39
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30 average miles
I have used Avon ZZ3's. On my last 2 cars and as far as directional stability, road noise and grip on dry and wet roads is very good, now moved to ZZ5 on my current car and the same applies, have been getting 20,000 miles per pair on a two wheel drive car.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-26 14:26:20
Writing about the Altenzo Comforter given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Fitted them to the V70 bus about 18 months ago, replacing Goodyear Optigrips. Result: Fuel economy up, wear down and grip about the same. I have since recommended to family and friends, everbody seams happy! My conclusion is this is a mid range tyre, at a budget price.

Andy
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-16 08:26:59
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
I've got around 19K miles out of my last set of these on a fairly heavy Volvo V70 diesel which I use for towing and some fairly lively driving when not towing. Am up to 16K on the second set which are now nearing the end of their life.

Interestingly my mum has the same car but only managed about 12k miles even with her plodding around - 4 wheel alignment has hopefully now increased.

So, in terms of wear, on a well set up car the wear is good (must swap around i.e. front / back) but if set up is wrong the wear can be excessive.

Great tyre though.

Now to see what the RS3s are like
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-15 10:30:28
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
Have seen a lot of negative feedback about these tyres, but personally have not had any major issues with them. They were standard fit on my Volvo V70, and now on my third set of P6000. I do a lot of motorway and country road driving and am finding a set of tyres is lasting about 28,000 miles. However, when towing a caravan there are times when the tyres scrabble for grip, despite the car being up for the job. Most of the year the tyres cope well, but do struggle for grip during the winter months on ice, and anything more than a dusting of snow.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-15 11:56:30
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I have these on a 2004 volvo v70 d5 which I bought to replace goodyear eagle f1 ncts which I cant buy now. The steering habits of the v70 seem to love the v pattern of both the ncts and the hankook v12s making the steering very precise (which on none v pattern tyres the v70 is not) and I have noticed in the past that none v pattern tyres, when the tyres wear in tend to tramline but this does not seem to be the case with the v12s.
The volvo v70 is quite heavy on the front end and owing to its 5 potter transverse diesel lump can be quite unforgiving to park and steer correctly on some surfaces but the v12s make light work of it and give reasonable feedback.
I bought them to try on the front end last year and at this years mot still have 5 mm so have moved them to the back axle set and fitted 2 new of the same on the front axle set.They are quiet and handle the bumps quite well.If they have any failing I would say the tyre walls looklike you have flat tyres but I am running on 36psi so Iit is just soft wall is all nothing to worry about as they are reinforced side walls anyway.Overall a very trustworthy tyre good stopping in wet and dry which on the v70 gives great driving confidence.l will continue to buy these tyres .Hankook certainly imo can no longer be accused of only selling budget tyres they have come of age and rightly deserve their position.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-09 03:31:35
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
These are a good tyre in the dry & a lot quieter than the Nexen's I previously had on. Wet driving hasn't been a problem either but the only bad thing I would say about them is being a softer (quieter) tyre they have only lasted about 10,000 miles. My v70 ('02) is a heavier car but I do majority motorway driving & don't rag it around corners so I would have expected them to last a little longer.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-12 07:20:51
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster Snow given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Put these on my V70 last winter (2010), had zero problems in the snow during November through to January excellent traction on soft and packed snow, felt okay on wet roads as well. wearing well, might just get another winter out of them as its not been too bad this year (2011-2012) I do about 20k a year and put PS3's on for summer
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-26 16:44:26
Writing about the Goodyear OptiGrip given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
These are very good in the wet but there is a compromise in the performance in the dry, especially when it is hot. I had thought that with a broader tread pattern they might be good in the snow as well but fared no better than any other summer tyre last winter.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-01 22:38:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre