Mazda RX8 Tyres

Drive a Mazda RX8? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda RX8
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (16) 98% 90% 96% 99% 74% 80% 94% 90% 45,950
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 (8) 88% 88% 86% 85% 95% 90% 95% 89% 29,001
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (98) 94% 85% 90% 88% 85% 86% 87% 88% 844,685
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (35) 89% 94% 88% 87% 87% 93% 93% 88% 269,300
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (129) 95% 85% 90% 86% 83% 81% 89% 87% 1,117,402
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74% 96% 87% 85,075
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (393) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,763,737
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (182) 93% 91% 85% 87% 77% 81% 82% 85% 1,715,829
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (148) 90% 88% 83% 82% 81% 89% 80% 85% 1,333,238
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83% 81% 84% 464,400
Falken Azenis FK510 (83) 90% 89% 84% 83% 77% 78% 86% 84% 759,171
Mayrun MR500 (11) 87% 86% 71% 81% 84% 84% 92% 84% 126,000
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (29) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 83% 178,100
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70% 91% 83% 161,925
Sava Intensa UHP 2 (30) 87% 83% 82% 82% 78% 83% 83% 82% 338,600
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78% 82% 82% 895,927
Yokohama Advan Sport V105S (11) 88% 85% 85% 75% 75% 73% 91% 82% 157,503
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (11) 86% 73% 83% 75% 85% 82% 84% 81% 87,700
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (12) 97% 61% 93% 93% 58% 73% 83% 80% 89,300
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (63) 86% 82% 78% 78% 73% 77% 79% 79% 544,273
BFGoodrich gForce R1 (1) 100% 30% 100% 100% 80% 30% 100% 77% 800
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (31) 87% 79% 80% 78% 66% 76% 73% 77% 243,810
Nankang NS2R (40) 91% 66% 84% 85% 72% 55% 81% 76% 130,971
Continental Sport Contact 3 (242) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,243,337
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Momo Outrun M3 (17) 84% 73% 73% 76% 70% 82% 72% 76% 72,727
Vredestein Ultrac (12) 82% 73% 73% 75% 71% 75% 76% 75% 169,000
Falken ZE912 (198) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79% 72% 75% 2,162,908
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56% 86% 74% 22,310
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,708,411
Toyo T1R (281) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,640,683
Jinyu YU61 (45) 81% 67% 70% 64% 74% 77% 73% 72% 321,570
Nexen N8000 (77) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79% 69% 72% 552,342
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (24) 75% 72% 71% 71% 61% 78% 68% 71% 207,360
Extreme Performance VR2 (4) 85% 48% 80% 83% 68% 43% 88% 70% 3,000
Pirelli P Zero (110) 85% 70% 77% 73% 61% 66% 56% 70% 1,830,173
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (205) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,452,628
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,308,806
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 65% 831,215
Nankang NS2 (203) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 60% 65% 1,760,279
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55% 56% 61% 422,353
Accelera PHI (137) 69% 46% 53% 53% 67% 58% 51% 57% 1,204,262
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55% 48% 56% 439,212
Cooper Zeon 2XS (15) 69% 52% 56% 46% 58% 63% 45% 56% 101,825
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (127) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 56% 1,252,457
Triangle TR918 (10) 65% 30% 58% 46% 76% 63% 34% 53% 234,500
Rotalla F105 (27) 65% 32% 46% 41% 58% 59% 34% 48% 171,502
Lassa Impetus Sport (6) 57% 44% 48% 32% 63% 46% 32% 46% 37,030
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48% 31% 45% 155,400
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,461
Deestone Vincente R302 (7) 56% 30% 30% 28% 60% 17% 10% 33% 24,212

Mazda RX8 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 100% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres are absolutely superb for my Mazda RX8. The standard Bridgestone RE040 are great in the dry but a death trap in the wet. The Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta are fantastic in the dry AND wet (inc. snow). The difference is astonishing. I've only driven about 1000 miles with them so not sure how long they'll last but I will gladly sacrifice the life of the tyres instead of my own life with the Bridgestones.
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-13 21:58:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
One of the best tyres, I have ever had the joy of driving on.
When I bought the RX-8 it came with Bridgestone Potenza's, they were not great, lost the back end everywhere I went.

Bought Eagle F1's and it stuck to the road like glue, I could barely kick the back end out even when clutch kicking the car, it was just endless grip, even in the wet.

I would deffinatly buy again and would deffinatly recommend to another driver.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-10 13:47:47
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 100% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Don't get Vredstein...get these...more grip, longer lasting, and did I say more grip?
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-20 15:01:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (225-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Driving a mazda rx-8 from 2008. Previously I had the Falken fk452's (fitted on 2010) which at the time were the best of the best (value for money) there was. These tires so far are outperforming the falkens for quite a bit! As compared with Potenza's and Supersport's they are BETTER hands down. I drive both aggressively and regularly both on highways and urban environments and the road feel you get from these tires are excellent! Even when using a lower profile (40's from 45's) the feedback is excellent and the noise is very minimal. For tear I cant say much yet, but they are doing pretty good so far! And I saved the best for last. The grip level of those tires are seriously the best you can get for this category hands down! Unless you are going semi or full slick, then this is what you should get. Having driven many friends's cars (all the same car as mine) with the other top 10 tires fitted, I can honestly say this your choice. On track days those tires posted on average, -4s / -5s of a normal lap, which is almost unbelievable! The price on those premium tires was almost the lowest on all the top10 in the list, which was a huge surprise to me as I would have expected to pay up to 1k euros for 4 new tires of this performance, yet I paid only half that!!!! I would definitely buy again in the future, and would write a review again when I reach 10k miles! All in all seriously go for it! -Lefsef
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-19 02:22:12
Writing about the Toyo R1R given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
FANTASTIC tires great grip and feel on the steering wheel without any oversteer understeer on exit of twists Even at full throttle, very good braking "passes" very smooth their 192hp from rx8 very smooth cornering, without sharp reactions even in the limit and with electronic devices of eights off. finally feels like driving on the "rails" in size 225/40 / 18, and I'll definitely buy two . WET not even try.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-25 20:03:27
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth AE50 given 97% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 600 average miles
Had Autogrip (4 years old though) when I bought the car, they were terrible in the wet and I had to crawl around at low speed . Replaced all four with AE50, what a difference ! These tyres are fantastic for normal day to day driving even in wet weather.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-15 13:39:27
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 96% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
I have an '05 Mazda RX-8 MT. I have recently swapped to Hankook's from Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas. The Hankooks are superior to every aspect except progressiveness. These tyres won't spin at all, I can finally launch the car uphill without the tyres spinning on the spot, like the Vredesteins did! They inspire more confidence, they look cool, they seem to wear fine, the wear rate is good. I have driven the car in snow, rain, and sunny, pretty hot days! And I can easily say, they don't compromise safety on any surface or weather! They are just as comfortable as my Vredesteins were! Would sure buy them again!
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-28 00:54:36
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 96% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I have run these for several seasons now on my RX-8 (they make perfect "UK Winter" tyres!), a car rather sensitive to tyre choice if you want to maintain the excellent handling. I think they're fantastic - grip in cold wet/damp conditions feels almost as good as UHP tyres do in the summer - which is phenomenal for a tyre that can also actually deal with snow & ice! Wear seems excellent - I haven't even noticed any thus far, though I do only run them during the winter months. The price/performance ratio is insane - normally tyres in my size/fitment are rather expensive, but these were a good chunk cheaper than any other decent all-season/winter tyre I could find - a bargain really. I'm very happy with them, and would definitely buy them again, if I ever need to (going to be a while at this rate!). I'm a fairly spirited driver, and these inspire so much confidence in cold/damp conditions, that I find myself chucking the car about and having almost as much fun as I do in the dry with summer tyres, except in conditions that would otherwise make summer tyres squirm. Very impressive! Wet grip is amazing - I just push on as if it was dry and barely notice any difference. I can just drive, whatever the conditions, and not worry about losing grip unexpectedly if I decide to have a bit of fun. Exactly what you want for most of the year in the UK climate. They also perform very well in warm wet conditions - I've used them a few times as "get me home" wheels from track days in the summer in torrential rain with no problems. In the cold dry, there is still plenty of grip too, but obviously not as much as a good summer tyre at that point, but still very impressive for an all-season tyre, and more than adequate for some spirited dry winter driving. Obviously the warmer it gets, the more apparent the difference to a proper summer tyre gets, but they are still perfectly usable all year round if necessary. The sidewalls are a little bit squidgier, as expected, but the handling is still pretty good for this type of tyre, all things considered. I have the "XL" variants, which I think helps - a nice compromise between still maintaining some stiffness for handling, but also significantly more comfortable and forgiving than my usual UHP summers, nice for more relaxed winter driving. This is exactly what I wanted - something a little more comfortable for winter but still reasonably sporty feeling when you want it. Of course, sods law - as soon as I bought these I haven't experienced any snow whatsoever (even had a few long trips up to Scotland, but not even a flurry!). Like buying a sledge. So unfortunately, I haven't been able to put them to the test in that regard. However, given how well they perform in all other conditions, I have full confidence that they will handle snow no problem. The closest I've gotten is some very cold frosty mornings, which these tyres deal so well with, that it almost makes you forget you're even driving in adverse conditions. Bravo. P.S. Tyre reviews really need to separate out the dry and wet grip ratings into cold and warm for winter/all-season tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-04 15:57:44
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 96% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11 spirited miles
Just done a wet track day (the morning was a bit wet, afternoon very wet and standing water) @ Keevil Airfield, United Kingdom with these fitted and they were fantastic ant the very limits. Very very progressive, when at the very limits they would slide in a really nice well behaved manner and dealt with standing water really well. In the afternoon embarrassed many subies, an evo, a supra, a couple of porches, 2 lotus's and many other cars in the wet, the grip linked to the RX8's good handling is the perfect match and I have never felt so much grip in the wet - really was very good at the real limits and I will buy again just for the confidence of how well they gripped in the pouring rain while driving beyond anything possible on a real road.
note using 245/45/R18 97Y - these are in my opinion the best fitment.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-16 23:14:42
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 96% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Fitted 2 to my rx8 - better feal and grip than the recommended bridgestones at several times the price.So impressed i deliberately search for more and now have complete set.Great tyre - try them instead of listening to the gripes on websites.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-28 16:28:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1