Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (139) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 86% 87% 87% 2,607,853
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (240) 91% 89% 85% 84% 74% 84% 81% 84% 3,188,354
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (152) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 78% 77% 2,470,523
Continental Sport Contact 3 (223) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 75% 68% 76% 2,995,297
Falken FK452 (206) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 74% 73% 74% 2,670,366
Pirelli P Zero (73) 86% 76% 80% 76% 66% 71% 64% 74% 1,422,548
Goodyear Excellence (109) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,411,056
Infinity Ecomax (15) 75% 69% 68% 62% 74% 71% 81% 71% 174,200
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (149) 83% 77% 76% 72% 59% 65% 64% 71% 2,204,801
Continental Sport Contact 2 (215) 84% 75% 76% 71% 60% 66% 60% 70% 3,934,462
Primewell PZ900 (56) 71% 57% 55% 57% 57% 49% 41% 55% 972,274
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (19) 58% 30% 46% 39% 62% 55% 34% 46% 171,830

Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 spirited miles
Car - MB C220 CDI Avantgarde with Sports upgrades & remapped ECU
Previous tyres - Continental Contact Sport 2 (OEM), Pirelli P-Zero Rosso (1st change)

Let me take them as they came:

1. Continental CS2 - These were OEM and were great tyres. I can't really compare the CS2 to the PS3 directly because I used the P-Zeros in-between for about 12k miles. The CS2 were quiet, had a great dry/wet grip and inspired confidence whilst driving. Pedal-to-metal didn't loose much grip and performance was above par on practically all aspects you can think of. These lasted 20k miles.

2. Pirelli P-Zero Rosso - These were my 1st change. Someone recommended them very highly and I fell for them. Sadly, they didn't really live up to the recommendation. They were quite decent, but nothing compared to the CS2. They lost grip in the wet quite a bit and pedal-to-metal was a lost cause with these. Road noise was also slightly higher than the CS2. These lasted 14k miles.
Recommend to a friend - No. Buy again - Never.
Price paid (incl fitting, balancing, alignment) - £450 for 2 x 225/45/17 and 2 x 245/40/17.

3. Michellin PS3 - Current tyres. Bought after reading loads of reviews/feedback online. These are a HUGE improvement on the Rossos and I'm pretty certain that they're quite a bit better than the CS2 as well. I base this on evaluating their performance in certain circumstances like in roundabouts, emergency stops, green traffic light acceleration. Much quieter, excellent wet/dry road grip, inspire loads of confidence whilst driving around roundabouts/country roads/motorways/etc.
Bought about 500 miles back... so no idea how long they'll last.
Recommend to a friend - For sure. Buy again - Hell yeah !
Price paid (incl fitting, balancing, alignment) - £600 for 2 x 225/45/17 and 2 x 245/40/17.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-23 21:16:36
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 97% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 spirited miles
Front tyres 205/55 R16, rear tyres 225/50 R16.

It is early to answer accurately about wear or if I will buy them again, but after what would be 1/8th of their expected life, these tyres are a revelation..

They are practically new, so EXTREMELY quiet (this is my first set of Goodyears - I had before Continentals, Dunlops, Pirelli, Michelin). Never had such a quiet tyre ever before.

Excellent grip on dry and the grip on wet was SO FAR spectacular ; I drive a lot in Germany, and I 'tested' them at nearly 130 mph on dry and over 110 mph on wet tarmac (the very aggressive profile is leaving behind practically dry marks ploughing the water and spray a curtain of water behind the car. SUPERB handling and responsiveness.

One comment about the rolling resistence: between 70 mph and 80 mph has a higher rolling resistence than the Continetals & Pirellis and matches Michelin Primacy)

I will come back with a second review once i will add another 9,000 miles. that one will be the reality check. this review will have to wait though untilSeptember next year since i intend to fit winter tyres before the big freeze.

PS

The tyres are made in Germany ( I read a very negative comment about those manufactured in China....it shouldn't any difference, the brand should use the same recipe in both cases) and it is likely that the model will be discontinued.




tyre reviewed on 2011-11-12 22:18:48
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 96% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 36000 easy going miles
Superb tyre that inspires confidence in all conditions more often in the wet and they offer tons of grip. In the dry these are unmatched by anything that I have used so far. I am also very impressed with how long these tyres lasted consdiering they are Ultra high performance.
tyre reviewed on 2009-11-21 21:25:06
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 94% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Since a friend recommended me for these tyres and i am running a german motor I felt a set of german tyres on a german motor would suit it best. I do a combination of in and around town and motorway and do a twice monthly 200m mile+ journey to london and back using mainly A roads and motorways. In the dry these tyres hold the road well and offer excellent grip dry braking is good too. In the wet they are very good and I am always assured they will stop and handle well and have never let me down. I must admit these tyres corner very well and I have hit a few deep standing parts of water on the motorway and they have never aquaplaned which was a surprise at first but now im used to it. And they have lasted 30k so im off to get another set. Very highly recommended tyres esp if they are a standard sized fit,(not if you stick a set of 19's on a car that normally runs 17's and then complain when the tyres dont last more than 10k due to the offset etc all being wrong like a few threads I have read ont he net).
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-01 15:17:13
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 91% (245-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Complete tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-14 08:30:13
Writing about the Infinity Ecomax given 83% (225-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100000 average miles
I am now on my 4th pair of rears and 2nd pair of fronts on my 2013 C220 AMG+ and I have no intention of buying anything else. Not noticed a significant difference between these and the Continental tyres fitted when the car was new. I drive 40,000 miles per year, mainly on motorways and I am getting around 20,000 miles out of a rear set and 40,000 miles out of a front set. I tried them as buying 6 tyres a year is expensive and I figured at £225 for the set fitted these were worth a shot. Very pleased and have now done nearly 100,000 miles on Infinity Ecomax tyres without any problems. Even on wet greasy roundabouts the car is predicatable and only when the tyres get fairly worn do I see any stability/traction control intervention on wet roads - and then it is only pulling away hard from T junctions etc
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-09 11:05:38
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
Great tyre to have and very happy with it. OEM tyre for the car and lasted 55000 kms so far. Driven on various road conditions and feel very true and secure. The only downside is road noise generated by these tyres on rough surface, otherwise could not fault it
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-10 16:04:06
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 67% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 miles
This is the 2nd set of P Zeros that I have put on my car. The 1st set lasted 8500 miles and were the original tyres on the car. I am a great believer in keeping what came on the car on the car but at 8000 miles this is a bit excessive. I do 8000 miles a year of mixed motorway and A road driving. I do not drive fast or aggressively and can't believe the mileage from these tyres. I am going to break my tradition and change from original tyres to something else, not sure what yet.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-02 14:26:50
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 63% (245-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 18800 average miles
Car: MercedesBenz C220 CDI Sports
Fitment: Rear Wheels
Usage: 18800 miles (Std fitment on MB, so from new)
Size: 245/40/R17 (Rear) / 225/45/R17 (Front)

Note: Being a rear-wheel drive car, the fronts still have about 3mm tread on them, so expect them to last another 2000 miles.

Observations: Road noise is medium. Wear & tear is low. Had 1 puncture at about 10k miles and was repaired without issues. Long lasting (lasted me 19k miles) and I'm an average driver. Dry grip is good. Wet grip is bad, especially around corners. Snow driving is particularly bad.

Replaced with: Pirelli P-Zero Rosso and think they're much better all-around tyres. Have only driven them in dry conditions so far, but find them to be much better than the C-SC2.
tyre reviewed on 2009-02-17 13:22:52
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 50% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Wore faster than my previous Falkens. Level of grip deteriorated seriously when tyres got to 3mm and in the wet aquaplaned a lot. Not worth thr price, would much prefer to go back to my Falken 452 that were on my previous car...
tyre reviewed on 2009-06-09 11:00:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement