235/55 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 235/55 17.
Hankook Dynapro HP2 RA33 (3) 100% 97% 93% 93% 100% 97% 100% 97% 2,000
Falken Ziez ZE950 AS (2) 95% 80% 90% 100% 80% 100% 100% 92% 24,000
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (13) 90% 92% 90% 73% 86% 86% 96% 90% 28,670
Intertrac TC525 (2) 95% 90% 85% 85% 85% 85% 100% 89% 34,000
Cooper Zeon 4XS (6) 88% 88% 92% 78% 90% 90% 97% 89% 29,000
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (10) 92% 91% 90% 82% 90% 91% 94% 89% 11,401
Michelin Latitude Alpin (3) 93% 87% 80% 83% 93% 80% 97% 88% 72,000
Nokian zLine (78) 92% 92% 90% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 614,390
Nokian WR D3 (42) 91% 88% 88% 87% 85% 87% 90% 87% 360,243
Avon Ranger HTT (6) 90% 85% 83% 83% 85% 88% 93% 87% 38,000
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86% 88% 87% 314,931
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Uniroyal AllSeasonExpert (4) 78% 90% 78% 80% 93% 83% 75% 86% 41,800
Matador MP 92 Sibir Snow (6) 78% 83% 82% 78% 90% 92% 87% 86% 50,300
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84% 91% 85% 71,750
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (12) 89% 83% 85% 84% 93% 77% 86% 85% 122,815
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78% 90% 84% 85,064
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (42) 87% 83% 81% 78% 81% 86% 85% 83% 222,300
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (65) 90% 85% 82% 77% 81% 80% 83% 83% 451,012
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (51) 88% 83% 83% 82% 81% 83% 77% 82% 254,744
Michelin CrossClimate (113) 89% 86% 85% 81% 86% 91% 87% 82% 1,403,839
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (76) 87% 83% 82% 83% 79% 77% 80% 82% 796,165
Michelin Primacy 4 (57) 85% 84% 77% 78% 84% 85% 73% 81% 788,130
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (25) 78% 85% 75% 71% 88% 88% 86% 81% 251,250
Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 (17) 84% 77% 79% 82% 77% 81% 81% 80% 112,800
Nexen N Fera SU1 (89) 85% 79% 77% 78% 77% 83% 74% 79% 643,701
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (11) 85% 88% 88% 86% 82% 82% 81% 79% 74,810
Vredestein Quatrac 5 SUV (4) 87% 73% 80% 80% 70% 90% 70% 78% 31,600
Michelin Latitude Tour (5) 90% 78% 87% 63% 73% 78% 80% 78% 123,000
Nexen Winguard Sport (20) 82% 79% 78% 65% 85% 81% 85% 77% 125,705
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (63) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86% 90% 77% 725,444
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (163) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74% 77% 76% 2,605,523
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Continental Premium Contact 5 (106) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79% 66% 75% 1,141,638
Nokian WR A3 (73) 93% 88% 89% 83% 91% 92% 86% 75% 505,743
Hankook Optimo K406 (9) 90% 83% 87% 61% 66% 66% 66% 74% 223,964
Bridgestone Blizzak LM80 (3) 63% 70% 77% 70% 90% 80% 67% 74% 16,000
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71% 67% 73% 834,761
Winda WH16 (11) 81% 74% 68% 49% 82% 85% 74% 73% 100,020
Nexen N8000 (76) 80% 75% 69% 67% 68% 79% 70% 72% 544,342
Hankook Dynapro HP (5) 76% 76% 63% 62% 78% 70% 76% 72% 42,083
Three A P606 (39) 78% 71% 68% 67% 69% 75% 71% 71% 484,901
Michelin Latitude Sport (8) 83% 83% 77% 80% 57% 72% 47% 71% 186,015
Continental Sport Contact 2 (225) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,532
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (54) 78% 73% 72% 70% 70% 71% 59% 70% 639,624
Michelin Latitude tour HP (22) 77% 64% 67% 68% 71% 76% 58% 70% 585,460
Pirelli PZero Nero (131) 83% 66% 71% 72% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,264,506
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69% 65% 68% 312,033
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (39) 78% 70% 68% 68% 63% 71% 56% 68% 713,949
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (63) 79% 64% 69% 62% 72% 63% 60% 67% 939,589
Continental 4x4 Contact (31) 80% 75% 69% 52% 51% 75% 51% 67% 614,085
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (8) 80% 63% 70% 74% 63% 74% 40% 66% 166,000
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68% 63% 66% 112,926
Goodyear EfficientGrip (121) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 53% 65% 1,459,297
Kumho WinterCraft WP71 (9) 72% 61% 50% 55% 70% 52% 42% 64% 49,600
Michelin Pilot HX MXM4 (9) 77% 59% 70% 62% 54% 77% 42% 63% 244,000
Autogrip P308 (21) 70% 59% 60% 52% 61% 66% 53% 60% 89,018
Dunlop SP10 (2) 65% 60% 70% 70% 50% 60% 45% 60% 27,100
Zeta Alventi (10) 67% 59% 48% 46% 48% 55% 49% 53% 58,285

235/55 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Nokian WR A3 rated 100% while driving a Volkswagen Phaeton V6 TDI
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-26 12:19:54
Vredestein Quatrac 5 SUV rated 100% while driving a Subaru Forester
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Third set of Vredestein Quatrac 5 tyres I’ve owned. Mixture of A & B road driving in all weathers including heavy snow and icy rural roads and can’t fault them whatsoever. They’re quiet, extremely comfortable and offer excellent feedback and inspire confidence in all weather conditions They also last of ages, we had over 2 years and 30,000 miles and they still had good tread on them. Worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-15 20:42:02
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P rated 100% while driving a Renault grand espace 2.0 dci 175
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Bought these tyres with the alu-rims, used, from some guy for 100 euros a piece. What a great deal this was!!! Excellent tyres, drove them for about 10.000 miles now, and they still look and behave like new.
Especially pleased with low noise and easy rolling. Great tyres. Ok, new ones are probably very expensive.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-24 15:33:59
Michelin Latitude tour HP rated 100% while driving a BMW X3
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
already 1year/10k km with these tyres and i feel happy for my purchase. ok it is an expensive tyre (180euros each) but they worth. i have no experience in wet conditions because in my country it is raining rarely. also i am driving 99% on road (no offroading). even at top speeds of 130-150km/h the tyres give me perfect grip and feedback. hope they will last long time. would buy again
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-18 14:23:52
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 rated 100% while driving a BMW X5 3.0 diesel
Driving on a combination of roads for 3300 average miles
I used Tyrereviews to choose these tyres and I don't regret. I have bought them at the beginning of the summer season 2019 for a SUV. The car stayed idle for 2-3 months (probably driven for 300 miles or so during this period), there was no need to balance the tyres once we started driving more often. We drove another 3'000 miles after that and everything was fine. The tyres felt just normal, no annoying sound, no problems with stability, our car is a 4-wheel drive though. So far I am happy with the tyres, given that the roads in Bulgaria are not the smoothest. I would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-12 22:58:31
Hankook Dynapro HP2 RA33 rated 100% while driving a Ford Kuga
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Hankook RA23s fitted were as new to Kuga and for my driving found to be perfectly okay and very good in the winter wet. Fronts replaced after 22k miles with 3mm tread remaining with new RA33s. RA33s are a much nicer tyre, just as capable in the wet but with a better ride, so new rears will be same before the winter sets in.
Heavy braking is usually avoided but a drive on German no-limit motoways produced no issues.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-18 19:04:32
Nokian WRG2 rated 100% while driving a Ford Freestar Sport SE minivan
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 spirited miles
I put my first set of Nokian WRG2 tires on my 2005 Ford Freestar minivan just prior to the first snowfall of 2008. These tires have proven to be the most impressive tire I have ever owned. I live in a small town called Innisfail here in the province of Alberta in CANADA. I know what winter driving is like since I am 50 years old and have driven here since I was 14 years old back in 1974.

Currently five or six days a week I need to drive 45 kilometers (30 miles) into the city of Red Deer to work and then back the same 45 km at night to get home. I put the Nokian WRG2 tires on my van at 98,433km. My van is now at 148,745 km for a range of 50,302 km so far. I am actually certain I could easily continue on these tires for this winter 2010 - 2011 as well, they still have 5mm of tread left on each tire. The durability is great, the first tire I have ever had that was looking fresh at 50,000 plus kilometers.

I am so impressed I am going to get a fresh set of WRG2 tires this next week. I am just now checking out which tire dealer to do the deal at. The current set was purchased from a company called Kal Tire here in CANADA and it was a solid deal, at $228.85 Canadian dollars per tire.

As for the actual tire performance ... AWESOME! Truly frikkin' incredible! The highway I travel on almost every day is the main North to South corridor in Alberta. It is a very, very fast four lane highway with a rated speed of 110 km/hr (70 mile/hour) but most traffic moves at 15 to 25 kilometers per hours faster, so 85 to 90 miles per hours!

In the winter there are insane storms and blizzards where the temperture drops to minus 40 degrees Celsius and the wind rips along over 80 km per hour. In Alberta weather like this is common at least 5 to 20 days per winter. No matter how ugly and brutal the weather I am still needing to get to work and home again. My Nokian WRG2 never let me down. Some days I would see dozens of vehicles in the ditch, I never had a moment worry.

The winter performance is as good as some of the dedicated winter tires I have owned. I have never gotten stuck and have been able to drive up hills and slippery streets that were impassible to many other vehicles.

If you are looking for tires, there is no reason to keep searching.
Just go get a set of Nokian WRG2 tires and see for yourself.

Oh yeah, I do not, and have never worked for any tire company, etc.
This is a sincere and appreciative opinion that I have for these tires.
So let me say the following as clearly as I possibly can :

Nokian WRG2 All Weather Tires are remarkably good tires year round, but they are so good in the winter they just might save your life from some nasty accident. I have never been as impressed by any tire I have owned in the past and that includes most of the major names.

In my future I will be a dedicated Nokian tire guy running the WRG2 tires on all my vehicles except my motorcycle. ( that is another story )

- sincerely

Loren Wiberg
Innisfail, Alberta
CANADA
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-08 01:30:26
Falken Ziez ZE950 AS rated 100% while driving a Ford Escape
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-01 13:53:59
Zeta Alventi rated 98% while driving a Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
These tyres were fitted new when i bought the Tiguan second hand at 12,000 miles. I'm now at 30,000 and I think the fronts need replacing. The car has plenty of grunt, and I drive rapidly,but never "on the limit" They have never given me any worries. The car is 4 wheel drive so presume that helps. I have had to brake hard on the odd occasion,but have never locked up or skidded so can't fault them really.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-18 14:22:58
Nokian zLine rated 96% while driving a BMW X3
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Best tiers I've used so far. The very best for cornering.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-28 10:19:22
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre