tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Toyo Proxes CF1


Show all: Toyo tyres, Passenger Car Summer Touring tyres
The Toyo Proxes CF1 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 517,600 miles driven.
 


Toyo Proxes CF1
Dry Grip
84%

Wet Grip
80%

Road Feedback
78%

Progressiveness
74%

Wear
68%

Comfort
78%

Buy again
74%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £39.47 - £65.10 (6 prices)
205/55 R16 £46.73 - £63.60 (3 prices)
225/45 R17 £64.13 - £73.90 (2 prices)
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Toyo Proxes CF1 Reviews

Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Fantastic tyres..now on my third set of these as i do 2000 miles a month up and down the A1/A17 in fact they suit the vectra im driving that much that i have just bought another pair from germany. The grip more than compensates for the vectras bodyroll giving it almost rail like handling in the dry,they can be slightly tricky on greasy roads like just after a rainfall but on the whole a brilliant well wearing and very grippy tyre for a big 5 door car. I have been a toyo customer since 1998 and nothing to date comes close for me...keep making exellent tyres!!
tyre reviewed on September 12, 2013   
Given 52% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (245-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very disappointed with these. Bought these in stages to replace the factory fit Yokohamas. Fine when the Toyo's were on the rear only but immediately i changed the fronts from the Yokohamas to these Toyos the car felt unbalanced and like the front was skittering across the road. Repeated checks on the tyres, suspension, steering geometry and tracking revealed no issues. Finally relieved to have worn them down enough to justify changing them I now have Goodyear Effective Performance on all 4 wheels and my car is finally balanced again. I won't buy Toyos again.
tyre reviewed on July 31, 2013   
Looking to buy the Toyo Proxes CF1? Click here to search for the best price for the Toyo Proxes CF1 or any other tyre.
 
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon FR tdi (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Grip wise very good tire. As good as any premium sport tire in the wet or dry. Bags and bags of grip. But with grip comes the problem with these tires. These tires on my car have only lasted for 7k miles. Which is not good! Was hoping for at least 10k miles. Thats the only reason i wont be buying them again
tyre reviewed on February 17, 2013   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Yaris (175-65-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Bought second hand, our Yaris was fitted with awful Bob Jane All Rounders on the front (leave the car at home if it's raining!!) and a Bridgestone and a Sonar on the rear. Strange combination with crap results.

Recently fitted to our Yaris, the Toyo CF1's have transformed the car. At once, the car became quiet, smooth, more comfortable, with lighter steering and a more confidant feel. We didn't know the Yaris could feel this good! Even the acceleration became easier and smoother!

Both my wife and I were pleasantly surprised how much better the car now feels and even the price was good. $109 each Australian (with $10 cash back). At this stage the only unknown is how well the tyres will wear.

P.S. This is one of the few tyres still Made in Japan. And it shows!! Bravo!
tyre reviewed on December 23, 2012   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Laguna 2.0 (195-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60,000 spirited miles
I first started using these on my Nissan Primera 1.6 Si about 6 years ago, then again on my 2.0 Laguna when it replaced the Primera. When driving about town I tend to take it quite easy, and while on the open road my right foot seems to gain weight..... I enjoy hard cornering, and don't hang back when the conditions are good.
In the dry these are fantastic tyres and will match or beat any equivalent priced tyre on the market for grip and performance, and also give several premium brands a run for their money - I can't fault them on that score.
In the wet they offer reasonably good grip and excellent feedback, plenty of warning before they let go - I've pushed it a bit just to see how they respond. My main complaint about wet driving is their tendency to spin when doing a hill start, or under hard-ish acceleration.
Their big downfall is the treadwear - it's crap! I cover about 8,000 to 10,000 miles per year and generally replace the fronts annually (9-12 months) and rears every 18-24 months. When I next replace them I'll probably pay a bit more for tyres that will last longer, and am actually sad to do so as I do like these tyres, but need something that needs replaced less often.
tyre reviewed on December 10, 2012   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord CTDi (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Put simply, I've had tyres deliver equivalent grip and feel (I drive pretty hard) but last much longer. Everything else fine but disappointed with the wear.
tyre reviewed on November 17, 2012   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Fairly good tyre for the price and performs well in wet and dry conditions. However, not impressed with tyre wear and tread has started to perish prematurely. I am currently running hankook kinergy tyres and am very impressed all round.
tyre reviewed on August 1, 2012   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type S (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Honda civic "S" Driven on rural roads,central belt scotland. Don't tend to hold back when possible.
Good tread pattern, commented on by several work colleagues, comfortable tyre with good feed back and control in both wet and dry conditions.
So far a good well priced tyre, but after 11K miles are the next best thing to slicks!! Very poor wearability, Maybe roads, maybe driving, but would have to think seriously before buying again
tyre reviewed on July 2, 2012   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (185-60-14-H)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
These are reasonable low end Toyo's. The grip is good in the dry and acceptable in the wet. They are a little noisy but comfort is good. Quite soft so wear a little higher than some European tyres. Good for smaller cars.
tyre reviewed on June 26, 2012   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Panda (175-60-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Great mid-range tyre for small cars. The grip has improved massively on my car compared to the Pirelli i had before, especially in the wet. Had to test the tyres in a couple of occasions in the wet and they kept the car tidy and always in control. In the dry they are also very good. Mine were made in Japan. My next buy would probably be these again or Yokos A539.
tyre reviewed on May 6, 2012   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with Asda Tyres to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!