245/40 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 245/40 17.
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (42) 95% 95% 92% 93% 90% 84% 93% 92% 135,943
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85% 96% 88% 345,665
Nokian zLine (78) 92% 92% 90% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 614,390
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Continental Premium Contact 6 (46) 93% 88% 86% 89% 79% 83% 78% 85% 240,196
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (138) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 82% 85% 1,155,474
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (162) 93% 91% 86% 88% 77% 82% 81% 85% 1,571,623
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (277) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,731,734
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (29) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 83% 178,100
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (8) 90% 63% 85% 90% 76% 76% 96% 82% 51,610
Maxxis Victra Sport VS01 (5) 86% 80% 84% 84% 80% 76% 82% 82% 14,000
Maxxis Victra MA Z3 (1) 90% 70% 80% 80% 90% 80% 80% 81% 10,000
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (139) 91% 88% 82% 79% 71% 80% 79% 81% 1,618,123
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (27) 83% 81% 76% 80% 75% 80% 83% 80% 119,103
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (263) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83% 76% 79% 1,941,205
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (157) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 69% 79% 1,437,323
Sumitomo HTR Z III (8) 83% 73% 80% 69% 83% 84% 73% 78% 55,178
Kumho IZen KW27 (29) 77% 76% 75% 73% 82% 84% 76% 77% 290,800
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (163) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74% 77% 76% 2,605,523
Continental Sport Contact 3 (241) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,233,337
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73% 71% 76% 193,503
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (11) 83% 77% 79% 63% 70% 77% 78% 75% 88,000
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (36) 81% 85% 80% 78% 76% 77% 79% 75% 426,700
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (132) 84% 75% 74% 76% 74% 75% 67% 75% 1,772,642
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (176) 83% 76% 77% 72% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,692,546
Yokohama Advan A050 (4) 98% 45% 93% 90% 33% 70% 93% 74% 2,000
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,708,411
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (76) 86% 81% 79% 78% 55% 73% 57% 73% 623,626
Bridgestone Blizzak LM32 (15) 86% 76% 73% 72% 84% 80% 71% 73% 155,200
Toyo T1R (278) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,615,683
Continental Sport Contact 5 (186) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73% 55% 72% 2,002,948
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Continental Sport Contact 2 (225) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,532
Rovelo RPX 998 (23) 80% 64% 70% 64% 63% 75% 70% 70% 82,095
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (202) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 60% 58% 69% 3,421,628
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Nitto Invo (16) 79% 67% 74% 74% 63% 68% 58% 69% 95,770
Marshal Matrac TX KU17 (8) 81% 68% 64% 66% 71% 69% 61% 69% 92,014
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (48) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 56% 54% 63% 389,781
Radar Dimax R8 (29) 67% 49% 49% 49% 68% 56% 51% 55% 213,916
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (126) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,244,457
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (42) 66% 36% 54% 48% 63% 59% 35% 52% 222,508
Firenza ST05 A (2) 35% 10% 35% 20% 20% 35% 10% 24% 1,500

245/40 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 rated 100% while driving a BMW 3 series
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Great tyre!, fantastic grip in dry and wet condition.
I needed a tire that offered me total road safety and these Eagle F1 asymmetric 5 have surprised me very pleasantly.
I used to ride a Conti SportContact but they provided me with a regular grip, constantly skipped the ESP and they also worn out very irregularly (always with adequate pressures). With these new tires I have forced the exit and the curve tracing even in the wet and I still have not got the ESP light on.
Comfort noise is also lower than the Continental.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-01 11:31:41
Falken FK452 rated 97% while driving a BMW E36 318CI
Driving on mostly motorways for 26000 average miles
Falken FK452 is an excelent tyre, the best value for money in tyres out there today.

The Michelin Pilot Sport 2+3 is without doubt the best tyre in the world. The Falken's FK452 are half the price and not too far behind them. Truly great tyre.

Five stars *****
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-31 11:25:13
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 rated 97% while driving a BMW e36
Driving on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
Wow what a tyre !! These are just great.After changing my Michelin pilot sport 2's on the rear of my 325 bmw after only 5000 very disapointing miles these Uniroyals are the best thing since sliced bread.
As soon as I had the rain sport2's fitted the car felt totally different.There was grip tons of it, the rear of the car no longer skipped and let go over ruts in the road when going round a corner on the rear, these babies have almost 9mm of tread when new !!
The car also felt more comfortable and a definate reduction in road noise was instant the moment I rolled out of the tyre fitting centre.
The dry grip is just fantastic and although I have yet to try these on really wet roads even though I have done over 700 miles so far, when the roads have had that wet glossy look ( which I sometimes feel can be more of a hazard) I have had full confidence that the grip is still all there. If you are wondering what the tread patten is like then these have a deep v type pattern simillar to the Goodyear.
Cannot comment on wear as yet but hoping to get much more than the Michelin and these only cost me just a fraction over 100.00 a corner where as the Michelins were another 60.00 at least.
Cannot hardly wait for the fronts to ware out so I can get a matching set !!!
If you are looking for a great all round tyre at a very reasonable cost price then these are a must.You might have to ring round a few tyre places to get hold of these but well worth it !!
tyre reviewed on 2009-01-06 00:29:59
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 rated 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz C230 Kompressor Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Best tire i had 10/10
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-07 19:38:03
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 rated 94% while driving a BMW e36
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Well back again reviewing some more rubber, my last review only 6 months ago on the Falken 452 I would change if I could I did not realise how dangerous they would become with wear more about that later.
Had a big problem thinking what to buy next as there are some good reviews but it appears to me that all tyre dealers have there own prefered tyre especially in the mid range section and probably get commission on selling these so after deciding on the BFG'S I had to do some hunting for a dealer.

After speaking to a few it was very clear that these tyres are a subsidiary of Michelin made in the same factory with basicly the same rubber so I wanted to give them ago after some good reviews.
I have left it a while before writting so as to give these a fair chance saying that I have just purchased two for for the front ( 225/45/17 ).

I have not been dissapointed these tyres are very good,I have found them to be very quiet with little road noise, the handling is fantastic they really stay stuck to the road,I have leaned on these and found nothing but grip all the way. I have noticed a vast improvement in ride comfort as the car does not skip about. These also have some pretty good rim protection with the wheels being nicely " set in ".
As I said I have just had some front ones fitted after the Michelin pilot sport 2's had finally seen better days after 26,000 miles and I cannot notice any difference in handling, saying that I had only just about managed to cover 100 miles or so on the new front tyres when driving down country I encountered very heavy rain.The BFG'S were great in wet weather with no aquaplanning even going through large puddles and flooded areas of road, I always felt they were on the road and all the grip was there even around tight bends on country roads.Down the motorways these sit nicely at speed and feel good.It looks like these are going to last as well as I have been running the rears for a while and there appears to be no alarming wear rate either.
So far so good then, I don't think anyone would be dissapointed with these so highly recomend them as I now have a matching set all round.

On the subject of the Falkens 452, had these on the rear before the BF'S after reading reviews, these ended up a total disaster once worn down which was not long only 2500 miles and 6 months of driving ( very poor value for money ) I thought as did my dad that something was wrong with the rear suspension on my car it skiped all over the place and God for bid you if it was wet these were a nightmare. I seriously thought something was wrong with the car, the ride was hard and uncomfortable and the back end was a accident waiting to happen. It just shows you you get what you pay for but in the case of the BFG'S it looks like you get a really good all rounder.I would say on price that these are maybe not as cheap and there are other alternatives but I think these are proving worth the money.
Not many reviews for these tyres on this site not sure if this is because these are hard to get hold of elsewere or what but hope this one helps.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-22 14:34:08
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 rated 93% while driving a Honda S2000
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I am really happy and satisfied with the Yokahamas. I' ve seen a considerable improvement from the original Bridgestones (although to be fair they weren't in mint condition when I bought the car). The Yokohamas are really goodin both dry and wet condition. I would surely reconsider these tires in the future.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-23 16:34:23
Continental Sport Contact 3 rated 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Complete tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-14 08:30:13
Nokian zLine rated 90% while driving a BMW 325ci M Sport convertible
Driving on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
Oh la vache. Amazing. On my 325 convertible bought one year ago, I replaced last owners' Nexen N6000 and it changed the car for half the price of Michelin or Bridgestone: 388 € (Belgium) for 225/45/17 and 245/40/17. They glued the car on dry. I pushed cornering on wet and hell, it works so progressively you want to try harder. I just have some tramlining sensation at hi speed (germany) on straight line, but this is due to the shitty alignement made by the moron BMW dealer who sold me the car. And yes, they made confortable enough my sport suspension to the taste of my wife. Thanks to all of you for your reviews and comments.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-28 16:55:31
Nitto Invo rated 90% while driving a Mazda 3 Series
Driving on mostly town for 300 spirited miles
I provided feedback on this web site because it has so many good reviews of Nitto-Invo & hence bought a pair for the FRONT-tyres: 2010 Mazda3 hatch. And the verdict.....

* AWESOME, one of the best value for money tyres for road-use, 'only a few' aggressive cornerings, see my scores, similar to my previous Toyo-R1R tyres
* deep-wide grove really cut through the water
* tread pattern look great
* quietest tyres so far, including tyres used on previous 2006 Mazda3
* only travel 300m & hence not score 'Wear'
* only 6mm tread height & low tread tapering to the edge
* paid $AUD 200 each with install & balanced, low-end price range for it class

FYI, Adelaide temp. is 15 to 40 degree, no snow
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-01 01:35:55
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 rated 90% while driving a Nissan R33 Skyline GtS25T
Driving on mostly country roads for 40 spirited miles
The amount of grip generated by these tyres is remarkable especially in the wet, I drive a lot of twisty roads and have the confidence to push the limits of them without fear. Instant turn in without any hassle and very stable even under heavy load. Done a couple of trackdays with them as well and they have lasted well, they usually last around 15,000 on the front and about 12,000 at the rear. An absolutly fantastic tyre that I will not hesitate to buy again
tyre reviewed on 2008-02-02 23:46:56
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre