Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Freelander 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Freelander 2
Maxxis S Pro (1) 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 91% 4,000
Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 (1) 90% 100% 90% 100% 60% 80% 100% 91% 2,000
Nankang SP5 (5) 90% 90% 83% 88% 95% 90% 100% 91% 80,040
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Toyo Open Country WT (2) 85% 95% 90% 85% 90% 85% 95% 89% 10,000
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV (7) 84% 86% 87% 86% 95% 86% 94% 88% 22,523
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (3) 83% 87% 87% 87% 73% 90% 93% 88% 67,000
Avon Ranger (10) 90% 90% 89% 78% 96% 81% 85% 87% 152,000
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (62) 83% 86% 82% 78% 87% 87% 91% 85% 705,444
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Goodyear Wrangler AP (3) 93% 80% 77% 73% 83% 90% 83% 83% 136,000
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83% 72% 82% 154,500
Firestone Destination HP (2) 90% 90% 85% 85% 60% 90% 70% 81% 56,000
General Grabber AT (13) 83% 76% 75% 74% 78% 81% 83% 81% 104,864
General Grabber GT (12) 88% 81% 76% 68% 87% 83% 80% 80% 138,207
Michelin Latitude Tour (5) 90% 78% 87% 63% 73% 78% 80% 78% 123,000
Yokohama Geolandar SUV (4) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 67% 70% 78% 47,030
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (26) 87% 78% 77% 80% 84% 85% 81% 77% 813,633
Nokian zLine SUV (4) 88% 85% 83% 85% 65% 68% 65% 77% 58,500
GT Radial Savero SUV (4) 80% 68% 73% 83% 87% 80% 63% 76% 20,500
Cooper Discoverer ATR (11) 85% 74% 73% 64% 74% 76% 79% 75% 75,236
Falken FK452 (208) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,685,411
Continental Cross Contact UHP (30) 86% 79% 75% 73% 55% 73% 65% 72% 721,387
Goodyear GT2 (11) 82% 71% 72% 63% 83% 68% 65% 72% 318,100
Kumho Izen RV KC15 (4) 83% 75% 63% 58% 65% 73% 83% 71% 30,500
Accelera Iota (35) 80% 68% 65% 65% 72% 66% 73% 70% 449,210
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (29) 79% 71% 70% 69% 61% 71% 55% 68% 457,949
Sailun Terramax CVR (2) 65% 55% 70% 75% 80% 80% 50% 68% 4,100
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (11) 80% 69% 71% 60% 61% 70% 57% 67% 133,025
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (61) 79% 64% 69% 62% 72% 63% 59% 67% 874,589
Continental 4x4 Contact (29) 80% 74% 70% 51% 50% 75% 51% 64% 597,085
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (39) 80% 63% 76% 74% 75% 72% 64% 61% 648,957
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60% 49% 60% 333,765

Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken FK452 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 78000 average miles
I had 4 of these fitted to my Freelander, on 25k after it had worn it's Continentals out. The Falkens are noticeably quieter, grip & loook better too, they've done 33k now & still have plenty of tread left, the Wife's Focus has spent it's Pirelli P6's after only 16k, so a new set of Falken FK452's will be fitted tomorrow.
Thouroughly recommended !
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-24 01:39:59
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer ATR given 98% (235-65-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
recent change of tyre -now the cooper rated on the "ogri" scale as a 6 so much better than the original goodyear wrangler m/s scoring only 2.
so far in deep road water no sign of aqua planing with no movement when hitting the large volumes of water in recent days. Normal road use produces noticible LESS road noise despite the much deeper tread -(over 10mm )
So Far extremely pleased, will come back with more info when i've done a load more miles( 1000 miles done in 3 weeks so far)
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-06 22:53:11
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 98% (235-65-17-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Just had the Vredestein's fitted plus I had the tyres inflated with Nitrogen rather than the usual air. Back to back with the Pirellis I had on originally, the grip levels are staggering. I'm still scrubbing them in yet, but on a mixture of extremely cold, greasy & damp lanes they simply stick! I'll report back on the progressiveness & wear when I've had chance to seek out some snow at the weekend.

Other observations:
Steering is a little lighter, but more communicative.
Comfort: Smoother riding and a lot less bumping around. Not sure whether that's the Nitrogen?
Noise: Lovely and quiet, again, not sure whether the Nitrogen is a contributing factor.

tyre reviewed on 2013-11-21 13:28:19
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 96% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Bought these for my Freelander as my Pirellis were down to 3mm and were lethal in the ice and snow. The Vreds as a winter tyre were a revelation. Completely unstoppable when paired with a 4 x 4 and make you feel safe and secure even in 12 inches of snow. Can't wait to put them on again in a few weeks time. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-25 21:35:49
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 94% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Have run these tyres all year round for two years now. Been down to the Alpes on 4 occasions and driven in 12" of snow and very steep roads without a hint of losing traction. Even driven on the French motorways in the unploughed outside lane at the speed limit (110km/h) in bad weather without any loss of traction. In extreme snow and ice these tyres are excellent. They also perform well in the wet and dry at other times of the year as well. HIghly recommended. Will definitely be buying another set when they finally wear out.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-04 22:48:12
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Just bought a set of 4 for my freelander 2 ready for the snow at the start of december 2010 and used them in the heavy snow this week before christmas, ive taken off my wranglers and put in the garage ready for the spring they are good but these Vredesteins are the best ive ever used in heavy snow,ive had rangerovers,disos old and new,and a izusu but this freelander 2 with these tyres on are by far the best. We live out in the middle of the back of beyond and weve not had a problem at all getting about. i bought the tyres just for the winter so cant give a full score.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-21 20:46:26
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 93% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
I bought these as replacements for cheaper Kenda tyres that were fitted when I bought my freelander, I had considered Goodyear Wranglers but decided to save a few quid and try the Avons.
I was really impressed with the improved road handling and the soft quiet ride, road holding in both wet and dry seems much better as for longevity I cannot really mark with honesty as I have only done about 1500 miles since fitting but as yet they look almost unused.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-12 21:16:05
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Bought these to replace the stock "Goodyear Wrangler HP Allweathers". Those tyres weren't bad getting me through a very bad winter 2009/1010 but I decided to buy the grabbers after reading online reviews.

Subjectively the Grabbers seem to offer a little more feedback at the wheel,though they have a softer ride (maybe softer sidewalls).
In the dry the Grabbers were definitely superior with more feel as well as seemingly shorter braking distances, thus lending themselves to more spirited driving.
In the wet there hasn't even been a shimmy from the car. Which was supremely confidence inspiring.

Unfortunately apart from some frost/ice (which they performed admirably) I haven't had the snow to test the Generals and give a proper opinion. Which I guess makes it perfect for Ireland which snow/proper winters seems fairly rare.

Given the fact that they were cheaper than the original equipment Wrangler HP and have proven to be subjectively better with reasonable wear whe the time comes I'll buy another set of four.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-27 00:39:24
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 average miles
Replaced factory spec Goodyear All Weather with these Vector 2. Changed the car completely. Now instead of being on the road it feels part of the road. Solid, planted, trustworthy and very comfortable. Driven in the wet, dry and in the mountains ice but no real snow yet. Cruise at 130 on good roads - no problem either.
Car Land Rover LR2.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-05 07:24:06
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 91% (235-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 easy going miles
Bought a set of these tyres to replace the original "summer" tyres fitted to my wife's Freelander. They offer far better performance on mud or snow than the original tyres with no obvious penalty in either fuel consumption or road noise. A set of 4 cost £150 less than the originals would have done and after a year's use, I would guess they will last at least the 27,000 miles the original tyres lasted. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-26 10:39:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre