Subaru Forester Tyres

Drive a Subaru Forester? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Subaru Forester
Avon Ranger AT (2) 90% 95% 85% 85% 95% 80% 100% 90% 10,003
Avon Ranger ATT (1) 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 100% 90% 87% 3,000
Michelin Latitude Cross (34) 87% 85% 82% 81% 91% 81% 94% 85% 533,401
Yokohama W drive V905 (13) 90% 86% 82% 83% 86% 80% 86% 85% 81,138
Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV (3) 90% 77% 83% 77% 70% 100% 87% 83% 12,020
Yokohama C Drive (43) 87% 83% 83% 77% 78% 88% 83% 83% 943,134
Nokian WeatherProof (24) 81% 89% 81% 81% 72% 89% 78% 82% 177,414
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (49) 91% 78% 83% 86% 67% 73% 84% 80% 373,515
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (114) 86% 79% 80% 75% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,189,286
Avon ZV5 (109) 84% 79% 77% 77% 71% 77% 74% 77% 1,380,555
Petlas Snow Master W651 (17) 77% 74% 65% 69% 83% 72% 71% 73% 108,850
Mastercraft GLACIER GRIP 2 (1) 70% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 80% 73% 1,000
Yokohama Geolandar G900 (12) 85% 79% 72% 65% 69% 68% 63% 72% 971,180
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (49) 78% 72% 71% 68% 69% 72% 59% 70% 540,624
Kumho Road Venture 798 (4) 75% 63% 65% 53% 85% 70% 78% 70% 140,055
Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus (2) 80% 50% 70% 80% 90% 55% 55% 69% 60,000
Nokian Line SUV (4) 80% 80% 77% 77% 43% 68% 35% 65% 44,500
Continental 4x4 Contact (29) 80% 74% 70% 51% 50% 75% 51% 64% 597,085
Zeetex HP102 (10) 56% 47% 56% 47% 57% 48% 44% 51% 68,000

Subaru Forester Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I recently changed to Avon ZV5 from Bridgestone RE50s. The Avon tyre seems very assured at sensible driving speeds and driver feedback is a step up, whilst road noise remains low. All this from a cheaper tyre.

The Avon ZV5 also impressed in the heavy snow this week. It's certainly not a winter tyre but allowed careful confident progress to be made on hilly snowbound country roads. The silica in the rubber compound may have assisted here, allowing the tyre to soften as the temp dropped.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-05 09:48:02
Writing about the Avon Ranger AT given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Have had these tyres fitted to my Subaru Forester for over 10,000 miles and find them very good in all conditions. The recent snow provided them with a great test and they passed with flying colours.

These were replacements for a set on the car when bought and I followed the previous owner. 4 new tyres and the best worn one as a spare.

My journeys take me from motorway to single track country roads and /i have never been lost for grip even when others struggle. I will buy these again when the time comes for replacements.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-21 17:34:40
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 94% (245-45-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21500 spirited miles
An exceptional tyre - have manged 21k miles on a set fitted to a Subaru Forester (rotated at 12k). Stunning wear rate, excellent limit handling slight drop in fuel mileage - but I don't drive for economy anyway.

You will struggle to find a better set of boots
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-04 18:45:22
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 90% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Bought these after extensive months of research and to be honest there wasn't a lot of reviews available due to the newness of the tyres, but read enough reviews to know they were worth taking a punt on. Well what a revelation!!! I came off Yokohama C-Drives which in my opinion were an excellent tyre in the wet and dry but the KU-39’s were a whole level above them. In the dry they were really excellent with high levels of grip and very forgiving of over-exuberant cornering techniques. They are near enough to silent and that's comparing them to the Yoky's which themselves are a very quiet tyre. In the dry they hang on like a granny to a handbag and offer extremely high cornering speeds - and give the driver immense confidence. In the wet, they are, if possible, even better. They do stick like the proverbial baby poo to a blanket and offer wet cornering at dry speed times...I have been driving for nearly 30 years and these are easily the best wet weather tyres I have EVER driven on. The braking is prodigious - from 60 km/h in the dry I can pull the car up in literally 2 car lengths and in the wet it’s more like 3 car lengths. Crazy braking that inspires huge confidence when you stomp on the pedal. All in all an awesome tyre and the only downside I can forsee is tyre life - the tyres are a little softer than a lot of tyres and this might mean shorter life - but with a wife and two kids I don't mind that they make the car safer, even if I go through tyres a little quicker. For feedback I have two driving styles - Dr. Jeckle when the wife and kids are in the car, Mr. Hyde when they are not... e.g. drive it like it's stolen... final word on them is a positive one - they have the world’s biggest rim protector on them...it's not a lip, the whole sidewall is recessed, making it extremely difficult for the gutter to get anywhere near the rim edge. Will I buy them again? You bet, especially as I got these for $150 Australian, which makes them the buy of the decade!
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-09 13:57:21
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
We are on our third Forester and have always been happy with the all season tyres that came with the car unbtil this latest one. We drive over the North Yorkshire moors which can get snowy at times. The first time we hit snow with Geolander tyres I was horrified with the poor grip. I then discovered they were a different design to the ones Subaru used to fit and were in fact a semi offf road tyre for dirt tracks. They were rubbish in snow. Researched and came up with the Nokian weatherproof. The Forester now behaves itself in snow with good grip and exceptionally so in really wet conditions. I have not noticed grip being poor in summer. They are wearing reasonably well although the front tyres wore more on one side but that is probably tracking. I will be buying replacement weatherproofs soon.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-20 13:37:44
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV given 90% (225-60-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
The OEM tire, YOKOHAMA Geolandar G91F, was not so satisfactory . Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV has greatly improved the highway drive stability and comfort. It is a great tire and I will surely buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-05 04:34:36
Writing about the Avon Ranger ATT given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Bought my Subaru /forester with well worn examples of the tyre fitted, even in that state they gripped well and gave me confidence in the make. Looking to replace them I decided to replace like with like and have found them absolutly brillient with so much grip I can drive the Forester as I would any normal car.

It is nice that a british company can produce great products thet do the job so well.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-21 23:18:40
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 87% (215-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Fitted to my wife's Forester (which I drive occasionally). So, a sporty tyre in a mostly non-sporty context. I'm interested in tyres & when I've driven the Forester I've had a bit of an exploratory "go" on familiar twisty roads in dry & wet conditions. Conclusions?

Dynamically, it's a very talkative & responsive tyre that operates at low slip angles yet is not snappy when at the limit of its adhesion. Further, recovery of grip in that transition stage is easy to modulate. So, a nicely behaving tyre for both the enthusiast who can "play" it & the non-enthusiast who won't be caught out by untoward behaviour on the tyres' part in, say, an emergency avoidance manoeuvre (which I've simulated).

As for absolute grip levels, my impression is that it is way good indeed in dry condition, streaming wet "tread pattern" conditions & merely slick "compound" conditions. Buy with confidence.

Not that it is of any interest to me but the tyres didn't seem to me to be noticeably uncomfortable or noisy (my wife certainly has not complained & she is more concerned about these things than me). As for longevity, I think that, on current indications, they will be faster wearing than most competitors but that bothers me not at all as it's often the trade-off for a wet-grippy compound.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-03 12:24:14
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV given 84% (225-60-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Early days but Quiet and smoother riding than the previous fitted tyres, they have Just handled the IOM roads (Mountain & Back farm lanes) in the very wet and in the dry very nicely, Too early to comment on wear but not really bothered as long as they continue to grip well.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-02 23:41:45
Writing about the Yokohama C Drive given 82% (215-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 130000 spirited miles
TheC-drives replaced the OE fitment Yokohama Geolandars (dire soggy gripless disgraces). Ours are the the XL type with the extra sidewall ply & so are tauter in structure than the regular C-drives. Running on 32 psi all round (on a 20052.5 atmo vehicles) we have had several sets fitted. I have nointerest in comfort or longevity but am focused more on wet grip & predictable & responsive behaviour. The C-drives seem to rate well although to Forester is mostly my wife's car. I do push it when driving alone & find them to respond well (initially & correctively) to grip well in dry & wet conditions (including one emergency turn in streaming rain). The wet grip also does not degrade alarmingly with wear. Given my positive recent experience of Continental's PremiumContact2, I'd consider them as an alternative but they are not availablein XL type in the size. So, after 3 or 4 sets of C-drives, I've fitted 2 C-drive 2s to the rear. Similar comments apply about them so far.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-27 13:27:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre