Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140 Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140
Michelin Alpin (8) 87% 95% 87% 74% 93% 90% 96% 89% 32,005
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (55) 89% 84% 81% 77% 86% 85% 86% 84% 523,700
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (270) 90% 89% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,619,734
Neuton NT5000 (61) 89% 79% 82% 77% 85% 85% 86% 83% 689,734
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (138) 91% 88% 83% 79% 71% 80% 79% 82% 1,598,123
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (118) 86% 78% 80% 75% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,204,286
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Linglong Green Max (33) 79% 73% 69% 72% 70% 77% 78% 74% 263,652
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (102) 86% 75% 79% 78% 69% 66% 65% 74% 1,158,800
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Three A P606 (33) 79% 73% 72% 67% 72% 77% 73% 73% 197,801
Continental Premium Contact 2 (180) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,165,189
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (47) 84% 74% 74% 75% 63% 64% 51% 69% 491,560
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (200) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,359,928
Hifly HF805 (44) 79% 66% 67% 67% 56% 67% 63% 66% 312,885
Semperit Speed Grip (3) 70% 73% 63% 67% 63% 57% 63% 65% 21,000
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59% 55% 61% 211,547
Event WL905 (126) 59% 31% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 45% 868,429

Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 23000 easy going miles
These have lasted 23k mainly town driving and have been excellent, very comfortable, smooth, quiet tyres. Dry and wet grip excellent and they were fitted for £55 each 2 years ago.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-07 11:12:28
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 spirited miles
I always put good tyres on my car. I had continentals before, they were good but these ps3 are in a different league. Truly amazing in the wet and dry, golfs always suffer with feathering the back tyres, this is limited with the ps3 . I got 17,000 out of a front pair of tyres and I drive hard.
If you want the best then goes for the Michelin pilot sport 3.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-24 16:21:18
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 easy going miles
I fitted these tyres on the front of my 06 Golf GT (TDI 140). these have now covered 29k Miles & are not yet at the wear indicator, probalbly 0.5mm of legal tread left on these which could see me another 2k miles. they were at 3mm before the winter & that has seen me cover nearly 4k since October, 85% town driving.

i wouldnt consider anything else on this car quite frankly. However i do drive like captain sensisble
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-31 13:35:38
Writing about the Michelin Alpin given 96% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 5 spirited miles
Great winter tyre, winter 2011/12 was my first season with them, so I didn’t get to try them in snow, but noticeably better in the wet and especially in cold/wet conditions. Bought secondhand this time, but will buy them new when the time comes.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-16 13:51:37
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 94% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Sensational grip from these tyres in wet and dry conditions. Have given top score for wear but will report back after 6 months or so. These tyres were £54 each for my car....it seems like they are well worth the money and some premium brands are way over rated. I wasnt particularly on a budget, just sick of top brands wearing quite quickly. But if you are on a budget try these tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-12 20:01:51
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 93% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-09 07:01:35
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Got 4 of these to replace the cheap budgets that were on my new (to me anyway) car when I bought it. Doing a mix of motorway & city driving & I can't praise these enough.

Dry grip is good, like others have said wet isn't as good but 100% better than the tyres that were on before!! I don't understand people complaining about wear, I've just done 10k with mine on & they've hardly moved, still plenty of life in them (6mm)

tyre reviewed on 2015-06-19 14:29:42
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta's Excellent tyre Highly recommend gives total confidence in wet & dry, Had the XL (extra load) version so sidewalls are probably firmer than standard & they transmit absolutely every feel from the road to steering you can feel every detail of the road in your hands! but they will equally transmit every bump to your seat but to be fair I do have very hard springs,bushes & shock set up, very good under hard cornering very very little side roll/sway far better than previous tyres like the the Eagle F1 GSD3'S in every respect especially the wet & the Michelin Pilot sport's that give a more comfortable ride but are not as focused as the sassanta's when you push hard the pilot sports can wallow a bit, wife drives this car now & sessanta's needed replacing so for a softer ride have just put a set of Barum Bravuris 2's on £400 full set fitted great value budget tyre so far good for comfort reasonable wet grip & quite pleased with them but this has also dulled the steering feedback & given a bit more roll in hard cornering obviously not as focused & grippy as sessanta's but this was a choice intended for economy,safety with bump absorbing comfort & more work horse like daily mileage which they have done well for the last 3,000 miles miles.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-26 12:46:15
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
bought my golf and it had Hifly 805 on the back with continentals on the front, the fronts quickly wore out so decided to fit same as on the back Hifly 805 and was delighted with the tyres.... good grip in dry ...good in the wet and lasted easily 20k... liked them so much that when tyres needed replacing got full set fitted for just short of £200... no issue in recommending
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-07 23:01:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Golf GT TDI 140. My previous tyres were the Michelin Energy's. These Pilot Sport 3's are in a different league. Excellent grip in the wet and dry. Highly recommended. Even the missus says they are great and are a lot safer than the old tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-27 23:41:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement