tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

185/55 16 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 185/55 16.
Jinyu YH12 (17) 81% 71% 80% 64% 77% 79% 72% 75% 50,181
Falken ZE912 (176) 82% 75% 75% 69% 71% 79% 73% 75% 1,627,461
Continental Premium Contact 2 (138) 84% 78% 74% 72% 62% 75% 64% 73% 3,101,846
Michelin Energy XM2 (11) 79% 70% 71% 63% 78% 59% 59% 68% 286,100
Goodyear EfficientGrip (73) 75% 64% 59% 55% 73% 75% 54% 65% 815,650
Dunlop SP Sport 2030 (5) 62% 60% 44% 46% 20% 34% 22% 41% 76,000
Forceum HEXA (2) 40% 15% 15% 15% 20% 15% 10% 19% 15,000

185/55 16 Tyre Review Highlights

Falken ZE912 scored 87% while driving a Nissan Note tekna 1.6 Auto
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Have fitted these to my Wifes Nissan Note which has an odd tyre size and there are only a limited number of tyres in this size and they tend to quite expensive given the car they are going on. We were also looking tio improve the ride and noise levels as the OEM Continetal Premium Contact 2's give a harsh and noisey ride. Certainly grip comfort and noise levels have improved considerably its too early to tell about wear but fot all those Note drivers with this odd tyre size they represent much better value for money than the Continentals.
Posted at 2010-02-09 12:50:21
Michelin Energy XM2 scored 66% while driving a Honda City
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2012-11-15 06:53:15
Continental Premium Contact 2 scored 63% while driving a Nissan ntec
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 easy going miles
These tyres are pretty good regarding grip, handling and ride. However, the wear on these are really poor. I no longer do loads of miles - mainly pottering around and a few motorway journeys (no hard driving) a year, so was shocked they were down to 3mm all round after only 9000 miles. At £100 each that is poor value. Unfortunately, this is not a popular size, so I am restricted to only Dunlops, Conti's, Falkens, Yokohamas or budget.
Posted at 2012-02-17 15:14:20
Continental Premium Contact 2 scored 60% while driving a Suzuki swift sz4 2011
Driving on mostly town for 3000 easy going miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2011-06-01 11:31:48
Dunlop SP Sport 2030 scored 60% while driving a Honda Jazz
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 easy going miles
Never gave me any concern on failry gently driven supermini used mainly locally. Tyres wore fairly quickly even after being rotated front to back - lasted 18K. However they performed well in snow and ice through two bd UK winters so I suppose that's the upside of softish compound that wears quickly.
Posted at 2013-09-18 13:11:30
Falken ZE912 scored 60% while driving a Nissan Note tekna 1.6 Auto
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Nissan Note uses rather an odd tyre size so not much to choose from. Original fit Continentals did 20,000 front and rear evenly worn. Decided to fit Falkens which appears to have been a big mistake. Only done 12,000 and will need replacing SOON! Wear fairly even back and front so no chance to swop over. Very, very disappointed with the Falkens. Looks like I'' be back to the Continentals with their limited wear.
Posted at 2013-08-30 15:01:33
Goodyear EfficientGrip scored 57% while driving a Renault Grand Scenic
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2012-02-22 17:25:45
Continental Premium Contact 2 scored 56% while driving a Nissan Note 1.5 dci
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Overall noise and grip fine, but wear rate to great.21,000km and the dealer says new tyres any day now. Funnily enough the rear seem to have worn quicker than the front ; though all have worn very evenly across tread.
Posted at 2012-07-22 11:16:27
Dunlop SP Sport 2030 scored 54% while driving a Honda Jazz
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 easy going miles
Very soft compound tyre that grips well but at expense of wear - 8000 miles and only 3.5mm of tread on fronts. I do not drive hard and am surprised at high wear rate
Posted at 2012-05-09 17:29:15
Jinyu YH12 scored 39% while driving a Nissan ntec
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
A deceptively devious buy! Initially I was well impressed - good grip, progressive, much more quiet than the Contis fitted previously, more comfortable (these tyres are nowhere near as stiff in the sidewalls as the Contis). Initial impressions brilliant for the price - but then the catch...
These tyres wear very badly on the outer edges I am presuming because of the lack of sidewall strength when cornering aggressively (my fault I know - I should drive less aggressively - bad boy!) - so I have rotated them twice (in 12000 miles) and now they are getting to the point where they will need changing soon - the ride is still good, but the grip is now quite poor, and not at all good in the wet - If I was a very slow and totally unagressive driver doing a very low mileage these would be great - but me I 'm back on the Contis next time I think... shame really as they initially promised so much...
Posted at 2014-07-07 04:45:41
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: