Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo Tyres

Drive a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Toyo Proxes RA1 (3) 97% 73% 97% 73% 93% 67% 100% 86% 10,000
Toyo R888 R (11) 95% 72% 88% 89% 76% 66% 84% 82% 19,225
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (118) 86% 78% 80% 75% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,204,286
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79% 87% 78% 119,010
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 (13) 91% 61% 82% 80% 74% 69% 85% 77% 79,524
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (15) 88% 79% 86% 84% 66% 64% 69% 77% 160,300
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (6) 100% 74% 77% 94% 56% 32% 98% 76% 43,500
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Uniroyal Rainsport (24) 79% 87% 70% 78% 72% 74% 65% 75% 467,577
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Continental Sport Contact 5 (177) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 55% 72% 1,890,948
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Bridgestone Potenza s03 (7) 86% 54% 70% 67% 71% 60% 61% 67% 62,500
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (58) 74% 65% 64% 60% 65% 62% 52% 63% 1,281,195
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41% 44% 53% 487,884
Achilles ATR Sport (43) 62% 44% 56% 49% 62% 57% 42% 53% 344,990
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61% 42% 52% 76,040
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Triangle TR968 (67) 55% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38% 31% 42% 469,650
Toyo Proxes FZ4 (1) 70% 20% 30% 20% 50% 90% 10% 41% 9,000

Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 100% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 spirited miles
Considering these are a cheap budget tire they are very good tires I get about 4 years out of these on hard driving which is about 40k, I have a 1993 RWD Toyota MR2 Turbo and I have these in 215 40 on a 17" rim, I'm currently on the second set on the rear and they have served me well, as with any rear wheel drive car they are a nightmare in the wet and snow on conventional summer tires so I opted for these some years ago as they were Mud and Snow so I thought I would see how well they fared against the truly awful seriously slippery summer tires I had on before, my conclusion is this...WOW! I can now take my motor out in the Snow and they grip the hills like it was summer time, this year was the worst snow I'd ever seen and I thought I would be pushing it taking a RWD sports car in these conditions but it muscled it's way though like a 4x4 and plus wet weather performance is also great too with no back end snaps, I'm coming up to a tire change on the back which will be the 3rd set so I will order these in and again fit them my self, the only down side to these is the noise level, they are quite noisy in the summer when it's warm but then again with this tread pattern it's going to be but in the winter they are silent due to the colder temps.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-16 15:30:30
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
These are great on a MR2 turbo. I use the car as my everyday drive. With it been my everyday car at the moment greasy roads, rain & cold. These tires deal with all of that very well. The are very good in the dry also. With these tires fitted I've had no unexpected back-end breakaways. Ive taken my summer tires off which were YOKO AD08's. after reading the reviews on here i can confirm these are great in rear drive rear engine car. I would buy these again without think about it & there £100 cheaper per corner than my normal purchase.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-27 11:10:25
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 100% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 29000 easy going miles
When I saw the reviews about this tyre I was quite shocked at how low their rating was, this is more than just an average tyre guys.

I’ve been running Enduro 916 Runways for about 6 years now on the back of my 1993 Toyota MR2 Turbo with 17” rims, my tyre size is 205/40 and they have worn incredibly well I’m now at the end of my second set of these and both sets covered just under 30 K miles each set which is quite an achievement for a rear wheel sports car but then again I don’t drive like a loon, they have done me proud over the last 6 years and I’ve driven my little sports car in some of the hardest conditions known to man, they have performed absolutely brilliantly in all hardcore weather.

I went for this tyre because it carries the M+S label and I wanted all weather tyres because summer tyres on a rwd car is dodgy at the best of times even in the summer months and don’t even go there when it comes to using summer tyres in the winter, lol lets put it this way when I first had my MR2 it came with summer tyres on and it taut me how to drive with skill in the winter haha it was like driving on a flipping ice rink, anyway getting back to what I was saying.. yea I wanted an all weather tyre that I wouldn’t have to un-mount in the summer and the enduro seemed the perfect choice for my low budget, the only snag I would say might cause issues to others is they can be quite loud in the summer months but when you look at the tread pattern it’s hardly surprising, I lived with it because I’m partially deaf lol but more importantly I know they were gripping the road well for which they did in all conditions.

One thing I would like to highlight about these are their ability in snow, I do a 60 miles trip to work and back every day and my rout is packed full of killer hills that would make Everest look like a speed bump! and in the winter this rout gets very dangerous and leaden with snow, ice and god knows what have you and I judge a tyre on how well it can perform on this route, I never once got stuck in 6 years, the car stormed through serious snow, it’s quite funny when there’s me in a little rear wheel sports car going up serious hills and you have 4x4s stuck at the bottom haha I’ve had some looks as to say “Huuuh” and yet my car sits quite low to the ground which is another plus for these tyres, so yea from my experience of these tyres I honestly cant say a bad word about them, I’m now changing back to my original Toyota 15” wheels as 17” are to hard a ride for me now, but smaller enduros are harder to find and as I mount my own tyres I can’t seem to buy them online as well as the 17” ones so I’m fitting on 205/55 Toyo S953 all weather tyres so I wait and see how they perform against the Enduro'S
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-23 01:38:30
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 average miles
What is it with all the bad reviews about perfectly good tyres on this site?….. Then again am I surprised looking at modern drivers and the way they think and drive now, this is another tyre which I deem to be a good one and certainly doesn’t deserves the rating it currently has.

I’ve been running the Autogrip 205/40 on 17” rims on the front of my 1993 MR2 Turbo for the last 6 years, each tyre doing just under 60k miles before they are down to the markers but bearing in mind that my motor is a mid engine RWD so these tyres are under no real weight or stress but never the less they are very good.

I bought these because my budget was small at the time and I was looking for a cheap all weather tyre. I mount my own tyres so I really didn’t want to have to de-mount these in the summer months so these were a good option that could steer me in the right direction during the snow and summer seasons so I bought them, lol ok ok I did have the thinking “ok cheap tyres so they probably wont have mega grip and probably wont last long” but I couldn’t of been more wrong, in the last 6 years I taken these bad boys through some of the hardest winter conditions known to man and up and down snow laden hills that would make Everest look like a speed bump!! with no problems what so ever, they take corners well with out a hint of slip out and breaking performance is also brilliant in wet and snow conditions even under some spirited driving, I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve come off roundabout to joint carriage way’s in wet weather booting it and I didn’t even get a twitch out of the front end.

I’m retiring my 17” rims now and putting back on my stock Toyota 15” as my 17” lol are a little to hard a ride now “getting old” but I’m so impressed with these tyres that I’m reluctant to switch brands as I’m a creature of habit if something works I stick with it for as long a poss., it’s like the old saying goes “if it isn’t broke don’t fix it” so I’ve hunted the net for Autogrip F107 205/55 R15” and they make them! at a fraction of the price I paid for 17” which is good news for my pocket, just waiting for them to come and I’m set up for another 6 years of hardcore weather conditions!

All I can say is these tyres work for me.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-23 15:45:54
Writing about the Toyo R888 R given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-22 19:45:23
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 97% (-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I drive a 1994 MR2 Turbo and I have been though my a few tyres lets just say. Toyo, Bridgestone but this Tyre just blew me away AMAZING. Any1 who drives a MR2 knows that you gotta be careful in the wet, so when I bought these I couldnt believe how much grip they really have. Simply the BEST TYRE YOU CAN BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2009-06-25 16:32:08
Writing about the Falken FK451 given 91% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Can not praise the FALKEN GRB-451-MADE IN JAPAN! tyres enough-some might call it
a budget tyre think again!

Quiet-grainy feel grip-smooth a silk drive-fantastic wear rate in relation to
positive grip traction.Very safe for peace of mind excellent anti aqua plane and feels safe with 300bhp odd.

Top marks...5*****
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-11 14:07:09
Writing about the Falken FK451 given 91% (225-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Dry grip is very impressive for what is supposed to be a 'budget' tyre. Good feedback, and very nicely progressive on the limit. Even in the MR2 with 325bhp, the car is very controllable at the limit, as experienced on a couple of track days.
In the wet again, the tyre performs extremely well, giving far better grip than the ZZ3's they replaced - they move water very well, and I've never had any unexpected breakaway in the wet, even driving relatively quickly.
Despite two track days and plenty of country road hoonage, the tyres have lasted really well - still plenty of tread left on them after over a year.
All in all, I have been amazed with this tyre, and wouldn't even consider anything different when it comes to replace them (ok, it may have to be the FK452's as the 451's are discontinued I believe).
tyre reviewed on 2007-08-02 11:18:24
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Well its time to rplace these tyres and I'd love to buy them again but Maxxis has stoped making them, I also need them for motor racingand as Maxxis has no others approved by the Motor Sport Association I can't use any of there other tyres :( but all in I have covered 30k miles roughly on these tyres andthey have been good in all weathers reasonable in snow, good in wet and superb in dry, as well as being excellent once upto temperature on the racing track (Brands Hatch) althought it was cold and damp in January when I went.
I only hope I can find some new tyres this good.
BTW it took a little time to get tyre pressures correct for these tyres about 6 psi under what manufacturer recommended due to larger size so well worth making sure you get your tyre pressures sorted.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-04 17:56:31
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 89% (225-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
very good tyre. on the limit now and still 240bhp cant spin them...very grippy!

wet is equally good.
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-06 23:13:25
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement