BMW E39 5 series Tyres

Drive a BMW E39 5 series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW E39 5 series
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (33) 96% 97% 90% 92% 92% 91% 95% 93% 48,050
Michelin Alpin A4 (47) 88% 94% 91% 89% 95% 92% 95% 92% 385,612
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85% 96% 88% 345,665
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (138) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 86% 87% 87% 2,597,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (340) 92% 89% 86% 85% 81% 88% 86% 87% 3,152,253
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (31) 85% 92% 83% 75% 83% 87% 98% 86% 208,289
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (39) 89% 87% 84% 86% 82% 82% 85% 85% 424,331
Nokian Z G2 (28) 88% 89% 86% 84% 79% 84% 81% 85% 404,400
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (222) 91% 90% 86% 85% 74% 84% 82% 85% 2,859,490
Maxxis Premitra HP5 (2) 95% 90% 85% 90% 90% 65% 75% 84% 3,500
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (132) 91% 89% 83% 79% 70% 81% 79% 82% 1,575,893
Michelin Primacy 3 (77) 87% 83% 80% 78% 67% 83% 70% 78% 1,047,495
Barum Bravuris 2 (122) 85% 78% 78% 70% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,353,081
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (150) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 78% 77% 2,457,523
Avon ZZ3 (113) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,618,400
Uniroyal Rallye 550 (8) 80% 88% 73% 75% 64% 76% 73% 75% 154,630
Michelin Primacy HP (174) 85% 75% 77% 73% 76% 76% 65% 75% 3,803,224
Falken ZE912 (188) 83% 74% 75% 69% 71% 79% 73% 75% 1,990,461
Falken FK452 (205) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 74% 73% 74% 2,630,366
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Continental Premium Contact 2 (159) 83% 77% 74% 71% 62% 74% 61% 72% 3,321,016
Goodride SV308 (26) 77% 66% 68% 66% 77% 74% 70% 71% 196,033
Continental Sport Contact 2 (212) 84% 75% 76% 71% 60% 66% 59% 70% 3,896,362
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (49) 82% 68% 75% 66% 64% 60% 57% 67% 638,842
Nankang NS2 (176) 78% 59% 66% 61% 76% 65% 63% 67% 1,459,239
Pirelli PZero Rosso (99) 81% 66% 70% 68% 58% 62% 55% 66% 1,178,262
Federal 595EVO (31) 73% 45% 68% 62% 72% 55% 54% 61% 403,553
Marangoni Verso (37) 68% 48% 54% 46% 49% 53% 40% 51% 250,079
Event WL905 (113) 59% 31% 42% 40% 60% 49% 33% 45% 791,829
Autogrip F107 (118) 57% 28% 43% 37% 59% 49% 28% 43% 881,261
Fullrun HP199 (70) 46% 25% 31% 30% 54% 25% 21% 33% 439,951

BMW E39 5 series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 100% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Outstanding wet and dry grip !! very comfortable for 265/35 ZR18 tire. I would recommand for E39 or any rear wheel drive car, pedal to the metal in wet curbs and no DSC ! i would definitely buy again you won't be disjointed of PS4. i Would go Michelin for winter as well very good tries also good wear 2000 miles and they are just like new !
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-06 08:11:32
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 100% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50000 average miles
I was so disappointed about the comfort and steering of my 5er when her 18" M alloys wore P Zero and Eagle F1. The car drove like an overloaded lorry in ruts and on flat tyres. I was about to give up 18" in favour of standard 16" but decided to give them a very last chance, with reasonably priced tyres this time. I went for Falken ZIEX 912 (now 914) and - my goodness - what a change! Where have you been whole my life? Finally the car drives like it should! Road cracks nicely damped, great handling on wet (confident ride 160km/h on autobahn in the rain), reasonably long lasting. What can you ask more? It's a 3rd pair of 912/914 I order today. For 1,5t saloon, it's a tyre worth of every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-28 22:30:02
Writing about the Maxxis Premitra HP5 given 99% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
According to an Article found online:
(The Maxxis Premitra HP5 has been awarded the highest honour at 2015 Motor Trend magazine’s ‘Tyre of the Year’ award ceremony in Shanghai surpassing the likes of industry leaders Pirelli, Bridgestone and Goodyear.)
I decided to give the Maxxis Premitra HP5 a try.
Not expecting much from chinese brands, I was positive surprised !

Outstanding performance in wet and dry weather conditions !
The EU - Tire label rated A for wet conditions is spot on !
Never had that great street performance experience on other tires.Not even the Continental Winter Contact tires I had were that god on rainy conditions.
I drive once a week a 49 km mountain road.
The grip on the curves is just incredible god.
Minimum vibration and rolling noise.On freeway,Highway speeds even lover
sounds like beeing in a airplane.
Wear is not visible jet. but because of its full-silica rubber compound I guess these will last for a long time.
I understand now why the Maxxis Premitra HP5 beat Pirelli, Bridgestone and Goodyear at the‘Tyre of the Year’ award ceremony in Shanghai last year.

I highly recommend these 225/55/16 sized Maxxis Premitra HP5 tires
for BMW and simmilar build and weighted cars.
Tire size 205 to 235 may be same or simmilar god.
Please do not complain later, If you need big tires for SUV or sports cars.
Big tires are different in handling and noise levels.Wait for a review with the
big sized tires you need.


tyre reviewed on 2016-06-07 10:11:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-01 00:37:53
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (235-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Simply the best tyres I have ever bought. Nothing quiet compares to them. I have been driving professionally for 45 years and find these tyres amazing.
My reason for changing to them was at the time the roads were very icy and back roads ungritted and dangerous. The percieved difference was like chalk and cheeze. The tyres I took off were Dunlop SP Sports with lots of tread left. I first bought the Michelin Pilot 3's during the British winter of 2010. No other tyre I have bought comes near to the performance of these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-27 10:01:49
Writing about the Uniroyal Rallye 550 given 97% (225-60-15-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
i put two 550 uniroyal tyers on the front of this car drove it on wet west of ireland roads during summer. i push this car all the time great tyres for the front of this model. i now have put them on the back and two new ones one the front, car very quiet and responsive i trust these tyres at speeds, i wont mention. overall great value.
tyre reviewed on 2009-08-23 14:33:51
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 95% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I'm running 265/35/18 on the rear and 245/40/18 on the front. Mainly wet driving so far and despite the fact that my 540 has a supercharger fitted and puts out over 400bhp these tryes have performed unbelievably well. They very nearly caught me out on entry to the first spirited bend as they turned in on a wet road like they were on rails. Full throttle exits from wet bends have yet to unstick them.

If you have any doubts about buying these tyres then no need to worry, a superb tyre at a stupid price.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-03 12:02:42
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 95% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I had several E39s over the years and the only tyre coming close to or being equal to the Michelin Primacy 3 ST - yes ST as new development made for Pacific region by Michelin - is the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 as 17" model. They are unbelievable re noise level, grip like a high performance tyre but cost less. Impressive around bends in the wet even when accelerating hard. Transformed the car completely and as I have driven Michelin Pilot Sport 3 on same E39 type before I can say they are the same but the Primacy are cheaper. Cannot comment on wear at all though.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-08 11:50:58
Writing about the BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre for the money highly impresses with these far better than the bridgestone Re050A that were on it
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-27 19:18:48
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 93% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
bmw is rear wheel drive with traction control the only time my back end has lost it was on a diesel spill otherwise the tyres have handled very well giving a good ride and wearing very well i have owned a bmw3.25 coupe and had the same brand on them would recomend without any reservations at all and will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2008-01-09 12:50:45
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement