BMW E39 5 series Tyres

Drive a BMW E39 5 series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW E39 5 series
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (14) 96% 98% 87% 92% 95% 90% 97% 94% 8,050
Michelin Alpin A4 (47) 88% 94% 91% 89% 95% 92% 95% 92% 385,612
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85% 96% 88% 345,665
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (138) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 86% 87% 87% 2,597,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (317) 92% 90% 87% 85% 81% 89% 87% 87% 2,755,338
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (31) 85% 92% 83% 75% 83% 87% 98% 86% 208,289
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (31) 89% 86% 84% 85% 83% 82% 86% 85% 259,709
Nokian Z G2 (28) 88% 89% 86% 84% 79% 84% 81% 85% 404,400
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (208) 91% 90% 86% 85% 74% 84% 81% 84% 2,679,529
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (131) 91% 89% 83% 78% 70% 80% 79% 82% 1,555,893
Michelin Primacy 3 (62) 89% 84% 82% 78% 67% 84% 71% 79% 822,790
Barum Bravuris 2 (121) 85% 78% 79% 71% 76% 80% 81% 79% 1,352,081
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (147) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 79% 77% 2,446,023
Avon ZZ3 (111) 84% 75% 78% 75% 69% 74% 74% 76% 1,578,400
Uniroyal Rallye 550 (8) 80% 88% 73% 75% 64% 76% 73% 75% 154,630
Michelin Primacy HP (169) 85% 75% 77% 73% 76% 75% 65% 75% 3,678,942
Falken ZE912 (186) 82% 74% 75% 69% 71% 79% 73% 75% 1,971,461
Falken FK452 (204) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 74% 73% 74% 2,620,366
Michelin Pilot Primacy (49) 80% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 966,067
Continental Premium Contact 2 (153) 84% 77% 74% 71% 62% 74% 62% 72% 3,260,346
Goodride SV308 (26) 77% 66% 68% 66% 77% 74% 70% 71% 196,033
Continental Sport Contact 2 (211) 84% 75% 76% 71% 60% 66% 60% 70% 3,893,362
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (49) 82% 68% 75% 66% 64% 60% 57% 67% 638,842
Nankang NS2 (174) 78% 59% 67% 61% 76% 65% 63% 67% 1,412,939
Pirelli PZero Rosso (99) 81% 66% 70% 68% 58% 62% 55% 66% 1,178,262
Federal 595EVO (30) 74% 46% 69% 63% 71% 57% 56% 62% 379,553
Marangoni Verso (37) 68% 48% 54% 46% 49% 53% 40% 51% 250,079
Event WL905 (108) 60% 32% 43% 41% 61% 50% 34% 46% 769,279
Autogrip F107 (113) 57% 28% 43% 37% 58% 48% 28% 43% 861,161
Fullrun HP199 (69) 46% 25% 31% 30% 54% 25% 21% 33% 434,951

BMW E39 5 series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 100% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50000 average miles
I was so disappointed about the comfort and steering of my 5er when her 18" M alloys wore P Zero and Eagle F1. The car drove like an overloaded lorry in ruts and on flat tyres. I was about to give up 18" in favour of standard 16" but decided to give them a very last chance, with reasonably priced tyres this time. I went for Falken ZIEX 912 (now 914) and - my goodness - what a change! Where have you been whole my life? Finally the car drives like it should! Road cracks nicely damped, great handling on wet (confident ride 160km/h on autobahn in the rain), reasonably long lasting. What can you ask more? It's a 3rd pair of 912/914 I order today. For 1,5t saloon, it's a tyre worth of every penny.
Posted at 2015-10-28 22:30:02
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 100% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Outstanding wet and dry grip !! very comfortable for 265/35 ZR18 tire. I would recommand for E39 or any rear wheel drive car, pedal to the metal in wet curbs and no DSC ! i would definitely buy again you won't be disjointed of PS4. i Would go Michelin for winter as well very good tries also good wear 2000 miles and they are just like new !
Posted at 2016-04-06 08:11:32
Writing about the Uniroyal Rallye 550 given 97% (225-60-15-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
i put two 550 uniroyal tyers on the front of this car drove it on wet west of ireland roads during summer. i push this car all the time great tyres for the front of this model. i now have put them on the back and two new ones one the front, car very quiet and responsive i trust these tyres at speeds, i wont mention. overall great value.
Posted at 2009-08-23 14:33:51
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2011-03-01 00:37:53
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (235-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Simply the best tyres I have ever bought. Nothing quiet compares to them. I have been driving professionally for 45 years and find these tyres amazing.
My reason for changing to them was at the time the roads were very icy and back roads ungritted and dangerous. The percieved difference was like chalk and cheeze. The tyres I took off were Dunlop SP Sports with lots of tread left. I first bought the Michelin Pilot 3's during the British winter of 2010. No other tyre I have bought comes near to the performance of these tyres.
Posted at 2011-12-27 10:01:49
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 95% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I'm running 265/35/18 on the rear and 245/40/18 on the front. Mainly wet driving so far and despite the fact that my 540 has a supercharger fitted and puts out over 400bhp these tryes have performed unbelievably well. They very nearly caught me out on entry to the first spirited bend as they turned in on a wet road like they were on rails. Full throttle exits from wet bends have yet to unstick them.

If you have any doubts about buying these tyres then no need to worry, a superb tyre at a stupid price.
Posted at 2011-11-03 12:02:42
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 95% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I had several E39s over the years and the only tyre coming close to or being equal to the Michelin Primacy 3 ST - yes ST as new development made for Pacific region by Michelin - is the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 as 17" model. They are unbelievable re noise level, grip like a high performance tyre but cost less. Impressive around bends in the wet even when accelerating hard. Transformed the car completely and as I have driven Michelin Pilot Sport 3 on same E39 type before I can say they are the same but the Primacy are cheaper. Cannot comment on wear at all though.
Posted at 2014-07-08 11:50:58
Writing about the BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre for the money highly impresses with these far better than the bridgestone Re050A that were on it
Posted at 2011-01-27 19:18:48
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 93% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I found these tyre really good. I ran them on my BMW 528i for 15,000 miles, and during that period they lost around half of theor tread depth. I find that wear rate pretty good considering I drive fairly hard. Dry grip is excellent and they are very progressive. In the wet they grip is slightly behing most newer premium tyres but considering the cost difference I find this acceptable.
They are quite and give a smooth ride, and grip in the snow is reasonable for a summer tyre. I would certianly buy them again.
Posted at 2013-12-26 15:12:37
Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 93% (205-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Had them on my 2.5d chipped e39 and they were amazing. Just what you expect from winter tyres.
Posted at 2013-04-22 09:14:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!
Advertisement