Audi S3 Tyres

Drive a Audi S3 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi S3
Michelin Alpin A4 (50) 88% 94% 91% 87% 95% 92% 95% 93% 406,112
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (48) 93% 89% 87% 88% 85% 88% 85% 88% 178,500
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (146) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,647,853
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (387) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,666,737
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (147) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 81% 81% 85% 1,509,357
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85% 85% 83% 526,200
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (104) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77% 82% 82% 880,927
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (34) 81% 85% 82% 78% 76% 80% 83% 81% 412,700
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (249) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,772,205
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (118) 86% 78% 80% 75% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,204,286
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (57) 86% 81% 78% 78% 72% 78% 79% 79% 481,173
Minerva Emi Zero 4S (2) 75% 70% 65% 80% 80% 95% 90% 78% 8,150
Lassa Phenoma (17) 81% 78% 73% 66% 86% 79% 82% 78% 201,390
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (8) 96% 61% 89% 89% 51% 70% 76% 76% 73,800
Continental Sport Contact 3 (238) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,130,337
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (102) 86% 75% 79% 78% 69% 66% 65% 74% 1,158,800
Avon WV7 (9) 81% 83% 89% 76% 82% 88% 80% 74% 22,200
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (73) 86% 81% 80% 78% 56% 74% 58% 73% 610,626
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Sunny SN3970 (44) 71% 49% 55% 54% 65% 55% 46% 56% 492,725
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429
BCT S800 (80) 52% 30% 39% 38% 59% 32% 25% 39% 380,496
Fullrun HP199 (73) 48% 27% 33% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 477,951

Audi S3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 spirited miles
Amazing tire! Buy with confidence.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-13 00:10:54
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 spirited miles
I was reluctant to pay about ?30 more per corner for these tyres compared to the usual suspects Conti's and bridgestones. And due to the S3 quattro chassis I got awesome grip anyhow and was content with the tyres already used.

A friend convinced me to try the Michelin PS2 and since then I won't fit another tyre. Dry grip and cornering is excellent, wet grip and cornering excellent. Dry and wet braking these tyres really do stop the car and eat into the ground when doing so giving you so much confidence and grip.

They are very progressive on the limit and the road feedback is excellent too. I am happy with the wear rates from these as they are Ultra High Performance but with my spirited driving style these are a good buy. they grip from the first mile superbly right down to about 2mm and under 2mm they just go very hard and maybe lose about 10% of the performance but that would be the same with any tire under 2mm coming close to 1.6mm.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-04 11:57:43
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 97% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Well I did not know a tyre can change a car so much. These tyres are in a different league to the continental contact 5p that was fitted to the Audi S3 Saloon as standard. Tyres change the car completely so much quieter and the feed back is amazing. The car even looks amazing with these tyres fitted. Will defetnly fit these tyres all the time now. Please try these for you self as it's such a eye opener.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-02 19:31:41
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 97% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Have had these on my Audi S3 for 3000 miles now. Driving through a UK winter but amazing how much more feel these offered than my previous Michelin PS3's.

Pushed them on very cold tarmac and quite progressive when they start to go, wear so far very good as well.

Tyres are quite subjective but these have made my S3 a lot more rewarding to drive
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-30 16:27:15
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Recommended to put these tyres on my 2007 Audi S3. Glad I did,the grip is phenomenal in the wet,and despite the car having around 300 bhp,the tyres did not want to spin up even in the wet.Handling,comfort and dry grip are also excellent,as is the price,which is a lot cheaper than its branded competitors.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-11 00:17:19
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 95% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
excellent grip and progressiveness in the wet, haven't been able to get into the limit in the wet, but they really feel that will excel in that as well. the precission of the steering has made the car feel much lighter than it is, the cart sensation is present now. The real magic is that this tyre feels so sporty and on the other side so comfortable and quiet. Its like a clark kent , superman tyre.
One thing that my car has gained is a tail happy sensation which is great in a awd car.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-17 14:44:55
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 95% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 800 average miles
Purchased these for all 4 alloys on my Audi S3 at a very good price, had ContiSport6 before.

I have to say I have never seen the traction light flash on my car with the Potenza's on, these tyres are very good in the rain and dry, even at high speed around corners.

Launch controlled my car several times with these tyres on and it handles it very well.

Can't really complain especially when they are giving lifetime guarentee on the tyres, would purchase these on my next set for my Golf GTD.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-10 17:18:18
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 94% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Fantastic tyre on a performance car
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-21 10:59:47
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 94% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 32000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-28 10:09:49
Writing about the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These are very good tyres. I fitted 4 to an S3.

I have the extra load (XL) version because of the relative weight of the Audi, and together with such a low profile (40) it helps to keep the side-wall rigid under hard cornering.

The tyres themselves I purchased online for about £75 each and I was chuffed with how they looked (?) I know that's meaningless but they look and feel like a quality product. Matador is owned by Continental and it shows in the quality of construction.

My reasoning for choosing this tyre was that because the car was made in 2002 it wasn't worth spending extra on the very best tyres available today (i.e. conti SC) as it wasn't designed with them in mind. This is a mid to high range tyre and really fits the characteristics of the car, there isn't much more grip to be had, any more and on-road handling would simply become unprogressive and snappy at the limit.

Performance wise I can't fault much, the new tyres replaced well worn Yokohama Parada 2's and Pirelli P Zeros, the Yokohamas gave a little more grip in very hot conditions but were dangerous in the wet. I'm glad I chose this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-11 23:49:44
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre