Mazda RX8 Tyres

Drive a Mazda RX8? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda RX8
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (35) 89% 94% 88% 87% 87% 93% 93% 88% 269,300
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74% 96% 87% 85,075
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83% 81% 84% 464,400
Mayrun MR500 (11) 87% 86% 71% 81% 84% 84% 92% 84% 126,000
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (28) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 84% 166,100
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (6) 85% 73% 82% 80% 84% 88% 87% 83% 80,400
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70% 91% 83% 161,925
Yokohama Advan Sport V105S (10) 89% 86% 86% 75% 74% 73% 92% 82% 142,503
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (104) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77% 82% 82% 880,927
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (57) 86% 81% 78% 78% 72% 78% 79% 79% 481,173
BFGoodrich gForce R1 (1) 100% 30% 100% 100% 80% 30% 100% 77% 800
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (8) 96% 61% 89% 89% 51% 70% 76% 76% 73,800
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Momo Outrun M3 (17) 84% 73% 73% 76% 70% 82% 72% 76% 72,727
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Vredestein Ultrac (12) 82% 73% 73% 75% 71% 75% 76% 75% 169,000
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56% 86% 74% 22,310
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Jinyu YU61 (43) 82% 68% 71% 64% 76% 78% 75% 73% 291,400
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Pirelli P Zero (100) 85% 72% 78% 74% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,738,173
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (22) 75% 70% 70% 71% 59% 76% 67% 70% 152,360
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (201) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,381,628
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55% 56% 61% 422,353
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Kenda KAISER KR20 (58) 65% 46% 54% 54% 71% 55% 49% 56% 437,012
Cooper Zeon 2XS (15) 69% 52% 56% 46% 58% 63% 45% 56% 101,825
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Triangle TR918 (10) 65% 30% 58% 46% 76% 63% 34% 53% 234,500
Lassa Impetus Sport (6) 57% 44% 48% 32% 63% 46% 32% 46% 37,030
Rotalla F105 (26) 63% 29% 43% 39% 58% 58% 31% 46% 170,502
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48% 31% 45% 155,400
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Deestone Vincente R302 (6) 60% 34% 28% 26% 52% 17% 10% 32% 23,212

Mazda RX8 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
One of the best tyres, I have ever had the joy of driving on.
When I bought the RX-8 it came with Bridgestone Potenza's, they were not great, lost the back end everywhere I went.

Bought Eagle F1's and it stuck to the road like glue, I could barely kick the back end out even when clutch kicking the car, it was just endless grip, even in the wet.

I would deffinatly buy again and would deffinatly recommend to another driver.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-10 13:47:47
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 100% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres are absolutely superb for my Mazda RX8. The standard Bridgestone RE040 are great in the dry but a death trap in the wet. The Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta are fantastic in the dry AND wet (inc. snow). The difference is astonishing. I've only driven about 1000 miles with them so not sure how long they'll last but I will gladly sacrifice the life of the tyres instead of my own life with the Bridgestones.
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-13 21:58:02
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 100% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Don't get Vredstein...get these...more grip, longer lasting, and did I say more grip?
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-20 15:01:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (225-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Driving a mazda rx-8 from 2008. Previously I had the Falken fk452's (fitted on 2010) which at the time were the best of the best (value for money) there was. These tires so far are outperforming the falkens for quite a bit! As compared with Potenza's and Supersport's they are BETTER hands down. I drive both aggressively and regularly both on highways and urban environments and the road feel you get from these tires are excellent! Even when using a lower profile (40's from 45's) the feedback is excellent and the noise is very minimal. For tear I cant say much yet, but they are doing pretty good so far! And I saved the best for last. The grip level of those tires are seriously the best you can get for this category hands down! Unless you are going semi or full slick, then this is what you should get. Having driven many friends's cars (all the same car as mine) with the other top 10 tires fitted, I can honestly say this your choice. On track days those tires posted on average, -4s / -5s of a normal lap, which is almost unbelievable! The price on those premium tires was almost the lowest on all the top10 in the list, which was a huge surprise to me as I would have expected to pay up to 1k euros for 4 new tires of this performance, yet I paid only half that!!!! I would definitely buy again in the future, and would write a review again when I reach 10k miles! All in all seriously go for it! -Lefsef
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-19 02:22:12
Writing about the Toyo R1R given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
FANTASTIC tires great grip and feel on the steering wheel without any oversteer understeer on exit of twists Even at full throttle, very good braking "passes" very smooth their 192hp from rx8 very smooth cornering, without sharp reactions even in the limit and with electronic devices of eights off. finally feels like driving on the "rails" in size 225/40 / 18, and I'll definitely buy two . WET not even try.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-25 20:03:27
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth AE50 given 97% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 600 average miles
Had Autogrip (4 years old though) when I bought the car, they were terrible in the wet and I had to crawl around at low speed . Replaced all four with AE50, what a difference ! These tyres are fantastic for normal day to day driving even in wet weather.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-15 13:39:27
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 96% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Fitted 2 to my rx8 - better feal and grip than the recommended bridgestones at several times the price.So impressed i deliberately search for more and now have complete set.Great tyre - try them instead of listening to the gripes on websites.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-28 16:28:51
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 96% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
I have an '05 Mazda RX-8 MT. I have recently swapped to Hankook's from Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas. The Hankooks are superior to every aspect except progressiveness. These tyres won't spin at all, I can finally launch the car uphill without the tyres spinning on the spot, like the Vredesteins did! They inspire more confidence, they look cool, they seem to wear fine, the wear rate is good. I have driven the car in snow, rain, and sunny, pretty hot days! And I can easily say, they don't compromise safety on any surface or weather! They are just as comfortable as my Vredesteins were! Would sure buy them again!
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-28 00:54:36
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 96% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11 spirited miles
Just done a wet track day (the morning was a bit wet, afternoon very wet and standing water) @ Keevil Airfield, United Kingdom with these fitted and they were fantastic ant the very limits. Very very progressive, when at the very limits they would slide in a really nice well behaved manner and dealt with standing water really well. In the afternoon embarrassed many subies, an evo, a supra, a couple of porches, 2 lotus's and many other cars in the wet, the grip linked to the RX8's good handling is the perfect match and I have never felt so much grip in the wet - really was very good at the real limits and I will buy again just for the confidence of how well they gripped in the pouring rain while driving beyond anything possible on a real road.
note using 245/45/R18 97Y - these are in my opinion the best fitment.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-16 23:14:42
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 94% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Took a punt and went for these on my RX-8 231PS after 3 sets of Bridgestone RE040 and a set of Bridgestone RE050A. Superb tyre in all conditions and outperforms the stock RE040s by miles. Marginal performance over RE050A, though generally better in the wet and cold weather. Still got stuck in the 2009/2010 snow though ;-)
Super price too (though 'the market' seems to have caught up since and they're not such a bargain vs Bridgestones)
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-29 16:48:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre